We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-end "boutique" hotel in "quiet" part of Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Halekulani Hotel to your Saves list
Halekulani Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunrise Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“High-end "boutique" hotel in "quiet" part of Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Top notch service, accommodations, amenities.

Smaller gem in the shadows of the behemoth neighboring hotels.

During our stay, surprised to find nearly 90% guests were Japanese, very few Americans.

Asian breakfast buffet delightful.

Spotty, but free, wifi in rooms.

Suites and bathrooms are divided by interior shutters, not solid walls.

Small crowded beach, especially when tide is high.

Walk to shops, dining, other hotels, and main beach.

Fun hustle and bustle of Waikiki.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    333
    128
    43
    26
See reviews for
472
912
51
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and it's met all of my expectations. Location is bang on the beach with a lovely big pool, staff are friendly and attentive, our room and lanai was very comfortable with unobstructed ocean views. Loved the little things, like fresh fruit, chocolates and MP3 player which made our stay all the more perfect. Highly recommended, I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 7 nights at this gorgeous beachside hotel and recommend it highly.

The service is excellent, plenty of options for eating and the pool area is both relaxing and by Waikiki beach standards is relatively large and comfortable. As the hotel is at the beginning of the beach strip passing pedestrian traffic is not nearly as noticeable as other Waikiki beaches which makes the resort more secluded and peaceful.

We had a room with one of the best views on the strip encompassing the entire beach looking towards Diamond Head. To step out each morning to see this view was magical. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom large allowing two people to move around with ease.

We had a lovely stay and we will be recommending the Halekulani to all others who are visiting Honolulu.

Room Tip: Request an upper room in the tower furthest away from reception that faces Diamond Head. You may hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had been dining at La Mer, the signature restaurant at the Halekulani, since it opened, but had never stayed there. This was our second trip, and like the first, was a nice piece of "paradise."

Though only having stayed on the property once, they had our portfolio at the ready, and knew our likes and dislikes. The FOH staff was excellent, as before, but now, we were treated like `ohana (family). Though I recognized a very few from our trip, the year before, it seemed that everyone knew our names, and addressed us on every occasion. This was from the housekeeping staff, to the various restaurants. I had come to expect that from the La Mer staff, as we have dined there so many times, over the years, but even the hostess at Orchids, for breakfast, knew who we were. That amazed me, but it provoked a very warm feeling - like being part of their "family."

Now, the property is lovely, and tucked away from most of what one thinks of, when the location Waikiki is mentioned. It is in the middle of everything, but, at the same time, a world away. I often cite the term/expression/feeling of "Island Time," but Halekulani personifies that term. It is both casual, and elegant. Grand, but homey. Definitely a luxury resort, but feeling rather like home. In short, a wonderful combination of attributes, and some that seem almost to be paradoxes. The best of many worlds.

Our first room was a suite, overlooking the Pacific, with a lovely lanai. This time, we were in the interior of the property, right over the spa, with a more "distant" view of the ocean, but lovely, in its own right. It was large, well-appointed, very comfortable and quite, though opening onto an interior courtyard.

The staff is very attentive and does a great job of anticipating a guest's needs.

Dining is fabulous, starting with either the breakfast buffet, or a full menu at Orchids. The Sunday Brunch at Orchids is not to be missed. This is a "dress up" brunch, and a jacket for a gentleman, while not required, will not be out character. The ladies don their hats, and some their gloves. Children wear nice dresses and blazers plus ties. They are not out of place.

La Mer is the signature restaurant, and is perhaps the ultimate fine-dining experience on O`ahu. The cuisine is a combination of Hawai`ian and classic French, and the wine list is fantastic, and has world-class depth. Until recently with The Vintage Cave, it was the finest in all of Hawai`i. It is also one of the most expensive restaurants on O`ahu.

Orchids is only a small step down. It's open for breakfast (full menu), lunch, Sunday Brunch, and dinner.

Then, there is HWAK (House Without a Key), that has a great pool patio, with drinks, wines, pu`pus and some of the best live Hawai`ian performances anywhere - La Mer has a few tables that overlook the stage.

Halekulani truly lives up to its name - "House Befitting Heaven"

Not inexpensive, but worth every $.

Room Tip: There were two breakfast options for us - Orchids with a full menu, and then HWAK with a buffet. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a very nice hotel - very formal for Hawaii and very traditional. The good: Balconies off the rooms, nice pool (small), good security, nice breakfast buffet, small but okay beach, central location, clean and comfortable, staff is okay - hit and miss. The hotel attracts mainly people from Australia and Japan - since we are neither sometimes I was asked in a friendly manner if I needed "help" from a security guard. Just made me laugh as we had 3 rooms in the hotel.
Cons: We never ate dinner in the nicer restaurants of the hotel as they require long pants (and jackets). When Roy's and Ruth Chris are a block away and Alan Wong's is a cab ride away why wear long pants in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Spend for the Diamond Head view - it is very stunning to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Halekulani for two weeks in March and it was a perfect stay. It is a charming oasis in the middle of Waikiki. The hotel is updated and luxurious, the grounds are gorgeous, the service is impeccable and we had a beautiful room overlooking Diamond Head. The hotel is at the end of Waikiki Beach so you have the benefit of the convenience of being in Waikiki without being right in the middle of all of the activity. It is expensive, but everything in Hawaii is expensive and this hotel is definitely worth the extra expense. I have absolutely nothing bad to stay about the hotel or our experience. I would highly recommend the Halekulani!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was here on business and hope to have the pleasure of staying again. Every aspect of my stay was perfect.
Check in was smooth and easy, I was escorted to my room and boy I was surprised that the view from my room was looking out over Waikiki toward Diamond Head.
The staff here are very well trained and they seem to love their jobs, they use your name everywhere you go.
The restaurants are unbelievable, not only for the great view and entertainment but the food is outstanding.
I love with out a Key for a more casual dinning experience and great local entertainment at night. The breakfast buffet was great.
Orchids was another great dinning experience
Then the highlight of the dinning experiences was L'Aperitif at La Mer, this is the best restaurant I have been to in a long time. A little formal for Hawaii but it should not stop you from going. They have a house made Vermouth that made a great cocktail.
I can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: Higher floor further out on the wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halekulani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.