We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Prince

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waikiki Prince to your Saves list
Waikiki Prince
2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off 7 night or more
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

So it's cheap for Waikiki standards and 2 block from the beach. The room was ok and relatively clean. The floor in the kitchen area and the table/benchtops were really sticky and I couldn't get them to feel clean at all. The location is really noisy but thankfully the air conditioner is even noisier so it drowns out the outside noises. We needed a cot for our toddler which they charged $10 a night for which I think was a bit steep.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    174
    57
    15
    11
See reviews for
55
164
94
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

OK. It's not the Royal Hawaiian. But you knew that when you book. The room does the job: you've got a bed, a shower, a fridge, aircon and Internet. Add in proximity to the beach and super-friendly staff and the Waikiki Prince is a winner.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was very clean with all that you might need like hair drier, micro, toaster, coffee maker, wifi, radio, tv.
The staff was nice specially Chardonney who was always helpful. She helped me to check out late and recommended a good sushi place.
I didn't have any problem with the cleaning service I got clean towels anytime.
Location is the best you have everything near.
The bathroom was clean too but needs to be up date and please change the toilet paper quality.
Definetly I'd stay here again. I had a great time in Hawaii. Mahalo!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

clean, great spot, secure, bed comfortable, It's not new, not fancy. Wifi is good, staff helpful. Second time I have stayed in six weeks. Air conditioner works great. Fridge small kitchen. Balcony faces the right direction

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For the price, you get what you would expect -- minus the service. We found them very unhelpful. We stayed 10 days and during the whole stay, no one came change our garbage, give us fresh towels, or change our sheets. The 10th day we asked to have an extra couple hours to checkout late and they said no and almost didn't give us a 10% discount that was promised for booking 10 days. It's not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikiprincehotel, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha kalenemsley,
I am sorry we did not provide the two cleaning during your stay. Our policy is that we should have cleaned your room twice. I look back at our records and see that it was only done once.

The seasonal 10% off promotion was presented on our website as a selection when you stay for more than 7 consecutive days. Right under the normal rate. While reviewing the online reservations we normally try to find when the guest does not select the best price or promotion and correct the error; we sometimes do not catch the error in time.

Check out time is at 11 am and late check out is normally not given. We have guests checking in and would like to be able to have those rooms ready by check in time which is at 2 pm. Guests may store their bags in the back of the lobby until their transportation arrives or 8 pm when our lobby closes.
Mahalo
Jason J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Waikiki Prince may not have all the bells and whistles of the nearby resort and high-rise hotels (it is truly an economy hotel - housekeeping only for guest staying a week or longer), but it is clean, the staff is friendly, and the location cannot be beaten (two blocks from Waikiki beach). The kitchen was convenient, the air conditioning worked, and the front desk was accommodating with the beach towels and the boogie boards.
This is a great place to stay when you want to spend most of your time (and money) out and about.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location. Late arrival, but resident manager immediately attended to us. Room a bit tight, has balcony. Easy walking distance to all Waikiki beach areas. Kitchenette available for use if need to make meals.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikiprincehotel, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Ronald M,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that your late check in went well with our resident manager Reese. Our rooms are a little cozy as they are all studios. The great thing about our location is that most people do not spend a lot of time in the room. As we have the beach, great food places, farmers market and a grocery store within walking distance. Waikiki and Oahu have many great activities for everyone. For the guest that utilize the kitchenettes, they have more money to spend on those fun activities.
Mahalo and I hope to see you again
Jason J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#55 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#12 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#66 of 82 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#25 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Waikiki Wave
Aqua Waikiki Wave
#49 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Prince

Address: 2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi, Free Coffee (brew your own) Area to print out boarding passes. All of our rooms have balconies, TV, Air Conditioning, a refrigerator,and microwave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waikiki Prince Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Prince Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.