We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Save Saved
You added Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The best ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting Waikiki at least every other year since 1986, have stayed at any number of hotels (including the Hyatt Regency Club on a first-class vacation in 1993) and by far the Aqua Lotus is the best! I won't tell you which room we had (want to keep it a secret to insure its availability for future visits!) but the views of both Diamond Head and the ocean were absolutely gorgeous, and the quiet (even on the lanai) was very welcome from the usual bus and early morning garbage truck noise of everywhere else we have ever stayed in Waikiki proper. The 15-minute walk to the restaurants, shopping, and hustle and bustle of Waikiki is no big deal, and the Gold Coast and San Souci / Queen's Surf end of Waikiki is our favorite end of the beach, anyway. Be warned that there is no swimming pool, but why have a pool when the ocean is only steps away? The room (and lobby) was beautifully decorated in a Balinese theme and properly maintained, service and evening turndown were excellent, and the happy hour wine service in the lobby is a big plus! We can't wait for our next visit when the Lotus restaurant will be open, as we may never want to go far away from the Lotus, except to the beach! Which reminds me, we love how the Lotus provides so many amenities that are complimentary, including not only the happy hour wine service, but free WiFi Internet access, beach chairs and towels, cruiser bicycles, and even the in-room safe. It is so nice to find a boutique hotel with both reasonable rates and no "nickle-and-dime" amenities. With only 50 rooms, never is there a crowded or competitive feel to obtaining services or accessing the hotel elevator. An aloha spirit prevails, not only among hotel staff, but also among the guests, who during our stay all seemed like family. Special kudos to Dante at the front desk! We definitely will be staying at the Lotus on future visits, in fact, where else would we want to stay after this wonderful experience?

Room Tip: Ocean View Premium or Diamond Head View Premium rooms (upper corner floors with two lanais) are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a number of our other guests also mention our location is second to none. Nestled quietly between the Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head and the sandy beach and tropical blue Pacific Ocean, the Lotus is the perfect place for a great vacation or any number of things for that matter. Thank for also taking a moment to comment on our friendly staff, we are very proud of the level of service that they provide day in and day out.
Thirdly, a few of the details that set us apart from the rest is the amount of custom designed complimentary offerings that are provided here at the Aqua Lotus Honolulu from the Yoga in the Park and the wine hour, beach chairs and toys and cruiser bikes, there are so many cool things to do.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    124
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
114
245
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is well-suited for those who wish a serene stay in Honolulu. The hotel is located steps to the beach near diamond head. It is not oceanfront per se, but some rooms have partial ocean views. The staff is excellent and amenities include use of beach chairs and towels, beach cruiser bicycles, and yoga classes most mornings. The hotel rooms are nicely sized and well-maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Corner on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a number of our other guests also mention our location is second to none. Nestled quietly between the Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head and the sandy beach and tropical blue Pacific Ocean, the Lotus is the perfect place for a great vacation or any number of things for that matter. Thank for also taking a moment to comment on our friendly staff, we are very proud of the level of service that they provide day in and day out.
Thirdly, a few of the details that set us apart from the rest is the amount of custom designed complimentary offerings that are provided here at the Aqua Lotus Honolulu from the Yoga in the Park and the wine hour, beach chairs and toys and cruiser bikes, there are so many cool things to do.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We (family of four, with two teenagers) stayed for a little over a week. Our experience was OUTSTANDING. The location, the facility, and the staff helped to make this our best vacation to date. The location, by the park and away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Waikiki, was quiet, but still within walking distance to downtown. The Diamond Head and coastal view from our balcony was a poatcard, absolutely beautiful! Our room was clean and very comfortable. And the icing on the cake was the staff. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Travis and Carissa; their help made our vacation the best ever! If we can, we will definately return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 8th floor. Higher up may have been a little better balcony view. We thought ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

My teenaged sons and I have stayed here for the past 2 nights and we are very happy with our choice. It is a short, lovely walk along the beach front or park to the Waikiki shops and restaurants, the rooms are very nice, clean and modern. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful with maps, recommendations and beach chairs, boogie boards and towels. The hotel is not directly on the beach but it is just across the parking lot, not even over a road. Diamond Head is right over the road. I have enjoyed the coffee available in the lobby in the morning and the complimentary wine in the evening. Definitely recommended for a short stay on the island, away from, but accessible to, the very busy Waikiki 'strip'.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a number of our other guests also mention our location is second to none. Nestled quietly between the Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head and the sandy beach and tropical blue Pacific Ocean, the Lotus is the perfect place for a great vacation or any number of things for that matter. Thank for also taking a moment to comment on our friendly staff, we are very proud of the level of service that they provide day in and day out.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Lotus exceeded our expectations. The room decor is very zen, the location by Kapiolani Park with a view of Diamond Head is unrivaled and the area is away from all the noise of Waikiki. The front desk staff is excellent and gave an excellent orientation. And the woman who checked us out the next day was very informative about breakfast venues. We'll stay again and recommend it highly. It is also very close to Kaimana Beach... A lovely part of Waikiki.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a number of our other guests also mention our location is second to none. Nestled quietly between the Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head and the sandy beach and tropical blue Pacific Ocean, the Lotus is the perfect place for a great vacation or any number of things for that matter. Thank for also taking a moment to comment on our friendly staff, we are very proud of the level of service that they provide day in and day out.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We loved our stay here, out of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki but close enough to go into if we wanted. Loved to complimentary wine in the lobby , and also the complimentary bikes which allowed our family to go for a late bikeride on the boardwalk where we discovered a monk seal on the beach (yes, we kept our distance, but it was difficult since the boardwalk is very close to the shoreline) Thank you for a fabulous stay!!

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor room and a nice view of the park. Not noisy at all, and we fell asleep with our l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Aqua Lotus Honolulu and that you were able to take advantage of some our great amenities. I hope that you get a chance to visit again sometime soon.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay and the hotel staff, who made our stay the top of the line, were extremely friendly, professional, and helpful. It is located in a quieter section of Honolulu, between the beach and a park. You can walk/bike to many nice shopping/eating areas. They provide free bikes, beach gear, etc., and will really take care of you. Lita, head of housekeeping, was great and was always available to help out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a number of our other guests also mention our location is second to none. Nestled quietly between the Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head and the sandy beach and tropical blue Pacific Ocean, the Lotus is the perfect place for a great vacation or any number of things for that matter. Thank for also taking a moment to comment on our friendly staff, we are very proud of the level of service that they provide day in and day out.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, formerly W Honolulu, is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee guests will enjoy WiFi Internet access, in room safe, complimentary coffee and tea service in the lobby, daily wine service in lobby, valet and concierge services, banquet/meeting facilities, beach butler service, complimentary bicycles and complimentary use of beach towels & chairs for Waikiki, which is just steps to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.