We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Oxtail soup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asahi Grill

Asahi Grill
515 Ward Ave, Ste A, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4168 (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
808-593-2800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 1,983 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Go for the Oxtail soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Nice little neighborhood restaurant. It's known for it's oxtail soup, which is delicious. I ate there with people who had been there often and we all had the soup. The soup does not have noodles or a distinct flavor like the anise in pho. It's basic soup that comes with meaty oxtail bones and a side of rice. It's a good meal.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    61
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

This is a good place to eat at. Food is tasty and served hot. Oxtail & miso ramen is good. Hamburger steak is homemade and delicious. So is teri beef & chicken. Service is fast and pleasant. Nice, friendly people there. I would recommend this place. Local food and reasonably priced. Restaurant is clean.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Famous OX tail soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We decided to try their famous OX tail soup. I ordered a small one, but it was just enough for me. The taste reminded me Vietnamese Pho, so I wish they had rice noodle in it. It was tasty to try as it is, and also nice to try with soy source and mustard.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ox Tail just okay at Ashai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

No star anise and few veggies make it regular. Jack's in Aina Haina better with more flavor. I would go to Zippys but the food is the same.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oxtail Soup & Fried Rice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

If one enjoys oxtail soup, this is the only place to order it. The flavor has not changed even though name of the restaurant has changed a couple of times. As for the Fried Rice, it is always a great way to start a day in Hawaii.
All of the menu selections are a very good value and the service has always been excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asahi Grill also viewed

 

Been to Asahi Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asahi Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.