We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of WGH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2070 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“Review of WGH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights with my wife expecting. First of all, all of staffs in the hotel are pretty kind and well-trained for warm hospitality. Also distance to the beach is not far as I wondered. It takes only 5~7 minutes on foot. And location of the hotel is good accessable for waikiki main street. I and my wife are satisfied and recommend you to stay in the hotel in the case you are looking for a hotel with reliability of service and good facilities for reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Account Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha,

We are so delighted you enjoyed all that the Waikiki Gateway has to offer, we are truly happy to know we have met your expectations.

Hope to welcome you back real soon! have a wonderful new years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    281
    199
    93
    82
See reviews for
158
233
125
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 9 nights and found it to be quite nice. We were on the 16th floor and had a nice view of Waikiki and across the park to the ocean. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, always greeting you with an "Aloha" or "Welcome Back" whenever we returned to the hotel after a day out, and always happy to book us a taxi when we needed one. The security guard was very nice and had some great tips on where to eat and what bars were good. Housekeeping did a wonderful job each time our room was serviced, and were always friendly when we spoke to them. Our room was spacious and the beds were super comfy !! The only complaint about the room would be the shower head, as it was old and didnt give a strong stream of water, but it wasnt really a big deal. The hotel itself was very nice and in a great position, only a short walk to all the shops, bars and restaurants of Waikiki and only a short stroll across the park to the beach. There is also an ABC convinience store outside the foyer which is extremely handy !! We only had a few gripes about this hotel - When we looked up the hotel it said there was a fitness centre, yet this was not true, we looked everywhere and couldnt find one !! Also, the "continental breakfast" only consisted of Eggs, Potatoes, rice, bacon (which was burned to a crisp) and toast. There was no cereal or fruit. This didnt really matter though as most mornings we either went to a cafe for breakfast anyway, or slept in and skipped it altogether !! All up I was quite satisfied with The Gateway and would be very happy to stay here again :)

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better your view will be (obviously) and the rooms on the 16th floor have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Account Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha Ka kou!

On behalf of the staff and management at the Waikiki Gateway Hotel, thank you for your patronage and for the time spent sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your visit to Waikiki.
Im so sorry that you were not 100 % happy with our varity of our Breakfast, Currently we offer fresh local fruits, an assortment of fresh breads, spreads and jellies, a variety of cereals, fresh brewed coffee, local juices, milk is a few of the available options for our guest enjoyment. We pride out selves as one of the only Hotels in Waikiki with a Hote Breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you to our shores once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Regular Oahu visitor
This hotel was clean and decently priced thru Groupon
Nice views from Deluxe category of rooms.
Although I did read negative comments on the breakfast which was included in my stay
It was perfectly fine. Who can complain having eggs and fresh pineapple everyday?
However, lobby furniture definitely needs to be upgraded. Looked like cheap Ikea furniture!
Also shower heads need to be upgraded.
My overall experience was pleasurable!
and i would return granted the "price was right"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Account Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Aloha Ka kou,

Mahalo for taking advantage of the amazing deal The Waikiki Gateway Hotel offered with the assistants of groupon.com .

We have been getting amazing reviews of our HOT all American Breakfast every day, and our guest as well as the general public cant stop “Raving” about it. We hope when your plans call for travel in the future, you will allow the Waikiki Gateway Hotel to be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Most of the reviews are correct in their descriptions: the hotel is very old and the rooms show it. We were in a 15th-floor room, which had the new blue bed linens vs. the old orange ones. Two double beds. I don't know if the room itself had been upgraded. The bathroom definitely hadn't been. It's still from the '70s. The mirror had peeled on the edges and there was rust in the tub. However, the room was clean. No bugs like other people said they had. Also, our beds were very comfortable. Yes, the air conditioner is old, but our very nice condo in Maui was the same.

Is there a lot of street noise? Of course. You're in the heart of Waikiki on a main street - no place will be quiet around here. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. The lanai (patio) is concrete and nothing special. Do not pick this hotel if you like to just sit on your lanai in the sun. Go to Maui for that.

The breakfast is simple: scrambled eggs (over cooked), bacon (very tasty), pineapple (fresh), pancakes (rubbery), toast, milk, juice, three cereals, potatoes, rice, and miso soup.

We used a Groupon, which gave us a substantial room discount (about $130/night instead of $200+) and included free wi-fi (normally there's a fee) and free breakfast (normally $10). As we just needed a clean and comfortable place to stay within walking distance of the shops and Waikiki Beach, this place did the trick. We weren't willing to pay $200+/night for other places.

If you need a modern-looking room, don't stay here. If you need a quiet room, don't stay in this area. If you can get a deal and just need a comfortable place to sleep in the heart of it all, this place will do.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Sales Account Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha ka Kou!

Mahalo for selecting to stay with us, and for taking advantage of the amazing deal groupon offered here at the Waikiki Gateway Hotel, we truly appreciate your feedback. Please know Waikiki Gateway Hotel is committed to assuring the best accommodation possible and value in all our accommodation from our standard units to are some of the most spacious Penthouse and a valued price in Waikiki.

Our breakfast is set up with a variety of choices including, Freshly grilled French toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, fried rice, and an assortment of cereals & breads, we are pleased to be one of the few Waikiki Hotels offering this bountiful spread as a package full of value (fee) to valued our guest..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Book the deluxe rooms!! They are worth it. I don't think that you can get such a stunning view for a reasonable price anywhere in Hawaii! Location is great for shopping and night life. The staff are very accommodation and friendly! A special thanks to the front desk staff and to the Uhanekai at reservations for being able to accommodate such a short notice reservation, and for being so helpful and friendly during my stay!
Mahalo!

Room Tip: Deluxe room- see if the one with the wrap around terrace is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Sales Account Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha ka kou!

First of all Ho'omaika'i (Congratulations) on your very special day! We are so delighted we could share a part of your day with you.

Mahalo for your kind words, our staff truly works hard at what we do, and the true Aloha Spirit shines bight in all our staff. Please come back and see us soon, and again Congratulations on your special day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I also used the Groupon deal and was a little disappointed. It's the age of the hotel more than anything else. You feel like you walk into a hotel from the 70s where not a lot was updated. The carpet was very worn, the bathroom looked like a dorm bathroom, and all the furniture was very dated and clearly painted over and the seats dining area were torn in some spots. That being said, the hotel staff is very friendly, especially the breakfast crew. Breakfast itself is ok. Every day you have rice, miso soup, and eggs. Then every other day it switches between sausage and pancakes or bacon and french toast. Breakfast was included in the Groupon deal so that was a big plus. The location is very loud but pretty upscale. Gucci, Cartier, and Coach are literally next to the hotel. For military folks, the hotel is only separated from the Hale Koa only by a small park. The beach is an easy 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view because it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Accounts Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for allowing us to be your home away from home! it was truly are pleasure to host your stay!

We are so lucky to be in the location we are , with a ton of shops & restaurants at our door step.


Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in January 2013 and had a great time. The staff were friendly and approachable especially Amy and the 'big guy' who looks after bags and security. The room was exactly as pictured and perfectly clean, also everything worked as designed. I had to borrow a bottle opener for my beers and a sharp knife for fresh pineapples: no problem. The 3 beds in my room were (in order) soft, just right, and too hard, so everyone should be satisfied. My only issue was the room description in Hotels.com said I would get free Internet, and I didn't but this error will be fixed. I found 3 places within 5 mins walk offering free wifi so it was no big deal. Equally it would be no big deal to offer free wifi in the hotel, and if the bandwidth was poor you could hardly complain. Anyway I will be back. The location was perfect for busses, Ala Moana, Convention Centre, supermarket and restaurants. Just a short walk to the beach as well. Tip: get a high floor as the street is very noisy pre-dawn.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Sales Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for allowing us to be your home away from home! it was truly are pleasure to host your stay!

We are so lucky to be in the location we are in with a ton of shops & resturants at our door step.


Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Address: 2070 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Gateway Honolulu
Hotel Waikiki Gateway
Waikiki Gateway Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.