We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2070 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Regular Oahu visitor
This hotel was clean and decently priced thru Groupon
Nice views from Deluxe category of rooms.
Although I did read negative comments on the breakfast which was included in my stay
It was perfectly fine. Who can complain having eggs and fresh pineapple everyday?
However, lobby furniture definitely needs to be upgraded. Looked like cheap Ikea furniture!
Also shower heads need to be upgraded.
My overall experience was pleasurable!
and i would return granted the "price was right"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Account Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Aloha Ka kou,

Mahalo for taking advantage of the amazing deal The Waikiki Gateway Hotel offered with the assistants of groupon.com .

We have been getting amazing reviews of our HOT all American Breakfast every day, and our guest as well as the general public cant stop “Raving” about it. We hope when your plans call for travel in the future, you will allow the Waikiki Gateway Hotel to be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    312
    227
    106
    88
See reviews for
182
265
136
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Most of the reviews are correct in their descriptions: the hotel is very old and the rooms show it. We were in a 15th-floor room, which had the new blue bed linens vs. the old orange ones. Two double beds. I don't know if the room itself had been upgraded. The bathroom definitely hadn't been. It's still from the '70s. The mirror had peeled on the edges and there was rust in the tub. However, the room was clean. No bugs like other people said they had. Also, our beds were very comfortable. Yes, the air conditioner is old, but our very nice condo in Maui was the same.

Is there a lot of street noise? Of course. You're in the heart of Waikiki on a main street - no place will be quiet around here. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. The lanai (patio) is concrete and nothing special. Do not pick this hotel if you like to just sit on your lanai in the sun. Go to Maui for that.

The breakfast is simple: scrambled eggs (over cooked), bacon (very tasty), pineapple (fresh), pancakes (rubbery), toast, milk, juice, three cereals, potatoes, rice, and miso soup.

We used a Groupon, which gave us a substantial room discount (about $130/night instead of $200+) and included free wi-fi (normally there's a fee) and free breakfast (normally $10). As we just needed a clean and comfortable place to stay within walking distance of the shops and Waikiki Beach, this place did the trick. We weren't willing to pay $200+/night for other places.

If you need a modern-looking room, don't stay here. If you need a quiet room, don't stay in this area. If you can get a deal and just need a comfortable place to sleep in the heart of it all, this place will do.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Sales Account Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha ka Kou!

Mahalo for selecting to stay with us, and for taking advantage of the amazing deal groupon offered here at the Waikiki Gateway Hotel, we truly appreciate your feedback. Please know Waikiki Gateway Hotel is committed to assuring the best accommodation possible and value in all our accommodation from our standard units to are some of the most spacious Penthouse and a valued price in Waikiki.

Our breakfast is set up with a variety of choices including, Freshly grilled French toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, fried rice, and an assortment of cereals & breads, we are pleased to be one of the few Waikiki Hotels offering this bountiful spread as a package full of value (fee) to valued our guest..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Book the deluxe rooms!! They are worth it. I don't think that you can get such a stunning view for a reasonable price anywhere in Hawaii! Location is great for shopping and night life. The staff are very accommodation and friendly! A special thanks to the front desk staff and to the Uhanekai at reservations for being able to accommodate such a short notice reservation, and for being so helpful and friendly during my stay!
Mahalo!

Room Tip: Deluxe room- see if the one with the wrap around terrace is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Sales Account Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha ka kou!

First of all Ho'omaika'i (Congratulations) on your very special day! We are so delighted we could share a part of your day with you.

Mahalo for your kind words, our staff truly works hard at what we do, and the true Aloha Spirit shines bight in all our staff. Please come back and see us soon, and again Congratulations on your special day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I also used the Groupon deal and was a little disappointed. It's the age of the hotel more than anything else. You feel like you walk into a hotel from the 70s where not a lot was updated. The carpet was very worn, the bathroom looked like a dorm bathroom, and all the furniture was very dated and clearly painted over and the seats dining area were torn in some spots. That being said, the hotel staff is very friendly, especially the breakfast crew. Breakfast itself is ok. Every day you have rice, miso soup, and eggs. Then every other day it switches between sausage and pancakes or bacon and french toast. Breakfast was included in the Groupon deal so that was a big plus. The location is very loud but pretty upscale. Gucci, Cartier, and Coach are literally next to the hotel. For military folks, the hotel is only separated from the Hale Koa only by a small park. The beach is an easy 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view because it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Accounts Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for allowing us to be your home away from home! it was truly are pleasure to host your stay!

We are so lucky to be in the location we are , with a ton of shops & restaurants at our door step.


Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in January 2013 and had a great time. The staff were friendly and approachable especially Amy and the 'big guy' who looks after bags and security. The room was exactly as pictured and perfectly clean, also everything worked as designed. I had to borrow a bottle opener for my beers and a sharp knife for fresh pineapples: no problem. The 3 beds in my room were (in order) soft, just right, and too hard, so everyone should be satisfied. My only issue was the room description in Hotels.com said I would get free Internet, and I didn't but this error will be fixed. I found 3 places within 5 mins walk offering free wifi so it was no big deal. Equally it would be no big deal to offer free wifi in the hotel, and if the bandwidth was poor you could hardly complain. Anyway I will be back. The location was perfect for busses, Ala Moana, Convention Centre, supermarket and restaurants. Just a short walk to the beach as well. Tip: get a high floor as the street is very noisy pre-dawn.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Sales Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for allowing us to be your home away from home! it was truly are pleasure to host your stay!

We are so lucky to be in the location we are in with a ton of shops & resturants at our door step.


Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrived and found there would be a parking problem because we believed there was free parking, but found out parking is $20 per day. There is a $10/day lot directly accross the street, which we used by establishing an internet account and charging our fees. After one day we spoke with the desk staff and they nicely agreed to allow us to park for $10/day. The hotel location is great but the room was not as clean as we would have liked and the furnishing and bathroom were old and shabby. Given the great price we got, we really can't complain too much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Accounts Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for your response via tripadvisor.com, we are glad you enjoyed the true value in Waikiki along with our great locationn

The cost for parking is $20.00 per day. That is the average for parking in Waikiki where parking is limited. We are also glad we were able to assist with discounting your parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumby, B.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

On the problematic side, a very small incident occurred when some quarters were taken from our room desk by the maid, supposedly thinking that it was a tip, even though we had a "do not disturb" notice on our door knob. Also on the evening before checkout a notice was slipped under our door in late evening by security, billing us for 6 days of breakfasts at the hotel ($60) that we did not consume. This billing was removed on the day of checking out. Someone signed in several different and obviously false names next to our room number and name. The sign-in list was in the breakfast place apparently. So if you're staying here, beware of this potential issue although it may have only been a rare anomaly. Also, traffic noise and the sound of occasional ambulances running past our west facing room carried up through our open balcony door, so it would be best to get a room on the north or east side. Beware too of giving yourself adequate time in arranging a shuttle to the airport. Our shuttle, which was arranged by the desk, was 40 minutes late.

There is not a genuine hotel restaurant and no fitness center. But there is a massage room by appointment, a computer room, laundry, small sun deck with a small (chlorinated?) pool.

On the positive side, the room was well kept and tidy. The maid service was good. The staff was friendly. The desk was helpful in arranging a round-the-island tour. The hotel is relatively near the beach and on the edge of the Waikiki strip. At $95 plus tax per night, the room wasn't a real wallet buster as many larger hotels are.

Room Tip: north and east side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Accounts Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. Please know Waikiki Gateway Hotel is committed to assuring the best accommodation possible and value in all our accommodations. We also are very proud of our central Location to all Waikiki night life.

Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Waikiki Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Address: 2070 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Waikiki Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Gateway Honolulu
Hotel Waikiki Gateway
Waikiki Gateway Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.