We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel at a budget price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2375 Ala Wai Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Budget hotel at a budget price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We just got back from a 7 night stay at this hotel.The price was reasonable and we got exactly what we paid for i.e. nothing fancy but suited our needs. The room was small but kept clean. The staff were always pleasant to us and very helpful. The breakfast was included but VERY limited in what it offered (toast and small amount of fruit-along with tea,coffee and juice which we supplemented with peanut butter and bananas from the nearby ABC store). The five minute walk to the beach was pleasant and the hotel hot tub was warm.We couldn't ask for more. One unpleasant thing happened outside the hotel on the street to an older gentleman pulling his small luggage (on its' rollers). A young jerk on a bicycle came up from behind and ripped the luggage from the man and kept on going. We couldn't catch up to the thief as he just sped up pulling the luggage along. This is not a reflection on the hotel,just a reminder to everyone to be careful-thieves are not on "vacation mode"

Room Tip: if given a choice choose a room NOT facing the street if you are a light sleeper. Every morning we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    364
    176
    49
    41
See reviews for
192
212
86
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

Located 3 blocks from beach and directly across the road from the river. We're quite happy with basic accommodation for a good price and quite central in Waikiki as we spend most our time at the beach or on day trips. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and there is free wifi on every floor. Plus there are washing machines and dryers downstairs so you can do your own laundry. Most days we swam at the beach but a few times we tried the pool (also clean) but could never get a lounge chair (people seem to save their spot with a towel and then disappear for a few hours...) I did read reviews before booking and noticed alot of complaints about the continental breakfast... yes it is basic but all I require is toast and coffee which I got, so if you want anything else, just go out for breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Having just one night in Honolulu we didn't want to pay huge dollars for a room so we found WSV for $100.00 per night. It is back towards the canel so not as busy. It does include a continental breakfast which we didn't go to so not sure how that was. The room was small ours was suppose to have 2 beds which it did but 1 was a single our other traveling partner had 2 doubles no queens at all.
They did give us use of the hospitality room as we had a late check out and there were computers to use and lazy boy chairs and 2 sofas which made it nice as it was raining most of the day and we were done wandering around.
The staff were friendly and polite and helpful.
The rooms were very basic no upgrades done in years but did us fine for 1 night but I wouldn't want to spend to many days there just to cramped.
Ok for a quick stop over.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This was my second stay at Sand Villa. It is located across the street from the Ala Wai Canal, great location for joggers/walkers. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to the beach. The hotel is clean and well kept, with a lovely pool area. The staff is friendly. They serve a free continental breakfast daily with toast, croissants, pineapple, coffee and pineapple juice. There is also a bar and grill in the lobby, with good food and friendly staff. Less than a block away are a large grocery store (Food Pantry) and an ABC store. Lots of restaurants, shopping, etc., in close walking distance. On both stays our room had a nice view of the canal, golf course, mountains, palm trees, etc., and there was a balcony with 2 chairs and a table. I would not hesitate to stay at Sand Villa again or to recommend it to friends, unless they were looking for a fancy hotel, were picky or wanting to spend more money. We met a lot of return guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We had read the reviews when choosing this hotel, so knew that it was a value priced place in a good location. We chose the upgrade studio because we wanted to be able to eat in some of the time. The studios are all situated so they over look the beautifully landscaped pool. We had an end unit with windows in 3 directions, so could look out to the hillside as well as pool. Lovely natural light. In the evening there was some of the best lighting we have had in a room ever. We like to read, and could easily do this either in bed, on the sofa, or at the kitchen table. The kitchenette was poorly supplied with one butter knife, 2 small serated knives, one fry pan and one large sauce pan, and no dish clothes or towels (we used the bathroom's). It did however have a toaster which was great for reheating the toast that is supplied for the minimal breakfast they serve. We did find that the place could have been cleaner, and we did wash the dishes, cutlery and pans prior to using them. The only other unpleasant feature is that the mattresses had plasticised protectors. Since we understand that hotels have to be careful about bed bugs these days, we understood why they did this, but it does make for less pleasant sleeping. The staff were cheerful and able to answer all questions. They sent a doorman up to the computer room to help us when I needed to print something, and couldn't figure out how to do this. I concur with all other reviews about the wonderful locale. We walked everywhere we wanted to go in Waikiki. We stayed 4 nights this time, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed at the Sands Villa for 4 nights in January and it was a great location for the price we paid.
We were on a budget and so not having to pay the high prices of the big hotels along the beach strip was very good for us. It was only a 5 minute walk to the beach and 20 minute walk to the zoo. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was adequate - seeing that it was free. You could have up to 4 pieces of toast, a croissant, a small pineapple cup, a glass of pineapple juice and coffee or tea. We would go down and get a tray and take our breakfast back to our room and sit on the lanai and watch the goings on down on the Ala Wai Blvd. Then we would head out for the day. Late afternoon at the pool was a welcome place from the heat and it was never crowded. Sometimes we were the only ones there.
I think for the price that you pay, this hotel was a great deal. The staff were very friendly and helped with anything you asked for. They went out of their way to help us when our airport shuttle bus was delayed, making phone calls to find out where they were and when they would be at the hotel to pick us up. I would stay at this hotel again if I were back in Waikiki.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

A hole in the wall.The Bar Staff is unfriendly to everyone except their druggie friends.If you feel comfortable in a shady atmosphere with shady characters and a rude bar staff, this is a cheap place with all the above.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Address: 2375 Ala Wai Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Sand Hotel
Hotel Waikiki Sand
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.