We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel All Round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Halekulani Hotel to your Saves list
Halekulani Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Daily Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel All Round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

My husband and I started off our Honeymoon with a 3 day stay at the Halekulani. We were told by our driver that Halekulani means "House Befitting Heaven"... and the hotel lived up to its name. The staff if very friendly and attentive. As soon as we arrived, we were whisked up to our room for an in-room check in (no waiting in line or long check in process before finally getting to your room). Since it was our honeymoon the management left a large fruit plate with a bottle of champagne and a hand written note welcoming us, in the room. A very nice touch.

The room had a beautiful view of the ocean with a nice sized balcony. The Bathroom was huge, with a sink, vanity, and separate soaking tub and shower. All of the amenities and linens (bed, bath, robes) were plush. The room had a refrigerator that was stocked twice daily with complimentary water. The rooms were cleaned not once, but twice a day. In the early part of the day housekeeping would come and do a full cleaning of the room, in the early evening while we were out to dinner they would come back and turn down the sheets, straighten up the room if it needed, and change any wet towels we had. Each night we would come back to find a new little gift on our bed (a sea shell with a poem, truffles another night with a "house" recipe, a cute key chain with hand carved mini flip-flops). The breakfast buffet had something for everyone: standard "American Breakfast" options like pancakes, eggs, baked pastries, coffee & tea; Japanese options like seaweed salad, miso soup, & sashimi, and local Hawaiian fruits and recipes. Plus, every morning they would also set up a coffee station in the lobby so that you could grab a coffee to go. The service during breakfast was top notch. Our waiter made sure to go above and beyond to make sure we were happy.

The hotel is centrally located in Waikiki walking distance to a number of restaurants, shops, and other hotels. It rained one day while we were there and the hotel staff put out bins with umbrellas throughout the hotel for the guests to take and use. The beach directly in front of the hotel is small, but you can easily walk down the beach to a bigger area a few feet away. The pool was very nice...and again, we got great service by the pool.

The spa offered a great selection of services and their staff was attentive and very professional. Whenever we vacation, the spa is a must for us, and the Halekulani's did not disappoint.

The business center was great as well. Large, with a number of computers so you don't have to wait, and an attendant on hand in case you require any assistance. It also had its own bar containing coffee, tea, juice, water, and soda, and couches and televisions where you could sit and read a book.

There may be bigger or more modern hotels in the area, but I would find it hard to believe that there is any place with better attention to detail and service than the Halekulani. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor for the best Ocean View. Lower rooms may have a view partially blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    296
    116
    39
    24
See reviews for
416
800
46
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Well, this review isnt of a recent stay but we had our wedding here back in 2010 and we couldnt be more happy with our choice. Everything was great, from working with the wedding coordinators, banquet and hotel staff, the service was 5 star all the way. If you are considering having your wedding in Waikiki, Halekulani is the place to be. When taking all the costs involved you may think Halekulani is way over the top, but you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We recently travelled to Honolulu with our 2 children 17 and 19 and after much research chose the Halekulani. We did not go wrong in anyway. The hotel is located in the heart of Waikiki - great for shopping and dining with easy access to all Waikiki has to offer yet quiet and elegant once inside the hotels grounds. The service is outstanding from reception to concierge, restaurant staff, maid service etc - nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile. We stayed in the rooms that are yet to be refurbished but they are extremely well maintained and well appointed. The stand alone shower was the strongest we had on our trip. The convenience of outer connecting rooms (rather than interconnecting) is great for families and the view overlooking the Ocean and Diamond Head was worth the splurge. Breakfast was included in our package rate and we ate daily at House Without a Key overlooking the ocean - a beautiful setting and a great buffet breakfast. The beach area in front of the hotel is very small - there isnt enough room to sit on the sand but the hotel's pool overlooking the ocean is lovely and one of the largest in Waikiki.
We can't wait to return to this hotel - heaven in Honolulu.

Room Tip: Diamond Head Ocean View rooms, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

There is not another hotel in Hawaii that I have found which compares to the Halekulani, in all ways, excellent views, beautiful and well-appointed rooms, excellent service, great dining and room service, and one of the most fabulous spas I have ever been to. You have to try the coconut-scented massage oil...it is sublime!

You must have dinner at La Mer, and the breakfast buffet beachside!

Room Tip: In my opinion, the higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I recently returned to Halekulani for a 14 night holiday, and it was absolute heaven. The staff are exceptional, they are what really make this hotel stand out from the rest. Every single staff member who greeted us the night we checked in welcomed us "home".

We visited Halekulani for the first time in July/August 2011 for a 10 night stay, and we were so blown away, we decided to return for our fortnight holiday in January.

The hotel is undergoing a renovation project at the moment, so there were a few teams of builders on-site, but they were so discrete that you did not notice them. The rooms have been very tastefully re-fitted with updated furniture and outdoor furniture that at first glance you do not notice the changes.

The huge wide screen tv is excellent.

The wardrobe can be accessed from both the room and the bathroom, so you are able to have both doors open and have a lovely sea view from the bathroom! The in-house toiletries are nothing fancy but worked a treat.

We received a hand written note from Gerald Glennon the General Manager welcoming us back, that was tucked into a lovely floral arrangement in our room upon our arrival, alongside 2 papaya halves, with fresh lime. A cheese board and a bottle of their house red wine was also left for us. The wine was delicious!

The nightly entertainment is enchanting, and the musical men even provide a sunset countdown for you, and take the time to point out the green flash.

We dined at all the hotel restaurants, and returned to Orchid's no less than 6 times for their Onaga "Orchid's Style" dish that has been on their menu for 20 years.

We will be counting the sleeps until we can return to Halekulani and count ourselves exceptionally lucky to be able to have this fabulous hotel as part of our life now.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My stay at Halekulani this past January 2012 was suberb! The service is top notch (such as what you can expect from a Four Seasons), the food was delicious, and the room was maintained impeccably without any disturband on your privacy or time (they clean it twice a day and leave you little gifts each night that are truly nice keep sakes). I hope to stay at one of their suites on day on an anniversary in the future. Using whatahotel.com to book my stay was hugely beneficial as well as a tip. They were able to get me an upgrade, daily brunch (and this is no normal brunch - one of the best on the island) daily and free parking for my stay for the same price as one room category below. This was such a treat since it was my Baby Moon!

Room Tip: Ocean front is beautiful - use whatahotel.com!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I've been to the Halekulani seven times in the last 11 years and it does not disappoint. Relaxing is not a word that you associate with Waikiki, but the moment you set foot in the open air lobby of this fine resort, there is an immediate sense of peace and calm. This won't necessarily be to everyone's liking. The decor, the floral arrangements, the rooms are all understated.

The service is wonderful, very quiet and discrete. The rooms are very automated, and you can just press a button by a console on the bed table to signal your needs. The bathrooms are set up to double as dressing rooms and have separate shower stalls and baths. The rooms are a good size for Waikiki, and the suites (I had a Pool view suite) are very luxurious.

Food is really superlative, they have their own bakery on premises, so breakfast is particularly good. I've tried all of their restaurants except for La Mer, and they are first rate. In particular, House Without a Key is a great place for an informal meal.

While the hotel does not front a wide section of Waikiki beach, the pool, with its distinctive tiled Orchid bottom, is heated and usually not crowded.

There are two particularly special Halekulani experiences that I would recommend. One is to go the House Without a Key in the evening to see Kano'e Miller, a former Miss Hawaii, dance the Hula to the tunes of a live Hawaiian Band. The classiest act that you will see in Hawaii. The other is to order a Japanese breakfast and enjoy it on the terrace of your room. The breakfast consists of grilled fish, rice or rice porridge and pickled vegetables. It's a great alternative to an American breakfast and no other Hawaii hotel (not even the Four Seasons) does as it well.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room, and fall asleep to the sound of the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halekulani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.