We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #3 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Paxico, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If your looking for a quiet upscale hotel with beach access and walking distance of everything, this is THE place! Wonderful room with views of both Diamondhead and beach. Immaculate, beautiful room and accommodating staff. Very relaxing atmosphere with a very comfortable bed. I'd do it again (and planning doing it again)!

Room Tip: Corner room with 2 lanaiis was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    111
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
99
216
43
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

The aqua lotus hotel is always a great place to stay. From the staff, to the rooms, and also the great views. And it's also nice and quiet. I always reccomend this hotel to all my friends and family. I stay here a few times a year. I always have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I found this little hotel on TripAdvisor and after reading the reviews am so glad I booked it....it was a delightful little gem!!
It is a beautiful, well looked after boutique hotel. The staff are very friendly and very helpful....I would stay here again in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My girl and I stayed here for four nights, and it was worth every penny! A nice little spot maybe 25 yards off the beach, the room was big and very comfortable and the staff was amazing. The restaurant was closed for remodeling while we were there so we couldn't try it out. Everything else was great, nice and quiet and relaxing!

Stay away from the restaurant next door (hau tree lanai), extremely overpriced for the poor quality food and watered down drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Heart of Dixie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I headed to Hawaii for our 30th wedding anniversary. We were taking a cruise of the islands but wanted to arrive a few days in advance to acclimate to the time change (6 hours for us). On the basis of the reviews here at TripAdvisor we booked the Aqua Lotus. However, we also booked one night at a Waikiki resort hotel on the back end of the cruise. The difference was night and day!

The Aqua Lotus staff must have been trained by Ritz Carlton personnel. They were amazing and did everything they could to make our stay special. The rooms are beautiful - sliding shutter doors instead of drapes, full length mirror, big bathroom / nice sized shower - a kind of "modern design meets the Island" feel. The wood laminate flooring might night satisfy everyone's tastes but it provides for a clean, cool and comfortable living space. The beach is right behind the hotel just a couple of minutes walk away. A few more minutes down the beach is Queen's Surf Cafe and Lanai where you can enjoy a relatively inexpensive meal right on the beach or take a short stroll in the morning and drink a quality cup of coffee or espresso while watching the morning surf. Everything about the location and the hotel is relatively peaceful. And the crowds of Waikiki are a 10 - 15 minute walk away if you need to be in the thick of things. Once a month local artists sell their work in Kapiolani Park, across the street from the hotel. We were fortunate enough that our stay corresponded to a show weekend. (Tip: buy your souvenirs at local arts shows if you want genuine articles made in Hawaii. Hilo Hatties and the ABC stores are selling items made in the Philippines and China so check carefully.) The number of rooms in the hotel is limited so you don't have to deal with the relentless masses of the resort hotels in Waikiki. Complementary coffee in the morning and wine in the evening is a nice touch.

After our experience (4 days, 3 nights at the Aqua Lotus and one overnight at the resort hotel) I am so grateful we took the reviews here seriously and booked with Aqua Lotus. The resort hotel was so depressing in comparison. So crowded, wildly expensive and a little phoney / faux Hawaiian. (A word about valet parking. It was $20 at the Aqua Lotus, $30 at the big resort hotel. Service at the Aqua Lotus was instantaneous, at the big resort hotel we had to wait as long as 10 minutes for our car.) If we are ever fortunate enough to visit these gracious islands again, we would definitely book again with Aqua Lotus.

Thanks to the Staff for making this milestone vacation so special for us!

Room Tip: Book a corner room on an upper floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our room was spacious and had a warm relaxing feeling. The terrace was nice too, bedding amazingly comfortable. We would say a perfect room for relaxing holiday. As others have written, away from the noise of Waikiki, yet a good beach next door, and close enough to walk into the centre of town. Ivy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

As many reviewers have indicated Aqua Lotus sets itself apart from the mega chain hotels on Waikiki. Placed between a beautiful city park and a small beautiful beach we found it to be a perfect location. If you need to be in the center of all the "action" this definitely wouldn't be the hotel for you however if you enjoy a 15 minute walk to breakfast or a stroll at night back to your room this is perfect. The free bikes also made a great impression being able to check out the local neighborhood first hand instead out of a car window. The complimentary coffee and evening wine was also a very nice touch.

Room Tip: Corner suites offer two balconies with views of the city, Diamond Park and the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii
Address: 2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Aqua Lotus Honolulu, formerly W Honolulu, is a fusion of Asian inspired décor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the ocean. Amenities include in-room Internet & WiFi Internet access, safe, complimentary coffee and tea service in the lobby, daily wine service in lobby, valet and concierge services, banquet/meeting facilities, beach butler service, complimentary bicycles and complimentary use of beach items such as chairs, umbrellas and mats for the beach just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head to your Saves list