We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Halekulani Hotel to your Saves list
Halekulani Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Daily Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is by far one of my favorite resorts. My husband got us a suite for my graduation, it was absolutely amazing. The service was great, restaurant and bar was good, the room was huge and extremely clean. I would love to stay here again. The room was pricey, but totally worth it. This resort is a must stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    292
    114
    39
    24
See reviews for
407
792
44
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great for couples - didn't see too many kids. Pool isn't great for kids - Families with kids should stay next door but if you want quiet and romance, stay here.
Complimentary coffee every morning was delicious - they don't go cheap here, they go all out and that's what I appreciated. But again, remember, this place is quiet!

Room Tip: Go next door to Outrigger Reef for the kids activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is really a fine hotel in every way. The rooms are extremely well thought out and beautifully decorated. They pay attention to small details like putting your TV remotes in a fake book by the beds so as not to detract from the decor.
Everyone we passed- no matter what their job- smiled and greeted us and seemed genuinely happy to have you as their guest.
The restaurants are amazingly good. Great service, food and ambiance. Call prior to your stay and reserve a table for Orchid's and request a table on the patio 30-45 minutes before sunset and experience a beautiful Hawaian sunset to make the meal really special.
I can't say anything wrong about the hotel, but the prices ARE high. We paid $780.00 +++/ night for a Diamond Head ocean view room. Not sure I would pay that again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our Hawaiian holiday. Excellent location for the buzz of Waikikki, great access to the beach and shops. Fantastic room and views and loved its history. Particularly enjoyed the cocktail party and the jazz club.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Elegant, classy hotel. Room are nice, but nothing special (we had ocean view on 12th floor). Pool is lovely. No beach chairs. Breakfast included and very good. Restaurants a tad stuffy. Not sure we'd return. Bed was nowhere near quality of Four Seasons or a Westin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles City, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a 3 night stay. The staff in every area of this lovely hotel were outstanding. Susan, the concierge was extremely helpful finding us a rental car and surfing lessons. We were forgotten during our meal at La Mer, and Steven, the manager of the restaurant, was apologetic and accommodating to the point that our meal for the next night was free. The rooms were well appointed, but I don't think the extra cost for the upgrade to ocean view was worth it. Mostly we saw the top of the restaurant. We ate all our meals on property including the breakfast buffet-the birds were a nuisance, however. Happy Hour on the lawn with the Hawaiian music was absolutely lovely. This is where we will stay for every trip to Oahu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What an wonderful stay! I enjoyed every minute of it and really, almost opted to stay a few days more. The staff there was ready and welcoming when I arrived almost at midnight! They probably could tell I was tired and hungry because they immediately assisted with my bags and asked if the could assist me in getting something to eat. I appreciated that thought and immediate offer to accommodate me.

For the remainder of my stay, I was in complete relaxation because of the facilities, the location and especially the staff. They really are willing to do what you need and are so super friendly doing it. It was always nice to come back to my room to relax after a busy or just from sitting out on the sand. I liked that where I was staying was away from the fast pace of the tourists and everything in Honolulu.

I will most definitely stay here when I return this year!

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. My suite was on the lower level so that I could have a lanai and walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halekulani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.