We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Save Saved
You added Waikiki Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2070 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Ok hotel but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I also used the Groupon deal and was a little disappointed. It's the age of the hotel more than anything else. You feel like you walk into a hotel from the 70s where not a lot was updated. The carpet was very worn, the bathroom looked like a dorm bathroom, and all the furniture was very dated and clearly painted over and the seats dining area were torn in some spots. That being said, the hotel staff is very friendly, especially the breakfast crew. Breakfast itself is ok. Every day you have rice, miso soup, and eggs. Then every other day it switches between sausage and pancakes or bacon and french toast. Breakfast was included in the Groupon deal so that was a big plus. The location is very loud but pretty upscale. Gucci, Cartier, and Coach are literally next to the hotel. For military folks, the hotel is only separated from the Hale Koa only by a small park. The beach is an easy 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view because it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Accounts Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for allowing us to be your home away from home! it was truly are pleasure to host your stay!

We are so lucky to be in the location we are , with a ton of shops & restaurants at our door step.


Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    254
    187
    82
    78
See reviews for
144
214
114
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in January 2013 and had a great time. The staff were friendly and approachable especially Amy and the 'big guy' who looks after bags and security. The room was exactly as pictured and perfectly clean, also everything worked as designed. I had to borrow a bottle opener for my beers and a sharp knife for fresh pineapples: no problem. The 3 beds in my room were (in order) soft, just right, and too hard, so everyone should be satisfied. My only issue was the room description in Hotels.com said I would get free Internet, and I didn't but this error will be fixed. I found 3 places within 5 mins walk offering free wifi so it was no big deal. Equally it would be no big deal to offer free wifi in the hotel, and if the bandwidth was poor you could hardly complain. Anyway I will be back. The location was perfect for busses, Ala Moana, Convention Centre, supermarket and restaurants. Just a short walk to the beach as well. Tip: get a high floor as the street is very noisy pre-dawn.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Sales Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for allowing us to be your home away from home! it was truly are pleasure to host your stay!

We are so lucky to be in the location we are in with a ton of shops & resturants at our door step.


Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrived and found there would be a parking problem because we believed there was free parking, but found out parking is $20 per day. There is a $10/day lot directly accross the street, which we used by establishing an internet account and charging our fees. After one day we spoke with the desk staff and they nicely agreed to allow us to park for $10/day. The hotel location is great but the room was not as clean as we would have liked and the furnishing and bathroom were old and shabby. Given the great price we got, we really can't complain too much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Accounts Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for your response via tripadvisor.com, we are glad you enjoyed the true value in Waikiki along with our great locationn

The cost for parking is $20.00 per day. That is the average for parking in Waikiki where parking is limited. We are also glad we were able to assist with discounting your parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumby, B.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

On the problematic side, a very small incident occurred when some quarters were taken from our room desk by the maid, supposedly thinking that it was a tip, even though we had a "do not disturb" notice on our door knob. Also on the evening before checkout a notice was slipped under our door in late evening by security, billing us for 6 days of breakfasts at the hotel ($60) that we did not consume. This billing was removed on the day of checking out. Someone signed in several different and obviously false names next to our room number and name. The sign-in list was in the breakfast place apparently. So if you're staying here, beware of this potential issue although it may have only been a rare anomaly. Also, traffic noise and the sound of occasional ambulances running past our west facing room carried up through our open balcony door, so it would be best to get a room on the north or east side. Beware too of giving yourself adequate time in arranging a shuttle to the airport. Our shuttle, which was arranged by the desk, was 40 minutes late.

There is not a genuine hotel restaurant and no fitness center. But there is a massage room by appointment, a computer room, laundry, small sun deck with a small (chlorinated?) pool.

On the positive side, the room was well kept and tidy. The maid service was good. The staff was friendly. The desk was helpful in arranging a round-the-island tour. The hotel is relatively near the beach and on the edge of the Waikiki strip. At $95 plus tax per night, the room wasn't a real wallet buster as many larger hotels are.

Room Tip: north and east side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Accounts Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. Please know Waikiki Gateway Hotel is committed to assuring the best accommodation possible and value in all our accommodations. We also are very proud of our central Location to all Waikiki night life.

Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We travel to Honolulu every October and have stayed at some of the best and worst hotels on the islands.

The gateway is a great hotel for the money you spend.

The last time we stayed at the gateway nicks fish market restaurant was still at this location and it was a bit dated back then. So after reading all the reviews we were a bit hesitant to book for my wife’s birthday away in December.

When we arrived a homeless man was asleep on the lounge in the foyer !!
But that was the only time we saw anything like that again The staff were great and although checkin is not until 3:00pm (we arrived at 7:00am) she managed to get us our room by 1:00pm all the time with a smile. They stored our bags and lets us use the bathroom to freshen up and change.
Our room 1102 was an ocean view with 2 baloney's (Lani) the carpet was clean the beds good, the linen fresh. the bathroom was a little old but still clean (not clean by royal palace standards but as clean as your own bathroom at home) the TV was old but worked a treat, the views were great and the room was quiet. We used the safe but didn’t pay for internet. The desk staff were friendly and always greeted us with a smile and a hello, The security staff were always visible and that made us feel secure. The only complaint was that the small room air-conditioner was not up to the job but with both doors open the sea breeze was great.

This hotel is as good and maybe better than any other Honolulu hotel in its price range

Just don’t expect to pay a budget price and get the Paris Hilton

Room Tip: We had room 1102 ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Accounts Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha Ka kou & Happy New Year!

A Belated Hauoli la Hanau (Happy Birthday) to your wife!

Mahalo for your kind words and for allowing us to share your wife special day your you. We are so glad we were able to delight you with our ocean view room.

Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

When I review I give honest comments and try not to slam. The purpose of this forum is to alert people of the good and the bad

I will start with the good ( mainly because its shorter and I want to show I am not a jerk just being ticked off)

As for people
Amy front desk awesome / friendly / helpful and remembers our name
Anton - security and bag support - awesome. Basically the friendliest person you may ever meet

Location
Very close to beach short 10 min walk
ABC store attached bit small - larger one 1 block away
Eggs & Things close fr great breakfast
Tons of shopping and dining within short walk
Close access to anything you need from high end shops to low brow joints
All the restaurants you need and beach bars

Now for the bad and the ugly

Old , dated and in need of a total make over ( or tear down and redo) is an understatement

Carpets in rooms filthy (1205 / 1211)
Booked deluxe rooms with king beds on Groupon but found out that they blocked all Groupon rooms with two double beds
They said they would come up and make up the beds as one large one. This was apparently the joke of the day
1st both beds were only pushed next to each other and they still had individual sheets tucked in
The beds were different lengths as well as k e being hard and one soft mattress
My wife and I ended up on the softer of the two cramped up

Sheets not comfortable.
Paint peeling in room and. Bathroom
Door in bathroom rotten
Bathroom small
Bathtub scratched up and rusted
No water pressure from shower head
No way I would take a bath in there

Worst part was the VERY loud and poorly working Air Conditioner had to put it at 63°f to get it to cool the room in December
Even worse was other units running in other rooms males the noise unbearable when trying to sleep
Along with the one above us leaked all over our terrace and kept our chairs wet so we could not use it

I expected street noise just due to location and knowing area. So while it was bothersome I just deal with it when here

Upon check in we asked about upgrading further ( even though there were many bait and switch bad reviews we already had a deluxe room). Ocean view direct rooms so not all have terraces and ...CAUTION.... to all who want a Penthouse room (yes I said penthouse in a 17 floor building ) DO NOT waste your money. Seemed smaller than the deluxe room and no terrace or window that opened. Only had wood floor rather than stinky stained carpet.

Do not actually pay for the breakfast buffet. Go somewhere else. It is worse than ones I have seen in bad parts of Asia .... there are pleanty of great places to eat.

Bambooze bar attached. Get your $0.25 MaiTai ( which will be mostly juice) And be done with that place. Not a savory crowd. But who wants to bar sit and play electronic darts in Hawaii anyway.

If you have a late flight. There is no hospitality rooms so you have to check out and if you beach it you fly home stinky. But they doet you sit on the 16th floor on fake leather and watch traffic.

So that's my story
We came , we tanned , we enjoyed Waikiki. We just truly disliked this hotel except for the location, Amy and Anton.

For the normal price I would pay $20 more per night and go somewhere else

If you ready bought your Groupon. I suggest you heed my warning and rethink your options

We make our trips good no matter what. This will be one we talk and laugh about for years "remember that yucky hotel we got on Groupon that one year?"..........

Aloha

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed 10 days here and it was a very nice experience.
Clean place and good food; there is a bar and you can spend a good time.
It is in the hearth of Waikiki and you can go everywhere from your hotel.
The beach is very close and the abc store is there for you.
Internet access and swimming pool experience is at Gateway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhanekai A, Accounts Manager at Waikiki Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Welina from half way around the world!


Mahalo nui loa! Thank you so much for your kind words! We have been working hard to create an enjoyable experience for our guests, and are pleased to hear you had a good time. We are so pleased you were able to take advantage of all the ameinities we offer here at the Waikiki Gateway Hotel including:

Bamboo's- Full service bar offering great appetizers till late

All American Breakfast Buffet- including Fresh Waffles, bacon, eggs, and Tropical Hawaiian Fruit.

Please come back and join us again!


Have a Happy New Year from all of us at the Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Address: 2070 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Gateway Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Waikiki Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Gateway Honolulu
Hotel Waikiki Gateway
Waikiki Gateway Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.