We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economy Price, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Prince

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waikiki Prince to your Saves list
Waikiki Prince
2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
7 day or more save 10%
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
1 review
“Economy Price, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not fancy, not new, not big, no pool, clean, affordable, great location(very close to beach,stores etc.), friendly helpful staff, good basic accommodations! Would stay here again for sure. Ask the staff about no hassle transportation to the airport, they even printed our boarding passes for us.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    137
    42
    13
    10
See reviews for
35
127
72
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From the size and the way it is snuk in a small area, this has to be remincent of early days in Hawaii. It only has 27 rooms and just a tiny walk-in for checking in. You go back outside to get to the elevator or steps. We are a block or two from Waikiki beach and very close to all the shopping, beach bathers, buggy boarders, Zoo, etc. Location is very nice to circulate through the Wakiki experience. The young lady at the desk is extremely friendly and so willing to help you in anyway. The room is very tiny, free wi-fi, old age stove, sink, etc. It hasn't had any restoration in years if ever but it is very clean,also a microwave, small shower area, coffee, etc.and if not looking for upscale is a great place for a few nights. Nothing fancy but my keys for a short stay is cleanlyness and a good location. Pricewise for this area it rates excellent

Room Tip: Great price, very clean comfortable bed, within a few blocks of Waikiki beach and top notch shopping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you'd like to be 2 blocks from the beach while paying 1/3 of the rates at neighboring beachfront hotels like the Hyatt, Waikiki Prince is it. About the length of a football field walk and you're right at the Duke Kahanamoku statue at Waikiki beach.

Note: great location aside, this is a budget hotel. Don't expect the Mandarin Oriental when it comes to bedding, linens, and other amenities. But what you have is a very helpful front desk staff and free mat/towel rentals for the beach (they're so chill they don't even ask your room number when you check them out and when I asked when I had to return them by they just said leave them in my room). And surprisingly, this little hotel had the FASTEST WIFI (free) of any hotel I've ever stayed in, ever.

Sleep quality: I am knocking one star off the review for this reason. The hotel is adjacent to a small independent rental car lot that rents out Harley Davidsons. You'll HEAR the proof each morning while still hungover from the Mai Tais. Also the walls in the room are rather thin and I had the misfortune of staying in the room next to an elderly couple who I feel just discovered television for the first time after arriving on the island. Why someone would come to Hawaii to watch TV 24/7 in their room I don't know. I had to pound the wall to send a message as I could hear the infomercial blaring from their room at 4 in the morning.

Lastly, parking is very limited with only 5 spots (at $20/night) so be sure to request it as soon as you book. Also, I'll suggest you purchase damage insurance if you rent anything larger than a Honda Accord as the space to get in/get out is EXTREMELY TIGHT and the walls are painted with the remains of oversized rental cars from years past.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we are happy with the hotel. great location, very convenient to the beach, bus stop, restaurant and shops. Staff are very warm and friendly, willing to help. Room is cleaning, utensils in the mini kitchen are adequate. Good value for the price.
There were noises from the neighbourhood. However, it didn't bother us that much because we spent most time outdoors.

Room Tip: the room with mini kitchen is very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

You need to know what you're getting-- this isn't a luxury resort hotel, so it doesn't have fancy services (or, even maid service everyday). It's a basic, no frills hotel. But, it's secure, a block from the beach and in a convenient location in Waikiki close to lots of shops and restaurants. The rooms are clean and having the kitchenette (mini-fridge, stove, microwave, toaster, coffee maker included) is nice if you don't want to eat out every meal (I like a simple breakfast, so this was really nice). The staff is really nice and helpful-- and, they'll loan out beach towels or boogie boards. I've stayed in the resorts and here-- and I prefer this hotel. It's a great value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights at the hotel and it was a decent room with two beds and kichinette. One block from the Waikiki beach. The staff at reception were very nice and helpful. Great restaurants just in front. You can't be more central then this. Nice place for value

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night at the hotel and it was a decent tiny secure room. One block from the Waikiki beach. The staff at reception were very nice and helpful. They loan out beach chairs and boogie boards on a first come, first serve basis. The room (406) was tiny, but was clean and had a small secure deck. The kitchenette, if that is what you call a toaster oven microwave, sink and fridge, needs some upgrades, but it does the job. The bathroom was clean and the water was hot, which was appreciated.

This is a good value, in a great location, but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Prince

Address: 2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi, Free Coffee (brew your own) Area to print out boarding passes. All of our rooms have balconies, TV, Air Conditioning, a refrigerator,and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and Booking.com so you can book your Waikiki Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Prince Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Prince Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.