We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now way overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Prince

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Waikiki Prince to your Saves list
Waikiki Prince
2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
7 day or more save 10%
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Now way overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Neat little hotel a few blocks from the beach...nothing fancy, clean rooms with air....used to be a great value...last October (low season) small room was around $65 a night...not cheap for what you get, but not bad. Made a reservation for this October, was stunned to see same room has gone up to $90 dollars! Front desk clerk was very apologetic, said many long time customers were going to other properties. This will also be my last stay there....way to many other choices in area for a reasonable rate. I hope the new owners take a long look at rates.....lean times may be coming again and people don't forget something like this.

Room Tip: Stay as high up as possible to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha Dave A,
We look forward to seeing you in October. I think for the $65 a night rooms you are referring to our Economy room with kitchenette. They are currently $80 a night until high season. Since your last visit we have added some amenities to our rooms. Wifi, coffee and a majority of our rooms have new carpet already. Since you are staying for longer than a week, the room averages out to $68 a night +tax. The $90 a night room is a different larger room. I hope people don’t forget this one. We did take a long look at rates. We are still less than the vast majority of hotels in Waikiki for any given time. The average price for a room in Waikiki is often 2 to 3 times more than our average price.
Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    124
    38
    13
    10
See reviews for
32
122
67
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is actually more similar to a motel. Rooms access is outside, reception closes at 8.00pm but they left a locker with our key inside with a combination agreed to unlock, nice, we arrived at 11pm...the room is clean. The bed comfortable. The kitchen allow you to cook even meat and save money. The air conditioning works but it is strange the room is too hot. You can leave windows open when out.there is an elevator you don t find in motels.from reception they borrow beach towels, umbrellas, paddles..it is really nice to enjoy honolulu and waikiki and to visit the island. There is a public parking just in the front where you can park at 20usd per day that is average in waikiki.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha Lioncubcv,
Glad you enjoyed your kitchenette and put it to good use. I am sorry about the air conditioner. Sometimes they break down and we don’t know until that happens. We usually like to get to them once they start to malfunction. We do have limited parking (5 stalls) available for $20 a day but probably on your stay they were all reserved.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Waikiki Prince is still a super deal. Prices have gone up a bit in the past couple years, but so has everywhere else. It's nothing fancy-schmancy for sure, but it's always clean, and you're in Waikiki- how much time are you going to spend in your room anyway? They usually have rooms with the little kitchen available and that can save you even more $$. And you get a lanai! Two blocks from the beach! Front desk staff is very helpful. If you need a nice clean place to rest your head after a tough day at the beach and want to save your money for actually doing fun stuff, go for it here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were expecting a budget hotel but this place is much more utilitarian in appearance than we expected. I have relied on tripadvisor in the past and until now have almost always been pleasantly surprised. This time however, we were very disappointed.
Although the carpet appeared new and clean the room was very basic and quite dark. It had only a double bed which is good because the room was rather small. It appeared quite barren since the walls consisted of painted concrete blocks with no decorations. The appliances really looked old and and stained as did the shower stall. The small balcony faced a similar building and the surroundings, although only a block or so from the beach seemed rather grim.
We had asked for a top floor room, not realizing that the tiny and rather dingy elevator only went to the fifth floor and we had to lug our large suitcases up a narrow stair-case to the sixth floor. My wife took one look at the room and said "we are not staying here!"
The one redeeming feature was that the staff was extremely nice (hence the two-stars rather than one) and did give us a full refund as we were very fortunate to find accommodations at a higher end hotel on very short notice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha ED W,
Thank You for taking time to write us. Our hotel is “Utilitarian”, we have useful things like wifi, kitchenettes, and other basic amenities. I think people come to our hotel for the utilitarian nature. If you have gone to our website you would have seen that our walls are indeed pretty barren. I am not sure what your expectations for a hotel are for wall decorations. Our website also states that the sixth floor must be accessed by one flight of stairs. You requested the highest floor, so we put you on the 6th floor. On the 6th floor the balcony can fit two people on chairs with a small table comfortably. Most of our appliances are old. All of our balconies face a parking lot and then the street. We don’t really have a view; our building is a low rise so we do not really get the million dollar views of Waikiki Beach. Most guests travel to the beach to get a view (roughly 2 minute walk). I think you are looking for a boutique hotel or a high end luxury hotel rather than a budget hotel.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The pictures make it look outdated, which it is, but it was super clean and great location, safe and very spacious. Spent a week here with my gf and don't think you can find a better place for the money. One block walk to the beach ( main beach) . There's a full grocery store a couple blocks away so we filled the fridge and used the kitchenette every morning and ate on the balcony. Only downside was wifi was in the lobby only, but its Hawaii, so get off the computer. Would stay again if looking for a budget place close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Aloha Mike D,
It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay back in April. We hope to have you back soon. Our high speed wireless internet is now available in all of the rooms. We recently added complimentary premium 10% Kona coffee daily . So you can have a taste of Hawaii with your breakfast in the morning.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A fantastic budget option. Not only was this the cheapest hotel we could find on short notice ($90/day for a normal two-bed room, $70/day for a small single-bed room), but it was also just a block from the beach and even included a kitchenette in the room (stove, fridge, utensils, pots/pans)! The rooms were a bit dirty and were cleaned only once ever 5 days, but that's OK considering the price. The staff were very helpful and even let us store our luggage behind the desk after we checked out. I only found out about this place on TripAdvisor — I don't think they show up on Hotels.com or any of the other popular booking services. (More rooms for the last-minute traveler!) Don't confuse this place with the significantly more fancy Prince hotel on the other side of Waikiki.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Aloha Archagon,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are glad you found us on Trip Adviser. Yes we do not have partners on third party sites and do not plan on having any. Reservations are only through our website or by phone/email. All of our prices are pretty much straight forward. This helps us keep prices low and reservation system simple.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel has a great location, only 2 blocks from the beach, and close to several nice restaurants. We used this prior to our cruise and explored the Waikiki Beach area for a couple of days. Our room was adequate and had a kitchenette. The desk personnel were waiting for us to check in and gave us recommendations for dining in the area. We stayed on the 5th floor and was not bothered by any noise. The wifi was also excellent and we had no trouble getting service. If you are looking for a budget hotel this is one we would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor had elevator access and were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, General Manager at Waikiki Prince, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Aloha Creatingmemories2013,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes there are some good dining options around the area. I love the udon place on Kuhio and the Japanese places on the backside of our block are pretty good. Korean food around the corner. Getting hungry just thinking out them.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Prince

Address: 2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi, Free Coffee (brew your own) Area to print out boarding passes. All of our rooms have balconies, TV, Air Conditioning, a refrigerator,and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Waikiki Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Prince Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Prince Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.