We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service in convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Save Saved
You added Halekulani Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Daily Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful service in convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had the pleasure of visiting Halekulani in June. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. A nice choice of restaurants. The pool was average but again the service around the pool was good. Thankfully the ocean was not far away. The rooms were nice & serviced well but nothing outstanding. Bathrooms good. We had a few massages at the spa that were amazing but expensive. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,075
    267
    102
    34
    22
See reviews for
367
722
39
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our sixth visit to the Halekulani and we will return! When we arrived, we were greeted at the car by multiple bell staff and a well informed hotel representative who knew all about us. We were shown into the lobby where we were greeted again. Smiles , handshakes and many kind words.
The hotel was spotless and well kept. The ocean front room was great! Spotless , well appointed and many extras.
I really could go on and on! The restaurants were all wonderful! And room service was a real treat.
All aspects of this hotel are truly wonderful! , but the service from beginning to end is without doubt the jewel in their crown! A visit is highly advised !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are very nice, it's connected to the beach front, the spa is AMAZING! I have nothing to complain about this hotel. The restaurants are great too. A total joy staying here

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

when my best friend was celebrating his 60th b-day ...I decided to plan our trip to Hawaii , USA
Growing up in east Europe, our childhood dream was to see Hawaii and Honolulu , so with help of few other childhood friends ...we pined down the dates , hotel and all our activities . It was not easy to put together group of 8 people , living in different part of the world ...but it happened.
The moment we arrived to Halekulani Hotel, our state of mind changed . Design of this hotel is so unassuming and elegant, peaceful and tranquile ..in perfect sinchrony with its environment ...open concept allowing breeze to cool you down and spectacular orchid pool right on the ocean front . Rooms were all facing the Waikiki beach , spacious and functional , pure heaven , with balconies large enough for you to just lounge and enjoy sunsets...Every night we were entertained with local aloha music and lovely dancers ...no loud music, no rough visitors no dunk people in the pool...sophisticated crowd well dressed for dinners and friendly during the day , chatting by the pool side. 10 days we hardly left the hotel as it offered EVERYTHING , including small white sand beach ...I absolutely love this hotel ! It is also centerly located walking distance to all shopping, nigh clubs and fabulous walkways facing Waikiki beach .
Hotels restaurants are excellent. You can not go wrong with any of their dishes , although my fav was curry fish dish, what a surprise ! I was truly sad to leave this paradise on earth. Honolulu migh appear to loos its glitter to some more isolated "lux" islands near by...but for those , like me, who crave urban beach cities , Honolulu is up there with Rio, Barcelona and Nice . Must go back soon!

Room Tip: lower building has rooms with balconies facing the ocean, easy access , very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgiana, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

2 months ago we visited halekulani hotel, the view from the room was amazing, the bathroom spacious, the location super since everything was withing walking distance. We took as well a dancing lesson that was very interesting. The drinks by the pool were very relaxing.definitelly would recommend

Room Tip: Romantic destination
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are used to staying in the best hotels around the world then this is the hotel for you. Staff are attentive and the restaurants are lovely. We travelled with 2 children so we had to inter leading rooms 1258/1259, we were very happy with these as they had a nice sea view. We looked through other hotels which were less traditional and a lot busier, loud music at night and full of party people...nothing wrong with that but just not for us. I would suggest the Halekulani hotel is for people in there 30's + who are not on a budget and who like a more refined crowd. Kids club which they ran during the peak period was good. The pool is very adult focused, no pool toys allowed, no diving etc.. but that suited us and our girls had a great time swimming and meeting friends. The location is superb, the shopping area starts right outside the entrance and there is a little beach which is sufficient right in front of the hotel. We had breakfast at Bills of Sydney which was delicious on one of the days and ate at PF Changs which was a 5 minute walk away,also yummy! We will definitely be returning to the Helekulani Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great location, on Waikiki Beach, right in the middle of all you need- but when you're in the hotel it is an oasis from the crowds on Waikiki. Bright, cheerful rooms, well appointed bathrooms, with good storage. I always enjoy going to the restaurant for breakfast and enjoying the view of Diamond Head as I sample the papaya and pineapple. Not a place for families with children as it has a small pool which may be intentional - very much the best place for relaxation for adults on Oahu

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halekulani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.