We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Lotus so much we went back! And will go again. . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head to your Saves list
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Loved the Lotus so much we went back! And will go again. . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We booked our first four-night stay at the Aqua Lotus when a deal showed up on Jetsetter.com. The price was right and the location perfect to our way of thinking: a bit removed from the hustle and noise of Waikiki at the foot of Diamond Head and across the street from Kapi'olani Park.

We booked our second four-night stay because we'd extended our time in Hawaii and the Lotus was worth a return visit.

The ambiance is that of a small boutique hotel. The staff, as others have noted, are professional and friendly. Several times during our second stay, we were recognized as returning guests and welcomed back. The combination of staff, the special touches offered at the hotel, the rooms and location led to our conclusion, that we've found 'our' hotel in Honolulu. We will be back.

Special touches: Morning coffee is provided daily in the lobby -- free copies of the Star-Advertiser newspaper as well. If you prefer in-room coffee, a pot, cups and coffee packets will be provided. Each afternoon complimentary red and white wine, self-served in Reidel wine glasses replace the morning coffee service. The hotel also provides beach towels and chairs as well as bikes for guests to use. Guests are also invited to participate in complimentary yoga classes offered four times a week at 7:30 a.m. Instructors lead the class in Kapi'olani park. (I had never tried a yoga class and participated in this one - it is incredible! The instructor, Courtney, was able to adapt the workout to the ability levels of each participant in the class. The park location was perfect allowing for us to watch the sun rise over Diamond Head.)

The rooms: all have postcard views of Diamond Head (and there's also a beautiful view of Waikiki Beach on the open hallway between the elevator and the rooms.) The amount of water view you have depends on how high your room is and its location in the hotel. Our first stay, we were in an ocean view room, on the eighth floor, on the end of the building which gave us two patios and a view of the water and Diamond Head. On our return visit we spent four nights on a 10th floor room and had a bit more expansive water view. Both rooms were spacious, kept clean by the housekeeping staff that visited during the day and provided an evening turn-down of the delightfully comfortable beds. Rooms have wi-fi access and a small refridgerator. The decks are large with two chairs and a large table and provide spectacular views of Diamond Head.

Hotel location: As noted above, the hotel is to the south of Waikiki, just past the Aquarium. We found it an easy walk through the park to get back to the busier part of town. In fact our hotel's location allowed for us to walk to the top of Diamond Head (7.5 miles round trip) and to Kahala Mall (about 5 miles) quite easily. But for those who don't want to walk, the Honolulu public bus system, TheBus, can take you to the island's major tourist attractions. There's a bus stop close to the hotel and is served by Bus 2 which loops you back to Kuhio Ave. (the heart of Waikiki) or Bus 14 which loops around the base of Diamond Head (past the lighthouse, and near the Kahala Hotel, to the Kahala Mall and Coco Head area. We were provided transfer coupons which were valid for four hours and as a result often didn't need pay for a return trip or provided a free transfer to a bus going to the place we were headed. The hotel front desk can provide a reference sheet and map that tells you which bus to catch to reach tourist destinations such as Pearl Harbor and the Polynesian Cultural Center and points along the North Shore. The cost per adult was $2.50 (we could have purchased a four-day pass for $25 but opted to walk to most destinations.) A rental car isn't necessary.

Restaurants: There was talk that the hotel's second floor restaurant will re-open in the future but for the present time the nearby restaurants offered high-end dining options. As noted above though it was simple to hop the bus to get back into Waikiki where multitudes of eateries at all price ranges are to be found or out to the Kahala Mall where a similar array is available.

Area free attractions: If you stay at the Lotus don't miss the free band concert in Kapi'olani Park on Sunday afternoons, check out the art along the fence of the nearby Honolulu Zoo and if you are lucky, catch one of the free hula shows in the park as well. We were also entertained watching pick-up soccer games in the park from our deck each evening.

The hotel is very close to the Outrigger Canoe Club, a private club that's been a Honolulu tradition since 1908. If you are a member of a club that has a reciprocal membership with the OCC, and plan to use it while in Hawaii, this hotel is perfectly located for easy access. Ask about OCC hotel rates when you call for a reservation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    141
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
123
268
57
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

At first we were unable to find a condo that was not in the heart of Waikiki. I stumbled upon this hotel on the internet. Now am so glad we stayed there. Lovely views, Super Clean Spacious rooms, Friendly Staff and best of all quiet. Only a few rooms on each floor. Extra little touches that make it even more relaxing.
Daily afternoon complimentary wine in the lobby; Morning coffee and tea; Complimentary bikes to get you around.
Evening room turndown. Helpful staff. We will be back.
Only thing I'd change is the lobby. Needs a little more warmth - comfort to sit down and relax.

Room Tip: If you are looking for the quiet away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki - this is for you! Sans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

First and foremost we highly recommend this hotel. It is in a quieter part of Waikiki which in our opinion was fantastic as you have a more relaxing and paradisical experience in the area. Also, for the price it is a great value as other hotels of the same quality will charge more per night for the same types of views.

We stayed in room 1221 (Ocean View Premium) and you cannot, absolutely cannot beat the views. We had two lanai's,one with a view of the ocean and Diamond Head and the other smaller one that looks out into the city and other mountains. The room was large and very clean. A few other reviewers commented on the stained carpet, there was a stain by the door but truly this was not a deal breaker. The room still felt up to date and modern. Also, people have commented on the TV's as they are not new flat screens, this was also not a deal breaker. I did not feel that I was lacking anything because the TV is an older style. The bed was super comfortable and it does have a feather mattress on top. This was not a problem, I did not experience it moving or becoming uncomfortable during the night. The bathroom does not have a tub, which was fine as we never take baths, but in a premium room one might expect to have a little more luxury and I would say that a few more amenities could be offered in the bathroom. The shampoo and conditioner and lotion were great, but when paying for one of the nicest rooms in the hotel it would be nice to see something special in the room. For example a shaving kit, or maybe cotton swabs....something to up the value of what you are paying for.

There is not restaurant in the hotel although we were told two would be opening within the year. The hotel next door has a fabulous breakfast and as it has been mentioned it is pricey but maybe worth it one or two times. The "hidden" breakfast gem is located about a 5 minute walk toward busy Waikiki, Queens Surf Cafe & Lanai is super, super cheap by any standard and absolutely delicious. We were blown away. It is worth it for both breakfast and dinner. The pancakes were great and the lox was the best we ever had (no joke). That being said - we did not have a problem with the hotel offering no food or dining service. We ordered pizza one night and it was delivered to the room within 30 min.

Back to the hotel - there is coffee service in the mornings and they serve wine from 4 - 6pm in the lobby which is a very nice touch (Gnarly Head Red). They offer free beach towels, chairs and mats and the beach is about 2 mins. from the front of the hotel. You can also take a ride on the complimentary beach cruisers they provide. All of these amenities came in handy for us and made our experience at the hotel very enjoyable. The only thing I would have liked was possible snorkel rental or sales. Otherwise, you have to bring your own or walk to the busier part of Waikiki to rent it. Parking is pricey at $20 but I believe it is one of the cheaper prices as compared to other hotels in Waikiki. You can park on the street at the meters but it will probably be a hassle and the street parking seemed to always be taken.

The staff at the hotel was fantastic and friendly! No one was a problem for us and they all were knowledgeable and quick to deal with any problems. Travis the valet is fantastic. He recommend the Diamond Head Market and Grill for lunch and it was great. He was also very quick to get our car and patient as we had to get in and out of it several times. Carissa at the front desk was really nice and personable and helped us obtain a room on a high floor for extra special views. Two thumbs up for the staff!

It you want a smaller hotel with amazing views, comfortable beds, and friendly staff this hotel is the place for you. If you like more action and want the hustle and bustle of a big resort like the Hilton or Royal Hawaiian in the heart of busy Waikiki, this will not be a good fit. The Aqua Lotus is a fabulous hotel and will only get better once their restaurants open.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view premium room on the corner. The room is larger, you get two lanai's and your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

20 minutes walk from the centre of Waikiki beach activity a nice, clean, pleasant place. Parking fee of 20$ is to much, but overall there is a good value for the money. Beach 250 meters away. Quiet place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Well located hotel ten - fiteen minutes walk from central Waikiki, so in a quiet location opposite a park. Very close to the beach, but not on it. This is a good 3 star hotel. Our room was large with two good quality double beds. The bathroom was also a good size. Everything was clean and well maintained. The room had a view to diamond head and look the other way to see the ocean. We didn't eat there so no comment on dining experience.
We actually had brekkie at a little roadside cafe up near Kahuku. It was the best breakfast! The smoothies were sensational. Sorry can't remember the name of it.

Room Tip: We were really happy in the less expensive rooms which have the Diamond Head view. Its a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for five years, typically every three or four times a year for a week at a time (It is a former W Hotel). I come to Honolulu for business and appreciate that it is quiet and off the beaten path, but accessible to Waikiki. Just fifty rooms, five rooms per floor and easy in/out access valet parking. They are not on the beach but have towels, chairs and bikes for guest use. The beach is 100 yards away and is small and swimable. They also have complimentary coffee service in the AM, complimentary wine in the PM and free internet.
Staff is very friendly and accomodating.
What prevents an excellent rating is lack of on site food service. I understand that this is coming in summer 2012.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Wonderful feutre ambiance, great decor in pure Lotus style of well being, luxurious yet tasteful. Rooms offer great amenities and style. Beds are superb! The best I have slept in --to die for comfort. Kings and Queens! Better than Westin and Four Seasons! Bathroom tops too. Wonderful selection of tea's in the morning as well as fresh coffee complimentary--pau hana offering of white and red wine delightful after the beach.
Location is tops - just in the shadow of Diamond Head, the park, zoo, aquarium are a stone's throw. Complimentary bikes for riding around Diamond Head or down the Ala Wai!
Great beach towels and chairs.

Room Tip: Corner rooms best...over 8th floor ocean +++. Lower floors park corner room with Diamond Head and pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, formerly W Honolulu, is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee guests will enjoy WiFi Internet access, in room safe, complimentary coffee and tea service in the lobby, daily wine service in lobby, valet and concierge services, banquet/meeting facilities, beach butler service, complimentary bicycles and complimentary use of beach towels & chairs for Waikiki, which is just steps to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.