We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly recommended!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1956 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Ranked #47 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Strongly recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I spent three nights in this Hotel last may: only 10-15 min walking from Waikiki Beach and the main stores and restaurants in Honolulu, nice and confortable rooms, well equipped and very clean; everything seems brand new and the staff is extremely nice. At the front desk you can ask for complimentary just baked chocolate chip cookies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha FedericoStea,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your staff. Our staff is grateful for your kind words and you are welcome to come back anytime for our complimentary warm, chocolate chip cookies.

Please do visit us again!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    302
    162
    49
    31
See reviews for
173
167
57
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Required valet parking $30/day. We didn't knowuntil we drove up. The Internet is only available in the room for a fee. Free internet in the lobby is inconvenient. The room was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The cookies were delicious. We used the pull out bed and is was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha Dana B,

We very much appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing to stay with us! Our housekeeping team was pleased to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room. You put a smile on the faces of our other team members by your compliment of their friendly and helpful service.

Your review is heard and we truly take your feedback to heart. Thank you again for visiting us!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Housekeeping staff should go through a re-fresher course on how to clean a room. Front Desk staff and Bell Desk were helpful and friendly but housekeeping was less desirable. Overall ok but if you can find another property please do. Hilton Hawaiian Village is across the street and hotel is near various attractions

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Aloha AirForceONEMD,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We truly appreciate every opportunity to improve our service. We are reviewing our housekeeping procedures and apologize for not meeting up to the standard expected of a Doubletree by Hilton property. We do hope you give us another chance to give you the experience you deserve. Our front office and bell team hope to see you again and appreciate your compliments!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Recently stayed here one night. Check in was quick and efficient. The clerk was very cordial and even upgraded us to a suite. (I think it was because of our hilton honor status.) She offered us yummy warm chocolate chip cookies, which we look forward to every time we stay at Doubletree. The room size was decent and the bed was comfortable. It was nice to have a small fridge in the room. The only negative I would say is that the size of the bathroom was kind of small. But looking at photographs from other travelers, I think the bathroom size varies. There was a small gym and pool. Overall it was a great one night stay.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha Tempdragon,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience! We are so glad you enjoyed our cordial staff and yummy chocolate chip cookies. They are both exactly what you can expect at every Doubletree by Hilton around the world...the only difference is our Hawaii cookies are made with Aloha! Yes, you are right in that there are a couple different bathroom size options - our front office team is happy to assist you in selecting the perfect room for your next stay.

Mahalo (thank you) again for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Convient location for the purposes of our trip - Pearl Harbour, beach & shopping.

Staff very helpful, room clean & reasonable size.

Not really sure why people have reported problems with the air con, it wasn't required most of the time. The weather is not that hot, especially at night it is pleasantly warm.

Would be happy to stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Aloha Sue S,

Mahalo (thank you) for your kind review! It is our pleasure to care for you during your stay. We are so glad you liked our location as much as we do - many of us live outside of the Waikiki area...we find it so convenient to travel the island, yet also have the option to enjoy the festivities of Waikiki.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agana Heights, Guam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was very comfortable with a large king size bed. However, the bathroom was rather small with no room for personal amenities. The area of the hotel is quiet and in a great location. The valet service for parking was excellent and the staff was extremely friendly. The cookies were great and served warm. Perfect for a late night snack.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Aloha Thomas C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience! The best part of working here is definitely our friendly team members and I am so glad you were able to experience their 'Aloha Spirit'. We do have a variety of room options with some larger bathroom options...our knowledgeable front office team will be sure to share them with you when you visit us next.

Mahalo (thank you) again and we hope to see you soon!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree Alana Waikiki Hotel for 9 days in May.

Location: Great location but not directly on the beach. A short walk will get you to many excellent beaches, but if you MUST have a room overlooking a beach or water, this is NOT your hotel. Otherwise, very centrally located with plenty to do nearby and an easy stroll to all the best that Waikiki has to offer. (side note: this review is about the hotel, not really about Waikiki but I will say that if you want a non-touristy location on Oahu, you should probably avoid Waikiki)

Staff: The staff is extremely nice and very accommodating. You really couldn't ask for a nicer bunch of people. 5 stars to the staff--desk clerks, maintenance, bar, management and housekeeping. They really do a great job. They are a credit to the Hilton chain.

Rooms: The rooms are nice and about average size. Nice bathroom, always clean. No complaints whatsoever.

Amenities: We never used the pool but we did use the gym. Again, no complaints.

Restaurant: We did make it to the bar a few times and had appetizers that were good. The bartenders were all nice and helpful.

Considering the price differential between the big beach hotels and the Doubletree, I'd say it was more than worth it to stay here. Again, if you MUST be on the beach, you'll need to look elsewhere as this hotel is a few blocks from the beach. But considering the Hilton will cost you easily twice as much per night then it would all be a matter of what you're willing to pay.

If I have to go to Waikiki again, I'll probably stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Aloha Buttsman,

Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for your review! We are truly appreciative that you chose to stay with us and saw the value in our property. The warmth of our team members really make the difference and I am glady you had the chance to meet them in each area of our property. We do hope you decide to join us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki

Address: 1956 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana Waikiki is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.