We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets the job done well, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Prince

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Waikiki Prince to your Saves list
Waikiki Prince
2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
7 days or more save 15%
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Putney, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gets the job done well, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Pros: This hotel is certainly the best value hotel. It's one block from Waikiki beach, about a 1-2 minute walk. The staff are incredibly kind, friendly and helpful. The rooms are no frills, but get the job done fine for the price.

Cons: The hotel is a bit dirty and outdated. Not gross dirty, just not super clean. I had no problem staying there, but if you want something extremely clean and polished this isn't it.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel and I would certainly stay there again. I would recommend it to anyone who wants an inexpensive hotel in Honolulu that is still nice and comfortable. Even though it's a bit dirty and outdated, it wasn't a big deal to me and I considered this minor. It was comfortable and nice and the staff were fantastic. The location is great, right in the heart of Waikiki and one block from the beach.

We stayed here in January of 2013.
If I had to grade this hotel I would give it an A-

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    119
    38
    12
    10
See reviews for
30
119
66
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ucluelet, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place was great! Wish we would've stayed here longer. When my boyfriend and I first arrived in Waikiki we stayed right next to the Waikiki Prince at the Hostelling International, we picked the hostel because we usually stay in hostels and it seemed more familiar to us. We stayed at the hostel for 2 nights then we were going to the north shore for a couple of nights and wanted to book a night at hostel for when we got back, but it was all full, so we went over to the Waikiki Prince and realized we should have stayed there all along!!!!

HI Hostel: not so friendly staff, good basic private room w/ private bathroom, table, chair, NO A/C $64/night

WAIKIKI PRINCE: Very friendly staff, elevator :) , GREAT private room w/ fridge, toaster, coffee maker, T.V.,HAD A/C !!!! bigger bathroom than HI hostel, and balcony! FOR ONLY $ 60 or $62/night (can't remember). So cheaper than HI with so much more!!!! It was the smallest and cheapest room they had but definately all that a traveller needs (and more - for us apparently - having a T.V. was luxury beacause we're cheapos). Of course, no dorm beds at this place, so a single person would still have to pay the $60.

Didn't need to ask staff for any travel advice, so not sure how informative they would have been, but I'm sure they would've been super nice!

Thanks!

Room Tip: Had a room on the 5th floor, it was one of the "very small rooms", corner room, had a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a no frills hotel, 1 minute walk from the Waikiki beach. The price is excellent for location. I would say this hotel had just what we wanted and nothing more. The staff is very helpful. The room we got had a fully equipped kitchenette using which we could prepare light dinners. We borrowed boogie boards and beach towels from them. The only thing negative about this hotel is the road noise. The delivery and garbage trucks start making the noise early in the morning. Try to get a room at higher floors if you can.

Room Tip: Get a room in the higher floor to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

ALOHA.....wow....what a gem.This hotel might not be pretty,but it has what we all want...Location..Location..Location!!..It is not a posh hotel,but it has everything one wants on hols!!..A 2 minute walk to Waikik iBeach....great restaurants on literally every corner...and an ABC Store every way you turn..lol!!The rooms are old,but clean.(Maid service is about every 4 days),but if you need new towels..etc,just a call to reception and it happens.It is noisy,but nothing that a pair of ear plugs wont fix!!..Anyway..why does one want to "sleep-in" on holidays!!..Get out there,to the beach!!..If possible,ask for a room on the top (6th) floor.You get a view of the beach.The staff were friendly and helpful.I cannot fault this hotel.I will DEFINATELY be back......Mahalo!!

Room Tip: ask for the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Wow! What a gem! Found this hotel through TA and I am highly recommending to everyone who would like to experience Hawaii on a budget! Though the hotel might seem a bit old (well, most of the buildings in Waikiki are nostalgic...adding to the beauty of it!), the room is clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped! From the stove, microwave, even up to the utensils and dishwashing soap with sponge! How cool is that! Toiletries and bath towels are supplied too. Each room has a veranda, and ours gives a partial view of the beach! The building is just a few blocks away from the beach itself, that's really a big plus! You can borrow beach towels, chair, mat and boogie board for free! WIFI is only available at the reception. Everything is just near Waikiki Prince, ABC store, a Japanese restaurant (Jinroku - which is good!), Me's BBQ which serves really cheap combo meals and Coconut Cafe (love the smoothies there!). The staff are exceptional - very accommodating! We arrived in the evening and found a sweet note on the resident manager's door (which I still kept!) giving directions to our room (ready with the AC turned on so we could relax immediately after a long flight!). I'd love to go back again to Waikiki and stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is by far the best hotel on a budget in Hawaii. The hotels definitely a little old but for the cost and the location you can't beat it. we had the standard room I think its the biggest but The rooms are clean and they are spacious and have everything you need in the kitchen area. If you aren't on your honey moon and don't want anything nice I would book a room here, it felt like we had our own little apartment. The front desk staff are all really nice they provide beach towels at the front desk which was really helpfull. The beds are quite comfy for older beds the ac a little loud b/c its the old school kind but you get use to it. I would reccomened this hotel to anyone who isn't looking for anyting nice and it's hawaii you shouldnt be in your room anyways. and its in a great location 2 blocks from the beach and maybe 4-5 blocks from the international market and all the stores and shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

There is a fancy hotel in Honolulu, the Hawaiian Prince. Then there is the Waikiki Prince. This is a small, older hotel located 1/2 block from the Hyatt Regency Hotel and Waikiki beach. It is a argin at 80$ a night. However, you must be able to function without a concierge to arrange tours (book on the internet before you come). The pickup point for many tours is the Hyatt, within very easy walking distance. The decor is spartan, with a very basic kitchen and small bathroom, but adequate and for those on a budget, terrific. If the resort experience is important to you, this is not for you, but for the money conscious it is a great alternative.

Room Tip: be sure your transportation from the airport is aware of the address for the Waikiki Prince, as it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Prince

Address: 2431 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi, Free Coffee (brew your own) Area to print out boarding passes. All of our rooms have balconies, TV, Air Conditioning, a refrigerator,and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Waikiki Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Prince Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Prince Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.