We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of those hole-in-the-wall places you dream about finding in a big tourist destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asahi Grill

Asahi Grill
515 Ward Ave, Ste A, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4168 (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
808-593-2800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #304 of 1,914 restaurants in Honolulu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Carmichael, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of those hole-in-the-wall places you dream about finding in a big tourist destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Two words... Oxtail Ramen. Awesome! The Asahi Grill is a little restaurant that most out-of-towners would never notice and I doubt it's in any guidebooks. Located just a few minutes from Waikiki, it's super clean, the staff is very friendly and the food there is simply great! Lots of stuff you're probably familiar with and many local foods too. From turkey with mashed potatoes and gravy, to loco moco and of course, their famous oxtail soup, everything we tried was delicious. My favorite by far, was the oxtail ramen. Have it with the fresh grated ginger and shoyu. So ono!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    15
    41
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Ox Tail soup in Honolulu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

They serve the best oxtail soup in Honolulu after the coffee shop at Kalihi Bowl was closed. Nice place to eat after landing in Honolulu. Make sure to order large size. You can finish it easily.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good lunch, worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

After arriving in Honolulu and checking in at the Pagoda Hotel during the noon hour, it was time for lunch! A local recommended the Asahi Grill across the street.
We ordered one of the daily specials, Adobo Chicken and Pork which came with 2 scoop rice and mac salad and the other order was the house special of the Oxtail Soup which came with a side of rice. The adobo was a healthy portion of meat, enough to take home half the order but since we were traveling, could not. So we ate it all - very tasty, just enough vinegar & shoyu and would order it again. The mac salad was okay, would have liked to see some potato in it. The oxtail soup was very good too. Ono! Served piping hot with lots of meat with a flavorful broth.
They have a large staff of workers so service & food was fast. The place very clean.
Places like this are a dime a dozen in Honolulu and each place has its speciality. It's fun to try them.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great cheap food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The oxtail soup was very good. We also had the kalbi, chicken curry katsu and we asked if they can make a spam and eggs fried rice. They did make it for us and everything was delicious. They was also karaoke, free entertainment i guess. The experience was good and fairly cheap.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainb0wtraveler
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Oxtail soup rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We went on a Saturday night at 7:30, parking was tight but we went around the block and found a stall right up front. Ordered the oxtail soup (12.95) which comes quickly and is hot and delicious! Friends ordered the fresh corned beef special - looked a little fatty, but they said it was tasty. You can also order broth only with rice for the oxtail soup - it is nice that they offer that option.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Asahi Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asahi Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.