We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, good location, facilities need improving” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 13 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #3 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good location, facilities need improving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I loved the location of this hotel. Nestled on the Diamond Head side of Waikiki, it's far from the crowds of tourists. We woke up to a beautiful view of the mountain and a semi-obstructed (1 hotel) view of the ocean. There is a nice walkway along the beach that takes you to the more busy part of Waikiki (about 15-20 minutes).

The hotel staff were friendly, welcoming, and accommodating. The valet made some great suggestions about local restaurants.

There was no pool, but I enjoyed the short walk to the beach. It was pretty secluded when I went.

I must say that the hotel buidling was disappointing. The lobby and elevator were in need of some sprucing up. The hotel website photos were outdated. The room, while clean and spacious, had several issues. There were stains on the ceilings, smudges on the bathroom counters, and the sliding wooden door to the lanai would not budge. We had to call the front desk twice (sliding door which required a crowbar to move and missing tv remote control). The room safe appeared to be very insecure. It was on a pedastal which was wobbly. The room also smelled somewhat musty. It was nice, though, to have the double lanais to air out the space.

I booked the room through Jetsetter. Had I read a more honest review, I would have booked elsewhere. Overall, this hotel was adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    110
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
99
215
43
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and found it to be an oasis from the Waikiki bustle. We used the complimentary beach bikes to pedal our way a few blocks to the nightlife further down the road. Very relaxing and the service was outstanding. The hotel does not have a pool but the accommodations made me so mellow that I did not mind walking past the next building to get to the beach. Oh, and beach chairs were readily available from the valet. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Located near Diamond Head, the Aqua Lotus is everything we wanted. Steps from the beach, near Queens Park, the Aquarium, the Zoo, fine dining Michel's Restaurant, and the (private) Outrigger Canoe Club.
It's elegant, quiet, friendly staff, clean, great views of Diamond Head, the ocean, the park and Waikiki.
Breakfast is available on the second floor, but more importantly, it is walking distance to our favorite breakfast place: Bogart's on Monsarrat. Looking forward to going back there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is small, clean,simplle, and
quaint (loved that it had hardwood floors instead of carpet). There was not a staff member who did not greet me with a smile or assistance, they made me feel like I was someone important. The location is great and the environment is so diverse, from upper class to skid row. The complimentary bikes the hotel offers gave us an opportunity to explore our surroundings in a safe and active manner. I will like to give a special thanks to Aqua Lotus staff member Joshua,Allen, and Travis. If ever I return to Oahu, Aqua Lotus will be where we stay.

Room Tip: You can have a better view and room at a cost, I did not stay in my room very much except to groom a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corte madera
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A friend referred us to this hotel. We wanted to be away from the main Waikiki area and didn't know what to expect from this hotel. Overall, it's clean, nice linens, it's small so it's never too crowded but what stands out the most is the outstanding service from the staff. They are low-key but so friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make something work. Would stay here for sure next time in Oahu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The rooms are quite nice, and the service is really exceptional. However, there are just a few things that one expects when reading the reviews on TA that fall short. There is no pool, and the "public" beach a few steps away is really public (down market). The Internet in the room could have been better supported, and the breakfast is ONLY cold stuff. The coffee, while free, is in the restaurant (and not that good). Why you cannot have a coffee maker in the room (small Nexpresso machine with 1 packet) is a mystery. Service is a bit haughty at times, but almost everyone tries to accommodate. The rooms are tasteful.

Room Tip: EVERY room has a balcony. They try to charge extra for a room with a patio, but all of them do. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This little gem exceeded our expectations - lovely peaceful room, friendly staff, wine happy hour, complimentary bikes...everything was great. Thank you to all of the staff that were so sweet during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii
Address: 2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Aqua Lotus Honolulu, formerly W Honolulu, is a fusion of Asian inspired décor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the ocean. Amenities include in-room Internet & WiFi Internet access, safe, complimentary coffee and tea service in the lobby, daily wine service in lobby, valet and concierge services, banquet/meeting facilities, beach butler service, complimentary bicycles and complimentary use of beach items such as chairs, umbrellas and mats for the beach just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Jetsetter, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head to your Saves list