We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Halekulani Hotel to your Saves list
Halekulani Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Daily Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Gloucester N.S.W.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in April. We received a free upgrade to an ocean view room on arrival. We had a room overlooking the pool and it was lovely. Sitting on the balcony enjoying the view and the music that is on each night near the pool. A great central location, walk to shopping, restaurants etc. Nothing was a problem to staff and all staff were friendly. It was a special birthday for me and our children arranged for a cake to be delivered and the motel also supplied a bottle of champers. As I said nothing was a problem for the staff to organise. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Halekulani.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool, has a view to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    291
    114
    39
    24
See reviews for
407
791
44
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived until we left, every second was perfect. The room was beautiful, the service impeccable. Easily the best hotel experience we have ever enjoyed. Love Hawaii, and will now always choose the Halekulani. Mahalo :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is lovely, and staying here does make you feel a bit like a celebrity it's location is great, right on the beach and near to all Wakiki has to offer.

The arrival at the hotel was a little disappointing for me. Considering what we paid I was expecting a bit more of a welcome than what we got. Also our room wasn't ready so we had a little while to wait which was frustrating as we had just travelled all the way from Australia and we hadn't slept!

Loved the breakfast everyday in such a gorgeous setting.

Room was great, really spacious and clean.

Make sure you book a table at Nobu across the street - absolutely divine Asian fusion restaurant. I wouldn't bother with roys it was greasy and nlot to our taste although it was recommended to us.

Afternoon tea is a must at orchids.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I try to visit Waikiki each year and have, over the years, stayed at several of the beachfront hotels there. By far and away, the best hotel in Waikiki is the Halekulani. We have visited it on several occasions. Our latest trip this month was as delightful as ever. I planned a surprise visit by my daughter and her partner from New York. A second room was booked in my name, and it was vital that my husband wasn't alerted to its existence. Although I had emailed the hotel to ask them not to disclose the surprise, I was naturally concerned that it would be spoilt. Not so, as the staff were primed by notes on their computer at check-in. This example is indicative of the Halekulani style - if you request something, they have the willingness and procedures in place to follow through. In addition, we were welcomed back to the Halekulani no less than three times before we were escorted to our room. Small, personal touches such as these not only make you feel extremely welcome, but build loyalty. During this visit, we had adjoining Diamond Head rooms on the tenth floor. They were perfect - well equipped, beautifully decorated, and with magnificent views! If at all possible, the hotel has improved since our last visit. Each staff member greets you when they see you around the hotel, the facilities are top-notch and the service at all restaurants and shops is exceptional. Food and drinks are also of a high quality. The pool staff are friendly and helpful and the pool area and grounds are exceptional. In short, this hotel is divine! My daughter and I treated ourselves to two spa treatments. The spa is delightful and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Although expensive by many standards, for a holiday treat, the spa treatments are worth every cent. All in all, I cannot fault the Halekulani, and greatly look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: Diamond Head rooms are exceptional, but we have also stayed in rooms overlooking the pool, looking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Halekulani is an oasis in busy Honolulu.
Note , we are in our 60"s so we are looking for quiet and quality the Halekulani was great.
All staff are excellent . We dined in House with no keys and Orchids , it is very nice to have the entertainment with the background of the beach in the evening while dining
The only negative I found , and it is all over Hawaii is the cost of wine with a meal. You can buy a nice bottle at an ABC shop for the cost of a glass in some restaurants

Room Tip: we went for a lower cost option of a garden view room and were pleasantly surprised
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at The Halekulani in May to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. This is the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed at. Our room was on the 14th floor, and our view was just magnificient, looking out directly at Diamond Head. We had champagne & fruit waiting for us in the room, and the hotel staff is fantastic, they treat you like royalty! Our anniversary dinner was at La Mar, and it was beyond all expectations. The food was great, and staff was so warm & friendly to us. I can't say enough good things about this place, it was a great vacation, and I hope that we can celebrate our 50th there. If you are going to Oahu, this is the place to stay! Well worth the money! Loved our time at the Halekulani !!!!

Room Tip: Loved having the view of Diamond Head & the ocean! Fantastic experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We travel extensively to all parts of the world and stay exclusively in 4+ and 5 star hotels. The hotel is beautiful, the grounds are lovely, the pool is nice, the room (ocean facing) is really very spacious and attractive and the hotel location is perfect. While the hotel is right on the ocean, it doesn't have much of a beach of it's own to sit on but the beach on either side of the property is so easy to access that it really is not an issue....and you have to pay for chairs and umbrellas no matter where you stay or what section of the beach you use.

The thing that sets this hotel apart from so many others is the staff. Without exception they were friendly, helpful and obviously very well trained. They simply couldn't do enough for you. That was our takeaway....and that to us is extremely important.

When we return to Waikiki, this will be our hotel of choice...no question about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halekulani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.