We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at Prince Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Prince

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Waikiki Prince to your Saves list
Waikiki Prince
2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
7 day or more save 10%
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great stay at Prince Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stay at this hotel the past January to February for 18 days. we had the best deal ever, best price for the location, our room small but very clean, the staff was the friendly people and very helpful. we are coming back next year. We can't wait to be there. i highly recommend this hotel, close to waikiki beach, restaurants and public transportation.

Room Tip: We stay at the third floor because we like the lower floor so we don't have to use the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    124
    38
    13
    10
See reviews for
32
122
67
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Nestled within the back streets of Waikiki is the Waikiki Prince Hotel. My family and I have stayed here for the past five years and have always had a pleasant experience. It may not be your five star type of hotel but rather a practical, you have what you need (bed, kitchenette, a/c, bathroom). Parking can be a bit tight and not always guaranteed. The best word of advice is to book in advance and request for parking. Service has always been great and never had any complaints. Staying on the typical beachside hotels are completely overrated! Why pay over $100 - $200/night when you can save that money and spend it on shopping, food, or other things while on vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This not the Hilton but for budget minded travellers, it is great , clean handy to all ,one needs .have stayed here for 12 years on coming to waikiki book early 5th level best a/c only could with a fan ,for those who do not want a/c, front desk very helpful , good wi-fi close to the beach,and right in the centre of waikiki, a lot of traffic noise during the day.bedding changed every fourth day handy spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I read MANY reviews on this hotel before booking. Turned out, I was happy I decided to stay here. Excellent price!! The hotel is ONE block from Waikiki Beach. There is a convenient store that is pretty much next door that's open from 6am to 11pm. I was also concerned about safety b/c I was travelling with my daughter alone. I felt safe the entire time we were there. We were on the 4th floor, we didn't hear any neighbors and that generator that others have talked about ( from the car rental place next door) they don't start that up first thing in the morning. It NEVER woke us up.... then again we were up by 8-9am. The elevator only goes up to the 4th floor....there are only 5 floors. Their wi-fi is free and worked perfectly. Ours came with a kitchen, small frig...and don't really count on having a "freezer", its too small to freeze or keep ice. They have a microwave, oven, coffee maker, toaster, etc. (small appliances). dishes, glasses, pots,pans, silverware, etc. They even included dish soap! In the bathroom, they had soap, small shampoos, conditioners. Shower only, no tub in our room. Room was spotless...very clean!! Beds were very comfortable....slept like a baby!! We had a balcony as well. The room has AC, and don't freak out when you see pics of a window unit..... We had to adjust the setting b/c it got too cold in the room!!! (NICE). Tip: if you are considering parking.... ask early on, before you book, b/c they only have 5 parking spaces... ($20 per night) This was our 1st visit to Hawaii.... and I am so glad I decided to rent a car b/c there was no wasting LOTS of valuable time waiting on the bus.... and we got to do so much more because of that. No restaurant on site, but you are close to many other restaurants. No pool.... but think about it....are you coming to Hawaii to see a swimming pool?!? Exactly. You are one block from the beach. The staff was WONDERFUL!!! They were SO kind and courteous. On our last day, our flight did not leave til 830pm and they held our luggage for us, so that we could do some last minute sight-seeing. They have beach items they let their guests borrow. This place is perfect for those who don't want to spend a fortune on a hotel room! You will be so close to everything on Waikiki. Perfect location. We will definitely recommend to others and we will stay here when we come back!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and never heard anything from outside, even late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is still one of my favourite hotels, it is small scale and over the years I've stayed here several times with familymembers and friends. It is not one of these skyscrapers, and it is 2 blocks from the beach. The reception is only open during the day but the staff is very friendly and helpful. I did not make much use of the kitchenette in the room but the option to use it is there..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Neat little hotel a few blocks from the beach...nothing fancy, clean rooms with air....used to be a great value...last October (low season) small room was around $65 a night...not cheap for what you get, but not bad. Made a reservation for this October, was stunned to see same room has gone up to $90 dollars! Front desk clerk was very apologetic, said many long time customers were going to other properties. This will also be my last stay there....way to many other choices in area for a reasonable rate. I hope the new owners take a long look at rates.....lean times may be coming again and people don't forget something like this.

Room Tip: Stay as high up as possible to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha Dave A,
We look forward to seeing you in October. I think for the $65 a night rooms you are referring to our Economy room with kitchenette. They are currently $80 a night until high season. Since your last visit we have added some amenities to our rooms. Wifi, coffee and a majority of our rooms have new carpet already. Since you are staying for longer than a week, the room averages out to $68 a night +tax. The $90 a night room is a different larger room. I hope people don’t forget this one. We did take a long look at rates. We are still less than the vast majority of hotels in Waikiki for any given time. The average price for a room in Waikiki is often 2 to 3 times more than our average price.
Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is actually more similar to a motel. Rooms access is outside, reception closes at 8.00pm but they left a locker with our key inside with a combination agreed to unlock, nice, we arrived at 11pm...the room is clean. The bed comfortable. The kitchen allow you to cook even meat and save money. The air conditioning works but it is strange the room is too hot. You can leave windows open when out.there is an elevator you don t find in motels.from reception they borrow beach towels, umbrellas, paddles..it is really nice to enjoy honolulu and waikiki and to visit the island. There is a public parking just in the front where you can park at 20usd per day that is average in waikiki.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha Lioncubcv,
Glad you enjoyed your kitchenette and put it to good use. I am sorry about the air conditioner. Sometimes they break down and we don’t know until that happens. We usually like to get to them once they start to malfunction. We do have limited parking (5 stalls) available for $20 a day but probably on your stay they were all reserved.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Prince

Address: 2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi, Free Coffee (brew your own) Area to print out boarding passes. All of our rooms have balconies, TV, Air Conditioning, a refrigerator,and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Waikiki Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Prince Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Prince Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.