We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at it's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE Upgrade to Oceanview
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Hospitality at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I would like to compliment the staff, but especially the front desk clerk Alanna. Her warm and welcoming attitude, and willingness to help truly made my stay a memorable experience. Alanna truly enjoys her job and working with people. BIG THANKS!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable, partial or full ocean view. Location is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Aloha Jethrotull68,

Mahalo for your review. These comments are reasons why we love what we do! I am very happy to hear how much our associates especially Alanna exceeded your expectations. Please be assured that your kind praises will be shared with her. I know she will be very appreciative. Thank you again and It would be an absolute pleasure to serve you again soon!

Mahalo A Hui Hou!
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    754
    310
    125
    87
See reviews for
513
584
81
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice location. Very nice staff. Room is nice and spacious but needs some updating. Bed is comfortable. LCD tv.
Bathroom is in dire need of renovations. Bathtub is old and is stained. Showerhead looks new and that is the only thing that was changed.
Ocenarium restaurant is pleasant but ovepriced.
The frontdesk is sunken four steps below lobby level, but no ramp for your bags. Want to checkin or out ? Pick up your stuff and drag it up and down four steps. Silly !

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Aloha Bravo_deals,

Mahalo for taking time to write a review about your recent experience. We are happy to hear how much our associates exceeded expectations during your stay. However, I do apologize should you felt some of our room aesthetics fail below your expectations. In regards to the bathroom, we are currently making more modifications to ensure our guests are satisfied with all accommodations. Thank you again for your feedback and it will be our pleasure to serve you again!

Mahalo,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

When looking for a Hotel to stay at in Waikiki to celebrate a very special occasion, we spotted the Pacific Beach Hotel on Trip Advisor and weighed up the price and location vs other hotels. We booked an Ocean Front room and it was perfect for what we wanted: the corner room was big, had sensational views of the beach and the friends we were travelling with all ended up on our balcony at the end of each day for sunset cocktails.
The rooms were clean, the pillows were great and the service from the majority of the staff was very good, particularly Jocelyn, who's determination to ensure we enjoyed our stay was excellent...thank you!
We also had dinner in the Oceanarium to celebrate the reason for being in Hawaii - the atmosphere and Mermaid Show was unique and the food was very good.
Overall, I would certainly recommend the hotel, but would only stay in the Ocean Front rooms...it's very special to wake up to watching the surf of Waikiki and end each day with a perfect sunset...and dinner in the many options available within close walking distance to the property. Mahalo!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Aloha Michael B,

Mahalo for your five star rating! I would also like to thank you for reaching out to me personally through email. I am very pleased to hear you & your wife enjoyed our accommodations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another exceptional vacation trip!

Mahalo A Hui Hou!
Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol CT
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were a little concerned after reading some reviews but we have found this hotel to be just fine. We has water on the bathroom floor and called the desk. Someone came to fix it in 5 minutes and cleaned up the water. The service is great and the restaurant is very good. It is a bargain compared to some of the other properties on the beach but it is not lacking in amenities.

Room Tip: Ocean view is better than expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Aloha PJBLTB,

Thank you for your review and sharing your impressions regarding your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our efficient staff and room accommodations. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your time here in Hawaii. I understand that there are a number of hotels in the area, so I sincerely hope when your travels bring you back to Pacific Beach, you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Mahalo A Hui Hou!
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingley, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Pacific Beach in Sept 2013. Our room was lovely and clean, bed comfy and surprisingly quiet considering its location. If you are considering staying there and you are not a smoker make sure you request a non smoking room. We did not even realise these were available for a few days after check in and would have asked had we known. We had a partial ocean view room which was spacious and had a balcony overlooking other hotels and the water. This was fine for us as really you don't spend a lot of time in the room gazing out the windows anyway. We did not eat in the main restaurant but did have breakfast etc in the cafe. We found the staff very friendly at all times. The wifi was good most of the time, however connection did appear less reliable when there were lots more guests staying at the hotel. Overall,I think Pacific Beach was reasonably priced, I would definitely recommend it and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view, higher floors, non smoking available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Aloha Margaret K,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay. We are happy to know you enjoyed your overall experience here at Pacific Beach. I want to thank you for your loyalty to us & we definitely look forward to serving you again!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice Hotel; clean and well kept and perfect location. Walking distance to the beach (1/2 a block) and a lot of other turist-y things. On my first day I decided to walk around to explore and ended up at a little shoping area a couple blocks down and it was great. Ended up buying all my souveniers there. They had a lot of local, hand made jewelry and more.
The hotel rooms arn't super fancy but if you are looking for a great location without spending a lot of $,, this is it. Besides, who goes to HI to stay in their hotel room all day?!?!?!?!
I have no complains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Aloha Carodr01,

An excellent experience is important to all of us at Pacific Beach. Thank you for choosing our hotel & we are happy to hear your overall accommodations was great. We look forward to having you back!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is so close to the beach and international market. It also has breakfast for only $5.oo each morning while you enjoy the atmosphere outside. I would like to mention Crenscia the housekeeper on the 10th floor kept the room immaculant. I definately would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha DonnaDavis2013,

Thank you very much for your five star rating! We greatly appreciate your kind comment regarding one of our housekeeper. Please be assured that your kind praises will be shared with this exemplary employee. Again, thank you for your valuable feedback and it would be an absolute pleasure to serve you again soon!

Mahalo A Hui Hou!
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. The hotel's centerpiece is the 3-story indoor Oceanarium attraction with over 70 different species of Pacific marine life. Full service hotel with 839 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, spa, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.