We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Halekulani Hotel to your Saves list
Halekulani Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunrise Breakfast Package
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Morganville, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow do I love the Halekulani! Everything is first class.

The rooms are lovely. We received an array of complementary snacks and drinks when we arrived as well!! A complementary bottle of wine?! I'll take it!!!

The pool is STUNNING. It's one of the most beautful pools I've ever seen.

And pay for the upgrade to an ocean view room. It's worth every penny. The pool and ocean are just so gorgeous to wake up to every morning!

Plus the location is FABULOUS! Walking distance from hundreds of restaurants and other hotels. So wonderful.

And bottled water is complementary the entire trip! SO GREAT.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    315
    123
    42
    25
See reviews for
435
864
49
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

By far the best hotel in Hawaii when it comes to service and overall experience. The staff is exceptional in meeting your every need and the property is kept in impeccable condition. In spite of its Waikiki location, you are immediately separated from the hustle and bustle of the many hotels and tourists in this enclave of peace and luxury.

Room Tip: Request Diamond Head ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We checked out this hotel beforehand on Trip Advisor, and I think it was the #1 Hotel in Honolulu. It did not disappoint! We had a ocean-view as well as Diamond Head view, and it was awesome. The manager's reception on the night we arrived was excellent. The concierge was so helpful and friendly. We breakfast at Orchids, which was nice as well. Each night there was a little treat on our bed. We felt so welcomed and special. I would recommend this hotel, although it is definitely pricey.

Room Tip: We selected a room that would have a view of Diamond Head as well as the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reading the plethora of positive reviews, I booked this hotel expecting a similar experience to the Four seasons, the Peninsula , Fairmont , Langham etc... In other words, I was paying a premium for the extraordinary service. I was sorely disappointed upon my arrival when the valet service personnel were nowhere to be found, the bell man was rude and failed to even greet my wife or even my two year old son, and the front desk receptionist was professional but unfriendly.

I would recommend skimming through the reviews because you will discover that many reviewers find that this hotel is nothing special. The staff seem to be disgruntled and most of them fail to even acknowledge you. The pool service is non-existent as you have to go retrieve your own towels and drinks.

The bottom line is this hotel is nothing special for them to be charging near the higher end of luxury hotels. If you want a really nice room with free wifi and an extremely comfortable bed and don't have any expectations for service/pool, then this hotel is for you. However, if you are staying here because you value exemplary service and hope to be pampered, you will regret staying here like I did.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment you pull up, the Halekulani special treatment begins. The valet service personnel are so friendly and welcoming. You are made to feel like they already know you. The check-in personnel are equally as friendly and inviting. Upon arrival you are given a tour of the hotel main floor which is beautiful with it's marble floors and gorgeous landscaping. Serenity exudes from this hotel. This hotel has personnel who treat you with the warmth and kindness of old friends. We had a beautiful ocean front room that was spacious and comfortable. We also overlooked the beautifully tiled pool and expertly manicured courtyard which features nightly Hawaiian entertainment under the Kiawe Tree. We loved sitting on our balcony/Lanai and enjoying this relaxing music and watching the Hawaiian dancers. The bathroom includes a shower and separate tub and a vanity large enough to include a vanity stool which I loved! We purchased the breakfast package which allowed you to choose the buffet served at La Mer location or off the menu at Orchids. We really enjoyed both options. We made our reservations for dinner at Orchids and La Mer months in advance so we could request oceanfront/sunset views. Both of these restaurants are excellent and I have reviewed them separately. This location does have a small front beach area but there is lots of beach front on both sides with plenty of room for everyone. A wonderful boardwalk runs from the Halekulani property to the beach front. After seeing the other hotels in the area and how crowded they were, I was so glad I chose the Halekulani. There were a lot of people here but somehow it never felt crowded or overwhelming. I would definitely recommend and return to the Halekulani.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros: Classy, quiet, friendly and courteous staff, free wifi, clean room and grounds, attention to small details . Bed and pillows were of high quality (never have I slept in a bed better than my 9k temperpedic bed at home, but this came real close). So close to everything, restaurants and shopping.

Cons: Can't think of one at this moment- oh yes, woke up to the noise of the city. Not the hotel's fault, but the nature of staying in a big city. Oh, water was not always offered when taking the car out from the valet. That would have been a nice touch each time.

How the the hotel "rescue" our vacation? Here goes… arrived to Oahu for a wedding. Spent the first 3 nights at Turtle Bay Resort. Did not go nearly as well as hoped (see my review for that if you're interested). Arrived to Honolulu for the last 2 nights of the entire stay, checked into Halekulani. One of the first things said to us while we waited for our room to be ready was, "leave your bags here, don't worry, we'll take care of everything." The bellman to the valet was nice and prompt, no wishy washy business. The area in front of the hotel was busy with cars but always kept moving.

The room was gorgeous with a view (we stayed in a Diamond Head ocean view room). I wish we stayed longer. After a long day doing wedding stuff with my family we would return to the hotel and just feel so pampered. Small gifts to take with us were left by the hotel. Robes and slippers laid out by the bed side, waters by the night stand, even a bathroom mat by the toilet (don't you hate it when it's cold when sitting on the toilet?). I can't say enough good things and would return to stay here the next time I am back in Honolulu.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalding, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 days over Easter in an ocean view room. The room was large with a king size bed, small sofa and chair. We had a balcony with a lounger and table and chairs. The bathroom was also large with a good sized shower - we had no issues with a lack of hot water.

The hotel is right on the beach but go out the other side and you are at the end of one of the shopping streets with bars and restaurants.

Waikiki is very built up and busy so being able to go into the calm of the hotel was much appreciated. Although the bit of beach outside is small, it was perfect for getting in the sea and experiencing the waves. You can lie on loungers round the pool and near the beach and watch the world go by (and drink cocktails - careful though they are strong!)

Service was good and we enjoyed breakfast everyday at Orchids and cocktails every night at House without a key listening to the band (excellent) and watching the hula dancer amazing grace and control). We ate at orchids one night and had bbq at HWAK another. Both good meals sitting next to the sea.

All in all I'd recommend this hotel and would visit again. It is not cheap though and the cocktail price reflected the overall hotel price!

Room Tip: Ocean view was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halekulani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.