We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Halekulani Hotel to your Saves list
Halekulani Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunrise Breakfast Package
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This was our first and hopefully not last visit to Hawaii. We booked through British Airways for a family trip. This is a beautiful hotel with impeccable service. Every member of staff was friendly and approachable. We arrived late after a very long flight from London and were shown into the Reception area quickly. We were given a quick tour around the main areas and the registration was completed in our rooms which was nice. We had booked a garden view room but actually our rooms jutted out and we had a beautiful view of the ocean. The rooms are understated but very comfortable . The turndown service leaves water and a small gift and message which we all loved. The pool area is well managed and staff set up your sun beds and bring round water and snacks. We only ate once at the beachside restaurant and it was ok. We ate out as there were so many good places nearby. We didn't want a big hotel breakfast so went to the local shop and ate on our balcony. We did a cultural tour of the hotel with one of the staff who was really informative. We booked a self drive car for the day as the hotel holds a number of rental cars on site. This was our favourite hotel of our holiday - beautiful, comfortable and well organised. There are a lot of Japanese weddings but this just added to the charm. This was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed at. It has the perfect location being in the middle of Waikiki but feeling restful and calm inside.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    316
    123
    42
    25
See reviews for
435
866
49
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a very lovely hotel that is in a wonderful location. The service was very good and we enjoyed the breakfast every morning. The service in the House without a key for breakfast was perfect. We had a wonderful meal at Orchids one night. We had an oceanfront diamond head room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have been staying at The Halekulani for 30 years--the facilities, the food, the service--and especially the location, are unsurpassed anywhere else in the world (and we've visited 47 other countries, and in even more hotels and resorts during that time).

They were new in 1984--and have kept updating ever since.

Room Tip: best--ocean view, but designed so that no rooms are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights at this hotel and enjoyed every minute. The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle...an oasis. We booked a Ocean Front Diamond Head room and located on the 16th floor. The views are glorious. The room was very large and included a desk and chair, small sofa and table and a reading lamp. The tv is very large and the picture was perfect. The small fridge is refilled every day with water. Everyday you will find a local newspaper hanging on your door. Each night we received a small magnet with the orchid logo on it accompanied by note. The tub is separate from the glass enclosed shower and the toilet is in a separate room with a door.

I had 2 minor problems with the room. The slatted doors covering the sliding glass doors did not block out the day light. I would rather not wake up at 6:00 am on vacation. The buttons for all the lights to come on and out of room notice stay lit.

The pool attendants were terrific. You just pick out your padded loungers and they covered them with terry cloth. At 2:00 pm the handed out delicious frozen treats. They were constantly filling the fruited water.

The valets are the front line of the hotel and are excellent. Very helpful with suggestions and directions. They always make sure to give you bottled water if you’re going out for a few hours.

The hotel gets major points from me for using fabric softener on all their towels. I was surprised the common areas (elevator & hallways) had no a/c.

I could not have picked a better hotel for our 1st visit to Oahu.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My friend, myself and our daughters had an opportunity to spend 3 nights at the Halekulani. It is quite honestly the most elegant and well-designed hotel ever. The rooms are slightly small and definitely built for 2, but they cram so many amenities in those rooms, that you almost don't notice the somewhat smaller space. All of the public spaces, restaurants, shops fit the elegant but non-pretentious feel of the hotel. It is high priced compared to other hotels nearby, but worth it for a few days for once in a lifetime pampering.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is an oasis on the crazy busy strip of Waikiki Beach. Once you step into the lobby, it is peaceful and beautiful. The service is excellent. Our room was a Diamond Suite, 7th floor, great view and very clean and spacious. Restaurants are wonderful, and its a good thing to be able to skip the crappy Cheesecake Factory and PF Changs options outside. The pool is great, and its a good thing because the only draw back is the lack of beach. The strip has plenty, but it is crowded and noisy. Not my thing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Halekulani truly lives up to its Hawaiian name - "house befitting heaven". From the moment you check in to the moment the valet staff wave you off, you truly feel like you've stayed in paradise. The hotel's service is truly exceptional - every staff member greets you by name and no detail is too small or insignificant. Every night, there was a surprise little gift with the turn down and bottled water is constantly replenished in the small in-room fridge. My husband and sons forgot their shaving toiletries so a whole week's supply, complimentary, was sent up to our rooms minutes after we asked about it. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed and SO clean. The bathrooms are supplied with just about everything you would need on vacation. The pool area is beautiful and around noon everyday, staff come around with complimentary nibbles for all guests lounging in the pool area. There is also a larger cooler of flavored water and sunscreen for the guests. The location is perfect and everything seems within walking distance. We also booked surfing lessons through the hotel with the Ty Gurney Surf school. The instructors waited for my kids at the hotel's beach and started lessons right there. The Sunday brunch at the hotel's Orchids restaurant is one of the best we experienced, anywhere. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halekulani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.