We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Waikiki Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2070 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Koloa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“average and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

very simple, fairly clean and good location. no frills at all. bathrooms need updating. this is an old hotel that needs renovation. staff friendly. parking is expensive at 25 bucks but no other choice. i would not want to do an extended stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Director of Sales at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha Ka kou Ellen!

Mahalo nui loa for allowing the Waikiki Gateway Hotel for your over night stay in Honolulu! We are glad we met your standards!

The Waikiki Gateway Hotel does offer parking at $24.99 per night, this rate is comparable for the surrounding hotels in our neighborhood, we are please to be one of the hotel offer the convenience of valet parking! The King Kalakaua Building one block away offers public parking at a rate of 15.00 for 24 hours which is another option for guest. I noticed your town is Koloa, we are also delighted to welcome Na Kaamaaina & Military personal with a discounted rate for parking with proper ID. Please allow us to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    264
    191
    85
    79
See reviews for
146
220
119
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

*Parking $24.99/day w/ Mandatory valet but Mopeds are free. If noone is around and you don't want to wait, you can park it up and bring the key to the front desk, just ask if it is OK beforehand.
*There is a shuttle bus ($14 RT or $8 one way) - You pay the driver.
*There are computers in the biz centre but you have to setup an account and pay by tthe min/hr for the internet.
*The beds were extremely comfortable and CLEAN but with the AC it was still a little hot but manageable. Had to shut the balcony doors at night b/c of the noise but it didn't keep me up at night.
*The room istelf didn't seem to have any major defaults but the bathroom did leave little to be desired. There wasn't much pressure in the shower and trying to find a temperature that wasn't an extreme was annoying but I have had worse.
*The staff were very nice and accomodating. One woman even let us use her cell phone to call home b/c we couldn't get the long distance to work on the pay phone. Housekeeping did a fantastic job everyday as we are very messy people.
*There is an ABC attached to the hotel which was conveninent and I was very grateful for, but they are everywhere.
*Great location, just minutes from the beach and Kalakuau Ave which has some great shopping. It was a very reasonable price and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Honolulu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Director of Sales at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha ka kou!

Mahalo for allowing the Waikiki Gateway Hotel to be your home away from home! The Waikiki Gateway Hotel does offer the convenience of valet parking to our guest at a rate of 24.99 per night. This rate is comparable to the surrounding hotels. One block over guest can park at a lower rate allowing self parking, although they are not a part of the Waikiki Gateway Hotel this is another option for parking in Waikiki.

Please allow us to welcome you back!


PS: Mahalo for posting those great photo's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I've stayed at the Gateway a few times now and from the first visit it's been great. If you're looking for 5 Star luxury this isn't your hotel. What I can tell you is my room has been just as nice as some of the big named hotels I've stayed in while in Waikiki at half the price. It's a good quality hotel FOR THE PRICE.

I can't say enough about the staff. Always nice and do the best they can to make you feel welcome.

During my second visit I "Upgraded" to one of the suites only $120 a nite. Nice sized room on the 16th floor. However, the Lani is amazing and was in allot of ways the highlight of our stay. Amazing views and up high enough so we had little or no traffic noise.

Great value for the money in Waikiki where hotel prices are way over priced..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

After doing several searches we opted for the Gateway, first off the photo of the room on the webpage is of the penthouse, the regular rooms are nothing like that. It was clean and functional but outdated in terms of furnishings, carpeting and decor. The pool was a waste of time about 6' wide and crowded if more that two people in it at the same time. We had the breakfast there once in the 6 nights we were there and it was very basic (but i guess typical for the price). The staff were somewhat helpful when needed but gave very little information and guidance, internet was $10 per day, room safe was $4 per day. But the location was fine and close to Waikiki beach and shops/restaurants. Unlikely that we will ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher up the better to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Hotel to find a large amount of foreign tourists in the lobby checking in. They were very rude and pushy and it took 30 minutes for the front desk to help us. Finally, we got the room, went to it, and found only three twin beds for our four people! Went down to get it fixed and "the manager" could not and would not do anything to help or change us to another room. Absolutely horrible customer service, who books a room for four people and the hotel states that the forth bed is not guaranteed??? If you want a peaceful, nice experience, DO NOT STAY HERE! We asked for a refund and they stated we are free to go somewhere else but have no place to send us. Just bad all around. Also, everything is old here and renovations are sorely needed. Not near the beach either.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielNakasone, Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Aloha Hetta32,

Please accept my apologies for your inconvenience upon arrival at the Waikiki Gateway Hotel. I have been able to research your reservation and arrival experience in detail. Please kindly contact me at your convenience, dnakasone@waikikigateway.com, as I wish to sincerely apologize for your experience but also explain our staff’s desire to accommodate your party as best we could. According to our records, your reservation was made for two bed accommodations and two persons. A room with three beds was available and a rollaway was offered and declined. In addition, after speaking with your booking party, our Supervisor offered to cancel your reservation without charge and that such was accepted and appreciated.

Nonetheless, I will research with our travel partners how best to insure the details of all reservations are received accurately so we may accommodate guests as desired. Again, I hope you will reach out to me as I sincerely hope you will stay with us in the future. I assure you that we will not only meet, but exceed, your expectations.

Daniel N. Nakasone
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After spending a few days in the North Shore, we wanted a more budget-friendly hotel in Waikiki. My fiance and I are glad we found this place. Parts of it are a bit dingy, but you get what you pay for. The breakfast "buffet" was really a sore point of this hotel, and after having it once, we went out to eat every time after that.

That being said, we repeatedly called to make sure we would have a nice room with a king size bed. We ended up getting a room on a high floor, with two balconies and a view of the ocean, which we were extremely happy with. Laundry facilities are also available in the hotel.

The hotel is walking distance from the beach, the main strip, and all the nice restaurants and bars. The staff are extremely friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Sales Account Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
One question... How was the view from your room? we know it was amazing!

The Waikiki Gateway hotel is so proud of our prime location along Kalakaua ave, we are so glad you were able to enjoy the beautiful pacific ocean from the comfort of both of your Lanai's. We are so happy we fulfilled your request!

Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Requiring somewhere to stay for one night in Waikiki, the Gateway came back as one of the most reasonable options (cost wise). The rooms were functional, and comfortable - nothing amazing. It suited me well for one night before heading to the north shore. The bed was comfortable, and the room had a balcony without a view.

Unfortunately check in is at 3pm, and I was forced to pay an additional $25 to check in when I arrived (1pm) after coming off a 10 hour flight. Considering check out is at 11am, it was a but of an inconvenience for me given that I just wanted to freshen up and settle in after my trip.

Would recccomend as somewhere basic to stay, but not somewhere to spend you entire vacation. Was functional, but a little but of a walk to shops and restaurants which I didn't mind.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Sales Account Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Aloha Down under!

We truly hope you have a plesant journey home! We are so glad you were able to take advantage of our great location, and found our amenities and guest rooms Simplisically functional. We hope when you plans for for travel to Hawaii you come back and visit us.


Mahalo again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Address: 2070 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Gateway Honolulu
Hotel Waikiki Gateway
Waikiki Gateway Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;