We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever again. Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE Upgrade to Oceanview
Ranked #40 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Never ever again. Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When I booked the motel (resort) I was looking forward to a really nice stay. How wrong was I?
It first started when my wife and I checked in. Or at least tried to check in.
We arrived late and there was no customers at the reception desk. We were told by the rude and cold check in person there was no king bed which we asked for. We were given two double beds. No compromise. Nothing. When we went to the room on the NON SMOKING floor, the room smelled like someone had just smoked a packet of cigarettes in there and then closed the door.
So back down to the reception desk we went. The next person who served us said we could have a room on a different floor and said we could check in to that one. We did that.
The next day the reception should of had the 2 double beds moved out and a king bed replaced with it.
The room we had looked like it had water damage. The skirting boards had swelled to double their size near the bathroom.
When we got up in the morning and had a shower the bath filled up. That's not supposed to happen. I even pulled the non working mechanical plug out and put it on the side of the bath.

We discovered that their was water bottles given out when customers checked in. We didn't get ours. Other people had theirs. I felt discriminated against.

Room Tip: If you get room 1115 take the plug out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    675
    280
    118
    85
See reviews for
449
523
71
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am shocked at the positive reviews. We must have hit them on a bad week ? We stayed 3 nights, we would have left earlier, but they refused to refund our money for the other 2 nights so had to stay. Parking/ Valet issues same as others have mentioned, and extremely small rooms, staff very rude, everything way over priced. I will never never never stay here again…. the list goes on and on… I trusted the good reviews… but trust me it is way over priced and more hype than it is. Absolutely terrible experience : (

Room Tip: Don’t waste your money. VRBO and Airbnb’s are far far better, you get way more and worth your money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel has a great location, near high-end shopping, a swimming "pool" on the oceanfront, and one block from the Zoo. There is a 24 Hour Fitness gym located in the same block (I didn't check to see if it's the hotel gym or not - I was too tired as we were only there for one night). The rooms come furnished with amenities such as green tea (which was much appreciated) in addition to a coffee packet, toothbrushes (one for each of us), toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion. Our balcony was parallel to the shoreline, facing the street that the hotel fronts. I think there are rooms in another of the "towers" that overlook the ocean, but since we were only there for one night, we didn't bother to check that out. Our room was perfectly acceptable. There was a single king-sized bed, which was perfect, as there were only two of us.

The check-in and check-out were easy and fast, even though we hadn't made a reservation (we'd booked our stay initially at another venue in Honolulu, but that fell through, so we came here as a quick adjustment for our one night in Honolulu). We had called a taxi ahead of time, and were picked up at the hotel entrance for our departure.

Room Tip: I don't know the name of the "tower" that faces the ocean, but if you can, ask for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff are very helpful. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left they have made my stays enjoyable. On my last visit, after experiencing 2 consecutive delayed flights and so arriving quite late and weary, the front desk was particularly helpful in tending to me. The location is great, room had a great view. More than happy to recommend the Pacific Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location. The decor is a little outdated but that isn't all that important. It was clean and all the staff was very friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the buffet but it smelled great every time we went by! We got awesome massages at the spa! The beds were the most comfortable I've slept in!

Room Tip: The pool is kind of secluded on the roof of the 4th floor. We found it the night we got our massages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Perfect location. Comfy beds. We went kamaaina and the relate was really good. We always stay here for the surf contests. We can walk everywhere we need to go and take shuttle from airport. Bell desk will store your luggage until check out kindly We will be back!

Room Tip: It was perfect. Right across from Waikiki beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Is if you're staying in Honolulu (personally we enjoy other parts of the island) I'd stay here again just for the low price of the amazing views of the Pacific ~ BUT you have to be in the Beach Tower (front tower) above 8th floor. Higher the better. Rooms are for sure dated so just know that up front and you'll be fine!

Room Tip: Beach front tower only!! High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. The hotel’s centerpiece is the 3-story indoor Oceanarium attraction with over 70 different species of Pacific marine life. Full service hotel with 837 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, spa, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.