We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location and price is nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pacific Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE Upgrade to Oceanview
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“location and price is nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

As people mentioned before,
After you have been to Maui, Honolulu seems a little crowed, but that's not the hotels fault.

My wife and I stayed there for our honeymoon.
The price for the room is reasonable.
The blue plastic bag for complimentary fresh water is a nice idea and you can use it for tea or coffee in your room, or for fresh water at the beach.
The beach is right on the other side of the road.

It’s amazing how many Japanese choose this hotel, but maybe because they have a lot of stuff which speaks fluently Japanese and many signs and advertisements are in Japanese too. but that applies for whole Waikiki.

The room was not small at all, very clean and the housekeeping always provided us daily new beach towels.
Only the mushroom at the ceiling could disgust some people.

I chose this hotel because of its famous “Oceanarium”, but unfortunately this was very disappointing. Children should love it.
And the restaurant in front of it, is way too expensive and not worth the 50$/person. Very disappointing.
The outdoor pool at the fourth floor, I didn't even consider it to be called a pool, it’s just a big basin.

The Travel agency by expedia in the first floor is very nice and friendly. but not cheap .
Thank you Alan, for helping us booking some nice experiences and the champion and chocolate strawberries for our honeymoon.

Room Tip: chose the diamant head side / partial sea side view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    717
    300
    121
    86
See reviews for
480
559
75
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My teenage daughter and I took a spur of the moment trip to Waikiki to escape the winter blahs. We booked the hotel through Hotwire, so our only request was that it be beachfront and have a restaurant in the hotel. The location was great, walk across the street to the beach, but the hotel is a little worn around the edges. The bathroom definitely needed updating, or at a minimum maybe some fresh caulking around the tub?? The furniture and carpet had definitely seen their better day. There is an ABC store on the street level which was super convenient. The hotel boasts a giant seafood buffet restaurant complete with a huge aquarium in the middle of the room. While it looks cool, the smell of fish stuck up the joint. Nothing worse than smelling fish after the party is over! The pool area was disappointing. It is a rooftop pool area but VERY blah...no flowers, plants, anything--just large expanses of concrete. This is Hawaii for goodness sakes, no flowers? No shrubbery?? (sorry when I typed the word 'shrubbery' I couldn't help myself but think of Monty Python's Holy Grail). ANYWAY, for the price the location couldn't be beat, BUT if you are looking for a hotel with real amenities where you feel like they are going to wait on you, this isn't the place. It is bare bones, and I mean BARE. BUT, if you are looking for a cheap hotel that is directly across the street from a great stretch of beach and within walking distance of a lot of restaurants and shops and everything Waikiki has to offer, this is your spot.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, pick a room on the higher floors so it is quieter--this is Waikiki so lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After Maui, Honolulu as a bit of a disappointment with it's crowded streets and so many tourists! it was so much busier than Maui or the Big Island that it was quite a shock. Having said that the hotel made us feel very welcome and the check in process was very easy. As we were there so early (they were still cleaning rooms as we were going down the hall way to our room) the young lady at the desk put us in the first available room - which turned out to back right onto the elevator on the same floor as the pool ....

Within 15 minutes of settling into the room we realised we would get no sleep here, so we went back to the front desk and explained the situation. The young lady on the desk (a different one) moved us to a corner room in the front tower, at an additional cost. I was happy to pay the difference as the room was quite a bit bigger, and even though there was road noise until around 10:00pm we managed to get a good sleep after this time.

I would rate the hotel a 3 - 3.5 as the rooms were looking a bit dated, but the effort the staff made to move us and the fantastic restaurant with the massive fish tank in it make me give it a 4.

Room Tip: We got a corner room near the front, but traffic noise is an issue until later at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just recently enjoyed our first trip to Hawaii and were fortunate enough to stay in this amazing hotel. It's a stones throw away from the beautiful waikiki beach and right in amongst the action. Everything was within walking distance! There was always someone to ask for assistance which was reassuring for us as first timers. Absolutely fabulous service in every way! Give them a go and see for yourself.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had the best time at the Pacific Beach Hotel we had to come back to stay the last 2 nights of our stay. After staying with family for 3 nights. When we arrived it was my birthday they went out of their way with a beautiful room over looking the ocean. champagne and two glasses Just lovely touch! Then your located in the heart of everything plus best swimming beach out your door. My many thanks to everyone who works their also special Thank you to Asari Ji for making the 2 nights back with wonderful view of Diamond Head.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Views Just Beautiful !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to Hawaii and we wanted to stay on Waikiki Beach. This hotel had the best bed I have ever had any where else. So Comfortable. The room was clean, looks like they have been renovated, the bathroom had a shower in the bath, but most of them seem to have that, so no problem. I would recommend the Pacific Beach Hotel as great value for money and location, and then best nights sleep!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The PBH has a great location, right across the street from Waikiki Beach near everything, and it was easy driving in and driving out of Waikiki from the hotel. We had a room with a view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Room rates were reasonable, the hotel busy with action, the amenities more than what was expected and the hotel staff always there to assist. The checkout was effortless. We are Kamaainas so we know exactly where to stay when we visit Oahu! We felt like tourist on vacation!!! which we were, and we had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: The view was great; 25th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 837
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. The hotel’s centerpiece is the 3-story indoor Oceanarium attraction with over 70 different species of Pacific marine life. Full service hotel with 837 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, spa, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.