We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aqua Lotus Honolulu stay Spring 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head to your Saves list
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Atlanta
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Aqua Lotus Honolulu stay Spring 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We're regular visitors to Hawaii and like to use Waikiki as our headquarters, and then head out all over the island from there. We normally stay in larger hotels on Waikiki, but wanted to have a "quieter" experience with our two teenage children this trip. Aqua Lotus hotel is across the street from Kapiolani Park. The view from our balcony was Diamond Head/Kapiolani Park on the left and partial ocean view on the right. Gorgeous.

Hotel staff was wonderful with all our needs. Cette and Bill were especially helpful with tourist tips, getting our car, avoiding traffic snarls, etc. Always a friendly face and kind.

We loved having the bikes available to cruise along Kapiolani Park and on down Ala Wai Canal. Free towels and beach chairs were fantastic also. We never felt nickled and dimed as we have been with other resorts. This boutique hotel did not have a restaurant as it is apparently on hold with refurbishing; however, we walked to the hotel behind us and ate breakfast at the Hau Tree Lanie restaurant on the beach at the New Otani Hotel. Gorgeous under the old Hau trees which legend has it, author Robert Louis Stevenson wrote nad reflected.

Rooms were clean, comfortable...fantastic shower head, and nice balconies. The hotel was almost completely booked, but we did not hear loud bangings above or below us...not sure if building or if just polite neighbors. The "disco elevator" was a big hit with my teenagers. Balinese, quiet/meditative style in lobby, but once you entered the elevator, club music was going away. Was a constant source of laughter and conversation with other guests. We took advantage of the courtesy wine happy hour a few times in the lobby, and took up a glass to our balcony and enjoyed the view.

A convenience store was out and across the parking lot in a building suite for bananas, bread, drinks...or other food items for mini fridge.

As we pretty much spend most of our time on the Eastern side of island from the Pali over, this is a fantastic location for all the beaches, hikes, food and haunts we enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. We are striving to make the Lotus guest experience the best possible and we are pleased to know that we succeeded during your visit... and that the elevator music made your daughters happy (we may have to work on something that has a wider audience there!). As so many of our guests have commented, the complimentary amenities (bikes, morning coffee & tea/newspapers, wine reception, yoga) have been a big hit. Once again, thank you for taking the time to recognize the efforts of the Lotus Team and for the positive review.

A Hui Hou! (until we meet again)
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    141
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
123
268
57
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

I love this hotel! It's tucked away in a quiet neighborhood at the edge of Kapiolani Park, about a half mile from the Waikiki strip. So you are only a ten minute walk from all the shops, restaurants, and nightlife; but it feels incredibly tranquil and far removed from the crowds.

The rooms are spacious and clean, with nice little balconies to sit and watch the world go by. It is well worth paying extra for the deluxe rooms on the higher floor, as they have lovely views (though you should be warned that the hotel is not directly oceanfront, so ocean views are at a slight distance. Even the higher-priced rooms are a great value for the area.

I've also had great experiences with the staff -- the small size of the hotel means that everyone is friendly, helpful, and unrushed.

The only real downside is that there is no restaurant and no room service -- but there are several places to eat next door.

Overall, the best bargain in Honolulu!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. We are striving to make the Lotus guest experience the best possible and we are pleased to know that we succeeded during your visit. As so many of our guests have commented, the complimentary amenities (bikes, morning coffee & tea/newspapers, wine reception, yoga) have been a big hit. Your comments also captured one of our best amenities, the Lotus "sense of place" that so many of our repeat guests have discovered, that as a guest at the Lotus you become a part of the Gold Coast community atmosphere... something that savvy visitors to Honolulu seek out for their visits and all just a short stroll from Waikiki.

A Hui Hou! (until we meet again)
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

A very nice, and clean hotel. The staff was awsome A+ x 100. The veiw from the room was very nice (beach and diamond head veiw). Quiet location,but not too far from all the shops. I will stay again and recomended to all my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you review your the Aqua Lotus Honolulu and to make special mention of our team members who helped you during your visit. The Lotus has much to offer but it is the guest services team that really make it all happen! We are striving to make the Lotus guest experience the best possible and we are pleased to know that we succeeded during your visit.


A Hui Hou! (until we meet again)
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I travel to Hawaii often and I love Maui. I love everything about the quiet and serene atmosphere. SO, i was very very unsure how I would feel about Oahu. Especially staying in the Honolulu Waikiki Area with the hustle and bustle. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised with how quiet the end near Diamond Head is. And we were especially pleased with the calm and peaceful atmosphere of the Aqua Lotus. We had an ocean deluxe room. The view was perfect. One lanai gave us a glimpse of the water, the other a breathtaking view of Diamond Head. The staff there was completely attentive. From the first person at the front desk very late the night we arrived to both of the valets, Travis and Bill. Beds were extremely comfortable. The entire hotel had that "boutique" feel, which I loved. This is definitely made for couples without children. Especially couples wanting a very simple, laid back atmosphere away from the downtown area... but still close enough that you can walk.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor. I recommend the corner ocean deluxe room that we had! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Aloha,

Your review captures the essence of what the Aqua Lotus Honolulu is all about. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

A Hui Hou! (until we meet again)
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We found this hotel on Expedia, and with Expedia you never really know what type of hotel you are going to get. My boyfriend and I took a trip to Honolulu for a fun little vacation and we were blown away from the moment we pulled up! Its a smaller hotel which worked great for us :)
Long story: First of all the location was perfect, not on the strip with tons of noise, but closer to diamond head (which makes for a great view as well). Right across the street from a huge park.
It was a little hard to find at first because we were looking for AQUA but it actually says Lotus, so look for that.
We pull up to a very friendly smiling gentleman Travis, he was our valet (who also doubles as the bellman and the front desk person. this guy dies it all!) They only have valet parking which costs $20 a day, not the best news but so work it! He did inform us that with our Hawaii ID we got 50% off parking, great news. We checked in at the front desk and the gentleman told us that they have, get this: Complementary bikes for us to use, complementary coffee in the morning down stairs, complementary wine from 4-6pm in the lobby, complementary beach towels and chairs and even complementary yoga on certain days of the week! We loved having the bikes to ride, it really added so much to our trip. We really enjoyed the wine downstairs as well, made for a much more romantic trip.
The room we got to was on the 3rd floor, with a view but not the best and it had 2 double beds (I had asked Expedia for a king). I'm not one to call and ask for things from the front desk but I thought I might as well ask if we can switch rooms to one with a king bed, the man at the front desk was so kind and told me that there were no rooms of the same type with a king, but that they did have a upgraded room (a corner room) for a $15 fee per day, we are on vacation so we said yes! Ohh boy it was so worth it, the room is on the corner and was a floor higher so the view of diamond head was great!
We had a great stay, and they even let us check-out late upon asking them. Its nice and quite at night and during the day for that matter.

The staff continued to be so nice and friendly and most of all accommodating. Travis, Bill and Saitte? Were all spectacular!!

Short story: Traveled as a couple, great staff great location great complementary add on's.
There is no pool so might not be great for kids. WE loved loved loved it and will be back the next time we are on Oahu.

Only down side, now I'm nitpicking here is that there is only one elevator so it at times takes while for it to get to you.

Note: Do Not waste your money at the restaurant next door Michele's, food is ok but WAY over priced.

Room Tip: I would recommend the higher the floor the better, you get a much better view. Also pay the extra b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review for the Aqua Lotus Honolulu and to make special mention of our team members who helped you during your visit. We are striving to make the Lotus guest experience the best possible and we are pleased to know that we succeeded during your visit. As so many of our guests have commented, the complimentary amenities (bikes, morning coffee & tea/newspapers, wine reception, yoga) have been a big hit. As a Kauai resident you already know how important it is to have a sense of place and your comments also captured one of our best amenities, the Lotus "sense of place" that so many of our repeat guests have discovered, that as a guest at the Lotus you become a part of the Gold Coast community atmosphere... something that savvy visitors to Honolulu seek out for their visits.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

A Hui Hou!
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I don't even know where to begin! My experience at this hotel have been eeeexcellent!!! The staff (valet, front desk, housekeeping...) get to know you on a first name basis. This hotel is very personal and intimate. It's away from the busyness of the main strip of Waikiki, although it's in very short walking distance. They provide free bicycles to use if you're lazy to walk. Kapiolani Park which is across the street is a good place to work out/run. It is steps away to the beach, aquarium, park, and a great view of the famous Diamond Head landmark.

If you're in the military on TLA, this is the hotel where you want to be! I stayed here for about a month, and it's well worth it. I highly recommend for any travelers or even locals to come experience the great joy I've had staying here. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

this hotel gem a few hundred yards east of crowded Waikiki is still within an easy stroll of the action and about 150 feet from one of the best white sand beaches in the area. It is well run, friendly, super quiet and near and eclectic collection of restaurants and shops. You don't need a rental car because there are bus, bike and walking routes to practically anything you might want to do.

There are cultural, farmers market, art and other events nearly every weekend in Kapiolani Park, across the street plus a free fireworks show over Waikiki visible from the nearby beach every Friday evening.

We live in Honolulu, but occasionally "vacation" at the Aqua Lotus

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review for the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. We are striving to make the Lotus guest experience the best possible and we are pleased to know that we have succeeded during your occassional visits. As a Honolulu resident you already know how important it is to have a sense of place and your comments also captured the Lotus "sense of place" that so many of our repeat guests have discovered, that as a guest at the Lotus you become a part of the Gold Coast community atmosphere... something that savvy Honolulu visitors and as you and others have shown, even local residents, seek out for their visits.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

A Hui Hou!
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, formerly W Honolulu, is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee guests will enjoy WiFi Internet access, in room safe, complimentary coffee and tea service in the lobby, daily wine service in lobby, valet and concierge services, banquet/meeting facilities, beach butler service, complimentary bicycles and complimentary use of beach towels & chairs for Waikiki, which is just steps to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.