We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to get away from hectic Waikiki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Halekulani Hotel to your Saves list
Halekulani Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunrise Breakfast Package
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The perfect place to get away from hectic Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Halekulani is like no other hotel in Waikiki. The entire resort feels seculded from the typical hustle and bustle of Waikiki and the other hotels. This is the place to stay if you are looking for a luxurious, serene stay in Waikiki. We have vacationed on Oahu every year since 2002 and have stayed in almost all of the beachfront hotels. From now on, we will save the extra money to stay here every time. It's work the premium.

The hotel is Honolulu timeless luxury at its finest and has defied the trendy-luxury concept found at the Trump or Modern. It is not a Maui super-luxury resort with tons of family and children's programs.

The bell/ valet staff were attentive and prompt. Most imporantly though, they were professionals. They greeted us promptly, welcomed us to the hotel and escorted us to check-in and made us feel like our luggage was in good hands.

While check-in was is efficient , it is a little clunky. In theory, check-in is handled in the room which makes sense to reduce the time standing in line and waiting to get to the room. In practice though, I handed off my credit card, confirmed my dates, and really checked-in at reception. I expected to handle this entire transaction in the room, but instead the in-room check in is really more of a hotel orientation and the only check-in activity is signing the room charge receipt. It does give a good reason to send us up to the room with a member of the staff to point out the hotel and room amenities though.

We stayed in the lowest price "garden" room. We were on the 5th floor which boasts extended lanais. From what we could tell, there really is not a bad room in the house. We stayed here once before in a Diamond Head view room and were interested to see what a lower priced category offered, even the garden view rooms have a view of the ocean from the lanai. The room was huge and comfortable. Bath amenities are well appointed, and bed and linens are luxury quality

We were here on a dual purpose business/ leisure trip. The hotel accomodates both very well. Wi-fi is speedy and easy to access anywhere in the hotel. The Living Room offers a perfect place to slave away at work in an environment that is much more pleasing than an office.

The pool area is the daytime highlight of the hotel. The pool area is beautiful and lounge chairs are comfortable. My only issue during this stay is the pool service waiter kept coming through yelling "Drinks" like we were at a ballpark. Please Halekulani, a little re-training in luxury service
for your staff.

Some people complain about the adjacent beach. I think it is perfect for the size of the hotel. The sand is better, and the traffic is much less. If you don't like the size, DeRussey beach is a 5 minute walk to the right and the main Waikiki strip is 5 minutes to the left.

Room Tip: Iconic view rooms are the Diamond Head Ocean but there isn't a bad room in the place. 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    325
    123
    42
    25
See reviews for
443
877
49
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Our disappointing experience started at check in when, after registering, we were directed to a tiny bench barely big enough for two people to sit and told to wait for someone to escort us to our room. After 10 minutes i went back to the desk and asked if we could just have our room key. Nope. We had to wait for everyone else in line to check in before one of the reception staff was finally free to take us to our room. The rest of the hotel services followed the same pattern. Very poor poolside drink service. Very bothersome housekeeping service who knocked on the door early each morning despite the "do not disturb light". Turn down service was attempted at 5:45pm each day. I asked that they return at 8 when we would be at dinner and they never returned...on any day. We've had more courteous service at much less expensive hotels. The Halekulani has the best views on Waikiki but you can enjoy a drink at Sunset without staying at the hotel. It is very unlikely that wr will return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stunning hotel I would say the best on Waikii beach having looked round a couple of the other 5* properties there. Room was spotless and pool area lovely. Quite a small boutique type feel to the hotel which was nice compared to some of the bigger resort style propoerties located inthis area. Ate at Orchids and food was very good quality. Sunset drinks in the evening watching the entertainement/dancing was a great experience. Would definately recommend this hotel for couples looknig for a luxury upscale hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you are familiar with the philosophy of wellness and balance at Canyon Ranch in Tucson, AZ, you'll find the same care here. The practitioners are superb. The Spa Halekulani is hands "on" the BEST spa for massage, facials, manicures, and hair in Hawaii. Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: I thought I had "seen it all" in the world of luxury hotel rooms. The Orchid Suite has a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of January. I do not find that any hotel in Hawaii compares to the elegance and service of certain five-star luxury hotels in Europe and Asia. But the Halekulani would qualify for me as the best offering in the state of Hawaii.

We reserved this through a travel agency signature hotel package that included free breakfast buffet and a guaranteed upgrade from a paid oceanview room to an oceanfront room. Our room was on the 7th floor (I believe out of 15 floors) with a direct view over the ocean from our balcony.

The room is advertised as 522 ft. This includes a generously sized bathroom with separate bathtub and shower as well as separate toilet room. The bathroom only has one sink (a little drawback) but one wall is actually the closet doors, mirrors from top to bottom, which as woman I found very nice.

Aside from really nice rooms and amazing views, another real advantage to staying here is that it is a much more quiet property than others I know in Waikiki. It was a stark contrast to the Royal Hawaiian where we stayed one night earlier in the month, which is much busier and more crowded.

The TV is high quality, which may sound strange but not all flat screen TVs in luxury hotels have excellent picture resolution.

I found it strange though that for a luxury hotel that includes a Blue-Ray DVD player in each room, there is no DVD library available. (In one luxury hotel from the Peninsula Hotels properties, the concierge faxed me a list of available DVDs for their hotel).

The room is definitely very comfortable though seemed a bit small for 2 people--I will splurge for a least a junior suite next time.

The food quality is overall excellent as is the service.

The location is also excellent, literally a block from all the great shopping in Waikiki.

The WIFI was very spotty though and not usually available in the public areas--only in our room.

I would advise staying here if, like me, you value being in a quieter property with excellent ocean views, excellent service and closest proximity to the most expensive stores in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times and it always feels like home. The staff is extremely friendly and cordial. The rooms have special amenities with a surprise gift every day. The bathrooms are luxurious and equipped with all you would possibly need. Beds are super comfortable. Orchids and La Mer are excellent and the Hula Show at House without a Key during sunset is worthwhile. Lewers Lounge is quite romantic with great jazz. There is everything to like at this very special hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am writing this review and frankly I must admit not being a fan of Hawaii. Flying that far we much prefer to find ourselves immersed in exotic destinations, where there is a mix of cultural difference, white sand, turquoise water, pristine ocean views and close to nobody in sight.

Halekulani is all the opposite. It is a huge concrete building right downtown in the buzz of Honolulu. It's like being in a large convention hotel thinking that we're on the beach and trying to feel somewhat exotic, but being right on Fifth Avenue in New York in the busiest parts of the avenue.

The hotel is vast and rooms are spacious. Expect to pay for them, it's not cheap. But if you go, make sure that you ask for a photo of the view from the room or suite. We had a suite on the 5th floor and our view was great, overlooking Waikiki beach and the volcano. But we had family in the same expensive suite on the 3rd floor and they could only see pipes and flat industrial roof top from other parts of the hotel. The 2 extra floors made a huge difference. I would ask for the 7th or 8th floor even. You may almost feel alone from your balcony!

If you like it busy, you are always a step outside and right into the shops and very busy surroundings. But you will see that the hotel itself is busy. It is filled with Japanese visitors who obviously do not like to be in the sun too much, so they walk on the beach fully dressed and often with "floaties" even inflatable "Ducks" perhaps because they can't swim. And the beach at the Halekulani is unbelievably tiny! You get a very tiny spot of sand and there is a lot of traffic.

In front of the hotel there is a Surf Shop. We did take surf lessons, everybody from our oldest 23 year old boy to our youngest 10 year old daughter. They are remarkable. The instructors are absolutely fantastic. They cared so much about us having fun and being safe it was exceptional. And the waves there are exceptional. The water is warm, the waves are smooth and between them there is no wind, no ripple, everything is relaxed and smooth. We all were able very quickly to ride the waves and frankly we would have never stopped!

We went again and again and took all the video and photo shoots that the surf shop offered us and they are so memorable! If we ever return to Honolulu we would go back to Halekulani because while not exotic it was very comfortable and the driver for us would be to go surfing with these guys again. We tried surfing elsewhere in the Maldives, in Maui, etc... but we never had so much fun and were never able to surf the waves the way we did there. We are thinking of going to Japan and perhaps stopping there along the way for 3 days or so just for that... and maybe to play golf again because the golf in Honolulu, especially the ones close to the scenic mountains where LOST was filmed, are simply amazing. The photos from there are just unreal.

So Halekulani is not exotic, but its a comfortable place with access to world best surfing for the entire family, lots of shops and dining options, superb golfs and some nice trekking tracks as well.

Enjoy it, but ask for a high floor and a photo of the view from the room you are booking, very important!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and insist on seeing a photo of the view from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halekulani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.