We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok overall - perfect location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Prince

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waikiki Prince to your Saves list
Waikiki Prince
2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off 7 night or more
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“It was ok overall - perfect location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The guy working at the reception was really nice, and helpful. The room was only ok... it needs a good paint job and maybe a little freshen up! The beds were comfy and the bathroom niceish! The shower was a little stained! Perfect location... Do not expect too much of this location (waikiki in general) For the price it was fine. The AC was loud and working on/off all the time but we had a little balcony which was nice! We also had a tiny kitchenette with a gas stone and a mini stove oven that had better days, but for a cheap budget its probably the best place around! I do recommand this place, but do not expect a luxury style room!

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    180
    60
    15
    12
See reviews for
60
168
94
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nasonworth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Waikiki Prince for 9 days in Aug, 2015. Great staff, friendly.. Room is very basic, but had everything you need. Didn't spend much time in the room, so if you are a family that likes to lounge around a pool at your hotel, this is not the hotel for you! There are very little amenities i.e. not even a phone in your room.. But it does have a full kitchen! Beach is 1 block away.. Everything is within walking distance.. Price was good.. parking is extra 20/night and make sure you book it with the room as they only have 4 spaces and they are usually always full..

Room Tip: The elevator only goes to the 5th floor and you have walk to the 6th floor.. Pick a lower floor if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

a very clean hotel which is very basic. location is superb. not a bad value for what you get. Don't expect a 5 star luxury hotel. It is basic and clean. hotel staff is very friendly. check in was fast. Make sure not to get a room on the 5th floor if you have lots of heavy luggage. the elevator only goes to the 4th floor and from there you have to take a flight of stairs

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikiprincehotel, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha matthijs 1234,
As you noted we are not a 5 star hotel nor do we try to be but I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We try hard to be better than average with clean rooms and enough comforts to get you to your next adventure with money in you pocket. Unfortunately our building was not allowed to have elevator service to the 6th floor due to some kind of zoning code back when it was built. So only 5 floors have service. One good thing was that our hotel was built on flat land so you don't have to go up stairs or a long ramp to access the hotel.
Mahalo,
Jason J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location only one block away from Waikiki. Nice and welcoming staffs. We even seen the Hawaiian Five O shooting next to us but the street was also blocked for this. In general, great location and safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikiprincehotel, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Iwen H,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I will let the staff know they did a great job. Yes we are blessed with a great location, but sometimes murderous drones fly around Waikiki and McGarrett and Danno have to shoot them down.

Mahalo,
Jason J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is centrally located in Waikiki and is only one block from the main beach. We were on the 4th floor and from our balcony we could see down the road to the beach.

We were only here for two nights as a stopover on our way to one of the other islands and it was better than expected. The beds were comfortable and the room well equipped with a reasonable kitchen. The room was air conditioned but the aircon was quite noisy. Good free WiFi.

Some other reviews mentioned cockroaches but we didn't see any.

The staff were very helpful, the receptionist even rang here grandma to see where my wife could get a part for her hearing aid which she lost on the plane.

A couple of downsides it is quite noisy with a lot of that being aircon fans from other rooms and street noise . Also we did not manage to get our TV working but that didn't worry us.

If you are looking for 5 star then this is not for you. If you are looking for low cost accommodation in the middle of everything for a couple of days then this is worth a try.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikiprincehotel, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Kiwiman 99,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The other islands have us beat for lack of noise and distractions. Waikiki is very densely packed, roughly as dense as Manhattan. On the flip side it does have many more activities than the other islands.
I am glad that you got to make use of our Kitchenette area and in-room wifi.
We just changed all our TV to HD flat screens with HD channels. I was able to fix the TV. I don't know why it did that but maybe was just a one off thing.
Mahalo,
Jason J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros:
Great location and awesome helpful staff
Lots of places to eat around hotel.
Gas fired oven and a microwave in the kitchenette help to stay within your budget.

Cons:
But the room is small, old, and smelly.
Very noisy, even with closed windows.


  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikiprincehotel, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Canadiantraveler802,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have a great location in Waikiki mainly because we are one of the older properties. Most of the newer properties are located near the west of Waikiki but usually cost many times more. I am not sure why it smelled but will look into it. For a more quite location I would suggest maybe a neighbor island as they are less populated.
Mahalo,
Jason J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Simple and good price, but you have to pay for parking. No luxury, just delivers the basical comforts. Nevertheless, great location! You can go to Waikiki beach just walking. It's really close. For people looking for good location for a good price!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikiprincehotel, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Min C,
We try very hard to be a very basic hotel in a location with many expensive hotels nearby. Our hotel cannot compete with the newer, bigger hotels so we offer a more basic rooms that are meant to get people ready for their adventures in Oahu. Parking is charged for the vast majority of hotels in Hawaii. Some might include it in their $20 plus mandatory "amenity/ resort fee" but we don't like to charge those sneaky fees.
Mahalo
Jason J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#55 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#66 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#12 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#26 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Waikiki Wave
Aqua Waikiki Wave
#50 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Prince

Address: 2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi, Free Coffee (brew your own) Area to print out boarding passes. All of our rooms have balconies, TV, Air Conditioning, a refrigerator,and microwave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waikiki Prince Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Prince Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.