We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asahi Grill

Asahi Grill
515 Ward Ave, Ste A, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4168 (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
808-593-2800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #309 of 1,917 restaurants in Honolulu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great cheap food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The oxtail soup was very good. We also had the kalbi, chicken curry katsu and we asked if they can make a spam and eggs fried rice. They did make it for us and everything was delicious. They was also karaoke, free entertainment i guess. The experience was good and fairly cheap.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    15
    41
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
rainb0wtraveler
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Oxtail soup rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We went on a Saturday night at 7:30, parking was tight but we went around the block and found a stall right up front. Ordered the oxtail soup (12.95) which comes quickly and is hot and delicious! Friends ordered the fresh corned beef special - looked a little fatty, but they said it was tasty. You can also order broth only with rice for the oxtail soup - it is nice that they offer that option.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ono food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 via mobile

Excellent food! Love the hamburger steak and fried rice!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Local favorite: Hawaiian grind (eats) w/ a Japanese persuasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We travel to Oahu every year and we've been eating here for years and have never been disappointed. The daily specials are always great but we always gravitate to the ox tail soup and baked short ribs. This is a Japanese restaurant that serves local Hawaiian grind (food) which is always fresh, tasty, and comforting. Tourists and locals frequent this small restaurant and all leave with a smile. The service is prompt but not always warm...they take your order, bring it hot w/ not too much chatter or smiles. The parking lot is very small for this size restaurant and the restrooms are outside through the parking lot. This restaurant is just off Ala Moana up from the Ward Factory Stores and ez to get to from Waikiki where we always stay.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome local diner with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Asahi Grill was recommended by one of the bellmen at our hotel - we were looking for local, casual. His recommendation was perfect. We would NEVER have found or stepped into this little restaurant and would have missed out on this gem. The Ahi Donburi bowl was delicious and the butterfish was unique and great. Don't expect too much help from the wait staff on what to order, but look around at other diners (no tourists there) and you'll figure it out.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Asahi Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asahi Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.