We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Save Saved
You added Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Aqua Lotus Honolulu is the place to stay when you need to get away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. I love this hotel, as I am always greeted with genuine hospitality and welcoming smiles of the ENTIRE staff! Rooms have been renovated, which are clean and simple, yet modern. The view of Diamond Head is magnificent, especially when you are greeted with the view from the balcony of your room. Hotel location is steps away from Waikiki beach and to Kapiolani Park, which is perfect to stroll along during anytime of the day. Hotel offers great amenities for all types of guests, such as free use of bicycles, beach chairs, a complimentary wine hour, yoga sessions, daily coffee/tea service in the morning and free daily newspaper. Aqua Lotus Honolulu will always be my home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you are as pleased with the results of our renovation as we are. We look forward to be able to open the restaurant space again soon and completing the transformation of the property back to its full service capabilities.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    124
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
115
245
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in late September - even with a small discount we still felt the Aqua Lotus was overpriced. The hotel is small and cute, beach access via the hotel next door (very small quiet beach), nice amenities (free cruiser bike usage, yoga, wine hour, etc). However, the room was small and fairly basic. The bed was very comfortable though. You're basically paying for the location. Only one elevator for the whole hotel. Yoga was too early for us 7:30 am (when we arrived later just the night before) but we did ride bikes to dinner which was fun. A nice place to stay but about $100 overpriced. Could have stayed at a resort for just a little bit more.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you are as pleased with the results of our renovation as we are. We look forward to be able to open the restaurant space again soon and completing the transformation of the property back to its full service capabilities.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

It is a great location and the customer service was exceptional. They always made you feel welcome! A peaceful place with a beautiful beach.

The rooms were clean and housekeeping did a great job keeping our room clean

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, IL.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We are in our early 50's. Close enough to walk to big beach or shopping areas. We used the complimentary bikes almost daily, never nervous in the traffic. Everyoneof the staff was very freindly and helpful. Had a view of Diamond Head and partial view of ocean. Nice small local beach for quiet time & swimming and big beach close to swim, read or people watch. We were lucky to be there when they closed down the main beach street for the night. lots of local tents and food.
Bogarts and local health foods cafe (both are very small) are realatively close 3-4 blocks and have very good breakfast and lunchs. breakfast bowl of fruit and frozen berry concoction was worth the walk/ride.
Initially dissappointed we were not right down on the strip, but quickly learned the peace and quiet of the area was the better choice.
I see the new on site restaraunt will be opening in the near future. This would make this hotel an complete destination and excellent choice in my opinion.
My only dissappointment was that it was not located right on the beach. but in reality it did not matter other than not being able to eat meals overlooking the water. No Big deal as we just had to venture out, and that is why we vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.
We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is my first ever review because we were so happy with this hotel and service standards were above expectations. After staying in the heart of Waikiki and having a few sleepness nights because of noise levels at all hours, it was so good to be so close to things in this hotel but in a quiet location while still enjoying great views and location.Special thanks to Joshua and crew for their help with medical and insurance matters when I injured myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

- I never write reviews, but was compelled to with this hotel because I was so happy with them.
- Just 5 min. from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. Very convenient.
- Rooms were modern, spacious and very clean.
- Service was impeccable. Proactively switched us to a room with double beds despite our booking site making an error and booking us in a room with one King. Offered to bring in a roll away to make it more comfortable for us AND comp'd it for our entire 9 day stay. We didn't ask - they offered. AMAZING.
- Can't be happier about our stay.
- Parking is valet only ($22 per day) BUT, there is ample street parking across the street that is cheap during the day and free from 6 pm to 10 am (when you would probably be parking anyway).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Aqua Lotus Hotel in September 2012. We had a minor difficult time finding it because the hotel sign says Lotus Diamond Head. A quick call to the hotel assured us that it was the one we were looking for. We were given a two double bed room, but when we went down to ask for a king, they quickly got us one and moved us. The hotel is beautiful, full of amenities that other hotels in the area don't provide (free internet, free morning coffee, free bikes, beach chairs, towels, and the wonderful free wine in the afternoon.) The staff was all very friendly and helpful and called us by name when greeting us. The room was lovely, bed comfortable, and bathroom very nice. The only thing that went wrong for us is we didn't realize how far from the rest of Waikiki Beach the hotel really is. We had returned our rental car when we got there (had been on the north shore for a week) thinking we could walk or cab it that week. It only took us one irritating day to realize that we needed to rent another car, which we did. Once we had a car, we were fine. We are both fairly young and in shape, but the hotel is really just a little too far from everything to walk every time you want to go somewhere. I should say however, that it was in a great location for our morning runs. We headed out towards Diamond Head and run up Diamond Head Rd. Terrific run. The hotel should definitely work on getting a restaurant back in there as quickly as possible. We both highly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, formerly W Honolulu, is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee guests will enjoy WiFi Internet access, in room safe, complimentary coffee and tea service in the lobby, daily wine service in lobby, valet and concierge services, banquet/meeting facilities, beach butler service, complimentary bicycles and complimentary use of beach towels & chairs for Waikiki, which is just steps to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.