We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Halekulani Hotel to your Saves list
Halekulani Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Phoenix
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Immaculate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great hotel. Everything, almost, you would want in a hotel: clean, beautiful grounds, great service, good restaurants....almost I said; if it had a lounge that was opened during the day to escape the sun for a cool one it would be perfect. Hint: if you're looking for a party hotel or a hotel with a swim up bar...this hotel is not for you. If you're looking for beautiful, clean and very classy hotel this one is for you. Get the package with the breakfast: you can eat at a great buffet, or have a traditional sit down service or have it in your room.

Room Tip: We had a room directly overlooking the pacific, alas those rooms are directly western facing. To ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    296
    116
    39
    24
See reviews for
416
801
46
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I chose 5 stars because it had all the things I love about a hotel: attention to detail, attention to me, super cleanliness, friendly & professional staff, no 'nickel-and-diming,' little extras that showed they were paying attention, little room amenities that weren't necessary but sure made the stay more pleasant. Things like, using my name, remembering I like tea v. coffee, little nightlights under the bedside tables, soft/clean smelling towels, water and ice replenished 2x/day, fruit in room, little tokens/gifts with each turndown, an incredibly clean smelling room after each housekeeping, snacks at the pool, music/hula dancers on the lawn in front of the ocean every night. I'm running out of space! The hotel is oriented so 90%+ of the rooms have an ocean view (I took the hotel historical tour and found that out. Do the tour! It's not corny. It really made the hotel and its history come alive. You'll be surprised!). It is an oasis in Wacky Waikiki. If you want a party all night hotel, stay somewhere else. They require resort wear but no one looked stuffy...just nice without sandy flip flops and teeny bathing suits in the restaurants. Private beach with a waikiki running through it, i.e. no coral to cut your feet on. Food was good. La Mer was overpriced and not as unique as I thought it would be. The open areas, breezeways, verandas were fabulous. You lounge at the hotel and then pop outside to do 'city' stuff. The best of both. Great help from the concierges. Finally, the view was breathtaking when the reception attendant walked us to our room and flung open the louver doors in the little foyer to reveal a gorgeous ocean view (12th floor, Pool View Room). The closet is between the bathroom and bedroom, and both doors open so you can be in the tub or shower and still see the view. Only thing I would change is to have a leisure bar that is open throughout the day and I would pick a more easterly facing room, as we had sun on our patio all afternoon. If you're looking for an oasis, attention to detail, beautiful surroundings, then stay here.

Room Tip: Get a view of the ocean. Southwest had sun on the lanai all afternoon. Get it if you are a morning p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

4th stay here although we haven't been back in years. I agree with the posters who say that the check-in process is more like a red roof inn outside of Indianapolis. Your car picks us up at the airport but the bell men and front desk still don't know our name? There's no one else around but we need to wait in the lobby? Where by the way? Not like it was before when you were greeted and escorted straight to your room.

Once in our room, which is fine but small, turns out they didn't leave enough towels, robes. Had to call about that. The phone was broken. Had to call about that. One day we got a paper. One day we didn't. One day we got more water in the fridge, one day we didn't. One day the bathroom floor wasn't cleaned so hair was left (hopefully ours) on it.

Really sloppy. We met some folks staying in the royal suite and their comment was one of being nickel and dimed. Wow.

The process of getting a chair etc at the pool needs attention. The pool guys need to be more visible, helpful and welcoming.

The good things? Mai tais at house without a key. The band.

We used to talk about how great it would be to finally come back .. We'll look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had visited Maui before coming to Honolulu and our ride from the airport to Waikiki made us think we should have stayed in Maui. The traffic, number of tourists, and number of high rise buildings gave us doubts about how our stay would be-----but then we arrived at the Halekulani and everything changed.It was like stepping into another world, one of peace, quiet, and beauty.

The hotel and its' five acres of paradise along with a staff of individuals intent on making our stay everything it should be at a five star hotel completely took away our fears of making a mistake by coming to Waikiki. Our stay was so enjoyable that we wished our stay could be extended.

All of the staff were wonderful, but Frank the concierge was just outstanding and his efforts made our stay a little more special.

Room Tip: Request a room with a DIAMOND HEAD view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

After spending three weeks in the Hawaiian Islands, we decided to cap off the honeymoon with 2 nights at Halekulani. We had heard that Waikiki was a bit of a circus, and not worth spending too much time there...and we were seriously sad that we didnt have more time to enjoy it!!

The area is bustling and full of fun things to do. After spending all that time in remote romantic quiet areas, we really enjoyed the change of pace.

As for the hotel itself, we were very happy here. We were upgraded to a diamond head view room, which had a nice big balcony and the aforementioned view. There was an exotic fruit plate and a bottle of champagne in the room waiting for us, as well as little chocolates and other treats and a nice congratulatory note on our wedding.

The decor was simple and modern, mostly white with some blue accents in the bathroom. The grounds were lovely, with lots of different dining options in the hotel and nearby. We loved Orchids, that was really spectacular. We also did the tasting menu at La Mer...and though it was really great as well, it was a lot of food and we kind of ran out of steam toward the end. The staff was kind enough to send our dessert course and the wine pairing up to our room so we could enjoy it there. That was a wonderful touch.

Breakfast at Orchids was better than the buffet at House without a Key, we thought. We ordered the American Breakfast and the Japanese breakfast [just to mix it up]...and the Japanese one was mostly too off the wall for us at that time of the morning, haha.

The pool area was lovely, and we weren't too bothered about the lack of beach. The beaches are filled with families and loud nonsense, and the pool was quiet and relaxed and private. They also served the absolute best mai tai i had on the entire hawaii trip! That's saying a lot, since we were on 4 islands at a Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, St Regis, etc...all the best spots did not compare to this mai tai! Plus it was presented really nicely with a little orchid in the glass.

The only complaint we have is the housekeeping...we were only there 2 nights, but each time the staff came in to "clean", they left half-eaten plates of food, day-old glasses of wine [with only a sip or two left in them], and just placed napkins or paper coasters on top as if we were going to come back from our day out and savor that last sip of old red wine. It was really strange. If we had been out on the beach dragging sand into the room, we wondered if that would have been left behind as well.

There were very few children there [SCORE!] and it had a very adult, romantic vibe.

Overall, we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Picking an "ocean view" room is lovely enough...not sure its worth it to splurge on the &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is truly wonderful, the staff are amazing and definitely go the extra mile. Honestly we couldn't be happier with our stay.

Our room was clean nicely decorated and the balcony was pretty large with a fantastic view. The grounds are tranquil, and maliciously manicured. Breakfast had everything you could want and more. It was delicious....

Again the service was incredible, the staff spoil you. Everyone was always cheerful, polite and helpful... I mean everyone treated us that way. Especially housekeeping, I was so impressed with how well they cleaned our room and their attention to detail.

The only thing I wish Halekulani Hotel would change is to heat the pool more. They say it's heated, but honestly it was pretty cold swimming in it. It's a beautiful pool though...

To all the staff at the Halekulani Hotel, thank you for the wonderful stay, I never wanted to leave!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Don't get me wrong. This is a beautiful hotel, yes, and I was very happy to be there. BUT, for what you pay, I'm not sure... You can probably find an hotel very similar for much cheaper.

Rooms.. The rooms are very simple.. No decoration.. Old stuff in the room.. just nothing special. No coffee machine or hot tea maker in the room either..! They want you to order room service or wait for breakfast at 7am. You have a small balcony and water bottles (free) in the room, which is nice. No minibar.

Location.. If you like to be in town, hearing the cars, seeing a lot of people, and having a lot of things going on, you will like the location. If you prefer a peaceful and more serene place, you may want to change island haha. Its very busy here. Very touristic. One thing that is very beautiful is that you can see Diamond's head from the hotel! (You can also go hike it, which is gorgeous from the top!)

Beach.. There is not really a beach in front of the hotel, which I thought was disappointing. You have to walk (mainly on your left side) to go to a nicer, longer beach.. Its very busy.. Lots of family as well. You can do paddle boards and other activities which is nice. The waves aren't very big. If you want to see big waves, you have to go to another beach.

Food.. very disappointing. It's very expensive for what you get, and it's good but not excellent. I can make better food at home (seriously)! Room service.. Very small menu. Couldn't find anything I like. Room service taxes and charge is very high. Breakfast buffet, however, is really nice. It opens at 7am. You have fresh fruits, cheese, eggs, waffles, croissant, japanese foods, salads, smoked salmon, etc.

Pool.. Nice but very simple, nothing special. Its an oval pool (not very big) with no view of the ocean.

Spa is nice but not that great. Very expensive for what you get. My massage was fine but not excellent.. They don't get you a robe or anything.. They just make you go straight to the room.. You get a tea after your treatment while waiting outside, which was nice. A 50 min Swedish massage cost 175$. It includes a mini feet ritual (~5 min). Prices are not on the spa menu in the room. You have to call.

Service.. Good service. Very polite and friendly people!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halekulani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.