We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book here if you will have a late check-in” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Prince

Save Saved
You added Waikiki Prince to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waikiki Prince
2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
7 days or more save 15%
Ranked #43 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Macedon, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't book here if you will have a late check-in”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After booking this hotel, we advised them that our flight would not arrive until later in the evening, so we would require a late check-in. We arrived approximately 8:25 pm to find the door locked and a sign saying that office hours were 8 am to 8 pm. Another sign listed our name as a late check-in, and instructed us to ring the intercom or the cell phone number that was provided. We repeatedly tried the intercom and the cell number, but could not get any answer.

At 9 pm, we gave up and were lucky enough to get another room at a nearby hotel for that night. We left another message on the cell number provided by the Waikiki Prince telling them that we had to go to another hotel. At least it appears that the Waikiki Prince did not charge our credit card after failing to let us in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikiprincehotel, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Aloha Colleen017,
I am sorry to hear about this situation. Our intercom system generally works well, calling several different numbers to different people. The cell phone backup also should have worked just in case the intercom did not work. It would really help if you could send me your date of check in and your real name. I will check the cameras and call records to see what went wrong. You can respond to me directly at waikikiprincehotelgm@gmail.com
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    103
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
26
107
57
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short visit to Honolulu! They were very accommodating extending our check out time a few hours so we could enjoy the beach! Thanks Chardonnay!! She even went out of her way to verify our shuttle to the pier! Clean, safe budget hotel with a great location to Waikiki Beach!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikiprincehotel, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Aloha Vernnie,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I will let Chardonnay know she did a great job. Some shuttle companies don't know where we are, or don't think people know where they want to go. We are happy to have assist you on your way to your next adventure.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was excellent, next to the Waikiki Beach, bus stops, shops, restaurants etc. The rooms were clean and the area is very safe. Ours was a twin room, the second bed was not confortable. There was also a small kitchen.
The wifi was not working at all and this is an issue for me. The staff was very helpful but they could not do much.
Compared to other properties in the area, this hotel is quite cheap. If you want more services (better view, better room interior, reliable internet) look for something else.

Room Tip: Avoid the last flour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikiprincehotel, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Aloha Dawgette ,
Thank you for your review. We were trying to upgrade the system during your stay. The new system did not work to expectation and we went back to our old system. The previous system was working for the past 7 months without much problems. I will look into the bed issue. We changed out the majority of our beds in the past 6 months. The other beds are roughly 2-3 years old.
Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we first walked into our room, I thought, "Oh, no!" It was very dated and small. However, we decided to give it a chance. I'm glad we did because we had a great stay. It was very clean and there were no bugs any where. The room had AC, microwave, stove, sink, and a good size "small" refrig. The bathroom only had 1 sink and a small (but not too small) shower (no tub, but I didn't care). Free WiFi in the room. The area the hotel was in was perfect. It was a very safe and well lit area. We were very comfortable walking around. A key card had to be used to get on the elevator from the ground floor and the elevator was in sight of the front desk. The hotel was 2 short blocks from Waikiki Beach (beach chairs, noodles, boogie boards and beach towels were in the lobby) and 1/2 block from a shopping area with restaurants. Every other day that area had several veggie/fruit stands that sold fresh items. We bought fruit there frequently and with our room refrig, we had fruit every day. If you stay more than 5 days, housekeeping will clean the room. We found that she actually came about every 3 days. There was also a laundry area outside the parking area. There were only 5 parking spots, but by reserving one when we made our reservations, we were never without a spot. Every member of the staff couldn't have been friendlier. We were always greeted with a smile and a wave. Any questions or small issues were dealt with quickly and with a smile. When you needed to print your Boarding Pass, it could be done from the front office. If you want budget and don't mind small and dated, this is a great place to stay. We were very happy there.

Room Tip: The area isn't too noisy, but the higher up (there are 6 floors....the 6th you take the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikiprincehotel, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Aloha Dawgette,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Yes our hotel is quite dated. We are slowly getting up to speed on upgrading our hotel. Major projects that you noticed like free high speed wifi and the key card system were done in the past year. We are working on upgrading the cable on the tv before we get new tvs. Hopefully we get it done before the end of the year. Furniture is not a priority right now so our rooms will probably still look dated if you decide to visit us in the next year.
The farmers market is great. I like the spring rolls and whatever fruit is in season. Our hotel doesn’t provide breakfast because we cannot anticipate everyone’s taste or lack of taste for breakfast. We pass the savings onto our customer with our low rates and lack of “amenity or resort fees”. Use that extra money to buy some fruit or go on a tour.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Decided to book this hotel following recommendation by tripadvsor. Never imagined what old and backward was till we checked in to our room. Everything was old, old and old. Nothing in the room was up to date. CRT TV, lights, spring mattress, cooker, noisy casement AIrcon, toilet, etc. size of room was also small... However it was clean and thankfully, we managed to get good sleep after a tiring day out.
Will consider paying slightly more if I can find another hotel with better experience.
Thumbs up to Staff who were extremely helpful and friendly though.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikiprincehotel, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Aloha Kelaitre,
We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations. The photos on tripadvisor or our website give an accurate description of what our rooms look like. We are in the process of updating our hotel but most of changes will happen gradually. I will let the staff know they did a great job.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Pretty basic and simple place to stay close to beach.Room was clean.For the price its what I needed.No pool but 5 minutes to nice beach.Resturants and shopping everywhere.Bus system is good if you need to go anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed one day on each end of a 1 week cruise. Our travel needs are pretty minimal-a place to sleep and shower. Price was far lower than any other hotels in the middle of the Waikiki area. Positives, were cost/value, location, WiFi, and staff flexibility. The only negative is that the rooms were aged and could use minor "facelift" type maintenance (paint, caulk, etc), but everything functions and is clean. Parking is available for $20 (turned out to be an excellent deal).

Location was great--walk to beach, resorts, restaurants, and bus routes. The staff was extremely helpful in accommodating some special requests to meet our schedule. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waikiki Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Prince

Address: 2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi, Free Coffee (brew your own) Area to print out boarding passes. All of our rooms have balconies, TV, Air Conditioning, a refrigerator,and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Waikiki Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Prince Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Prince Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.