We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a nice place just away from the madness of Waikiki.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head to your Saves list
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a nice place just away from the madness of Waikiki.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. It is obscenely over-priced but so are the rest of the hotels in Waikiki so you won't find better value elsewhere.

We were on honeymoon in Hawaii and were given a free upgrade to a corner room and were very pleased with a very clean and well equipped room and a nice balcony. Staff were cheerful and helpful and (crazy techno music in the elevator aside) we cannot fault the hotel.

It is about a 10min walk from the main drag of Waikiki which was nice for us as it gave a good chance to walk off heavy dinners and was a little quieter. There is also a very nice view of Diamond Head.

Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    153
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
136
292
59
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paxico, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If your looking for a quiet upscale hotel with beach access and walking distance of everything, this is THE place! Wonderful room with views of both Diamondhead and beach. Immaculate, beautiful room and accommodating staff. Very relaxing atmosphere with a very comfortable bed. I'd do it again (and planning doing it again)!

Room Tip: Corner room with 2 lanaiis was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The aqua lotus hotel is always a great place to stay. From the staff, to the rooms, and also the great views. And it's also nice and quiet. I always reccomend this hotel to all my friends and family. I stay here a few times a year. I always have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I found this little hotel on TripAdvisor and after reading the reviews am so glad I booked it....it was a delightful little gem!!
It is a beautiful, well looked after boutique hotel. The staff are very friendly and very helpful....I would stay here again in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My girl and I stayed here for four nights, and it was worth every penny! A nice little spot maybe 25 yards off the beach, the room was big and very comfortable and the staff was amazing. The restaurant was closed for remodeling while we were there so we couldn't try it out. Everything else was great, nice and quiet and relaxing!

Stay away from the restaurant next door (hau tree lanai), extremely overpriced for the poor quality food and watered down drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Heart of Dixie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I headed to Hawaii for our 30th wedding anniversary. We were taking a cruise of the islands but wanted to arrive a few days in advance to acclimate to the time change (6 hours for us). On the basis of the reviews here at TripAdvisor we booked the Aqua Lotus. However, we also booked one night at a Waikiki resort hotel on the back end of the cruise. The difference was night and day!

The Aqua Lotus staff must have been trained by Ritz Carlton personnel. They were amazing and did everything they could to make our stay special. The rooms are beautiful - sliding shutter doors instead of drapes, full length mirror, big bathroom / nice sized shower - a kind of "modern design meets the Island" feel. The wood laminate flooring might night satisfy everyone's tastes but it provides for a clean, cool and comfortable living space. The beach is right behind the hotel just a couple of minutes walk away. A few more minutes down the beach is Queen's Surf Cafe and Lanai where you can enjoy a relatively inexpensive meal right on the beach or take a short stroll in the morning and drink a quality cup of coffee or espresso while watching the morning surf. Everything about the location and the hotel is relatively peaceful. And the crowds of Waikiki are a 10 - 15 minute walk away if you need to be in the thick of things. Once a month local artists sell their work in Kapiolani Park, across the street from the hotel. We were fortunate enough that our stay corresponded to a show weekend. (Tip: buy your souvenirs at local arts shows if you want genuine articles made in Hawaii. Hilo Hatties and the ABC stores are selling items made in the Philippines and China so check carefully.) The number of rooms in the hotel is limited so you don't have to deal with the relentless masses of the resort hotels in Waikiki. Complementary coffee in the morning and wine in the evening is a nice touch.

After our experience (4 days, 3 nights at the Aqua Lotus and one overnight at the resort hotel) I am so grateful we took the reviews here seriously and booked with Aqua Lotus. The resort hotel was so depressing in comparison. So crowded, wildly expensive and a little phoney / faux Hawaiian. (A word about valet parking. It was $20 at the Aqua Lotus, $30 at the big resort hotel. Service at the Aqua Lotus was instantaneous, at the big resort hotel we had to wait as long as 10 minutes for our car.) If we are ever fortunate enough to visit these gracious islands again, we would definitely book again with Aqua Lotus.

Thanks to the Staff for making this milestone vacation so special for us!

Room Tip: Book a corner room on an upper floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our room was spacious and had a warm relaxing feeling. The terrace was nice too, bedding amazingly comfortable. We would say a perfect room for relaxing holiday. As others have written, away from the noise of Waikiki, yet a good beach next door, and close enough to walk into the centre of town. Ivy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee, guests will enjoy amenities including: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, Valet Parking, unlimited DVD movies and Playstation 3 games, in-room Coffee, in-room Safe, Coffee and Tea service in the lobby, daily Wine Service in lobby, Concierge Services, daily Newspaper, Bicycles and use of Beach Towels & Chairs, outdoor Yoga Classes, and Waikiki Shuttle Service. We also offer admission for (2) at the Honolulu Museum of Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.