We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ox Tail soup in Honolulu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asahi Grill

Asahi Grill
515 Ward Ave, Ste A, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4168 (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
808-593-2800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #202 of 1,830 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Ox Tail soup in Honolulu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

They serve the best oxtail soup in Honolulu after the coffee shop at Kalihi Bowl was closed. Nice place to eat after landing in Honolulu. Make sure to order large size. You can finish it easily.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    68
    18
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good lunch, worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

After arriving in Honolulu and checking in at the Pagoda Hotel during the noon hour, it was time for lunch! A local recommended the Asahi Grill across the street.
We ordered one of the daily specials, Adobo Chicken and Pork which came with 2 scoop rice and mac salad and the other order was the house special of the Oxtail Soup which came with a side of rice. The adobo was a healthy portion of meat, enough to take home half the order but since we were traveling, could not. So we ate it all - very tasty, just enough vinegar & shoyu and would order it again. The mac salad was okay, would have liked to see some potato in it. The oxtail soup was very good too. Ono! Served piping hot with lots of meat with a flavorful broth.
They have a large staff of workers so service & food was fast. The place very clean.
Places like this are a dime a dozen in Honolulu and each place has its speciality. It's fun to try them.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great cheap food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The oxtail soup was very good. We also had the kalbi, chicken curry katsu and we asked if they can make a spam and eggs fried rice. They did make it for us and everything was delicious. They was also karaoke, free entertainment i guess. The experience was good and fairly cheap.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainb0wtraveler
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Oxtail soup rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We went on a Saturday night at 7:30, parking was tight but we went around the block and found a stall right up front. Ordered the oxtail soup (12.95) which comes quickly and is hot and delicious! Friends ordered the fresh corned beef special - looked a little fatty, but they said it was tasty. You can also order broth only with rice for the oxtail soup - it is nice that they offer that option.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ono food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Excellent food! Love the hamburger steak and fried rice!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asahi Grill also viewed

 

Been to Asahi Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asahi Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.