We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Honolulu Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
2 reviews
“Nice Honolulu Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great Location - just a block from Waikiki Beach. Room was spacious and clean. A number of activities available here and restaurants at hotel and near-by. Balcony provided a decent view of the ocean. Liked the free basic WiFi connection as well

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms had nice view and were a little less expensive than ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha Tim M,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your recent stay.
We couldn't be happier to know you enjoyed your room accommodations and our prime hotel location. We truly appreciate you choosing us for your stay and we look forward to your return!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,

Jocelyn Nemoto, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    852
    345
    137
    96
See reviews for
609
688
99
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel was very nice, clean rooms. Staff was very attentive. Lines were a bit long at check in, but we didn't mind, because we were in paradise. Didn't eat at the seafood restaurant with the wall tank. Pretty though. We did eat at the surf and turf place outside, they had a lady dancing the dance of love. Pool was being repaired, we used the pool at the hotel next door. Good location across the street from the beach, you can walk to all the high end shops. When we travel we like to do the tourist trap things, also we like to go where the locals go for good food and shopping. I do suggest renting a car, we were able to tour the whole island, went to some great parks, beautiful beaches, no tourist just locals and they are very friendly and laid back.it is a must to bring your own or rent a Garmin or what ever navigation. You will kick yourself if you don't. They only use a portion of the alphabet and you will need it!!!! For shopping avoid the flea markets in the tourist zone you will pay double. Go to the stadium flea market. I believe it's the stadium where they host the bowl games. Same stuff much cheaper. Also, there's a place to get real Hawaiian food called Ono's I think. You have to wait outside because its so crowded to get in and it's a dump, just don't think about the surrounding, because the food is great! Just tell the lady you haven't tried the food and she will hook you right up! Also, there is a bakery further down the street names Leonard's Bakery and its great. They have donuts that are bigger than a donut hole, but twice as good and these breakfast sausage wrapped in a pastry are so good! The dinner cruises are a lot of fun. the performers are so pretty, guys and girls. We had a wonderful time. All in all, it was a great honeymoon and we are planning to go to one of the other islands next year. It is expensive, but you plan for that. OMT!! When you rent a car ask for a Honda it will save you a few pennies on the gas. It was over $4.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the ocean, we awoke to the breeze and sounds of the ocean everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha Ann L,

Once again we would like to congratulate you on your honeymoon!
We are happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves in paradise & we are very blessed to have shared this experience with you!
Thank you for your valuable feedback & it is very kind of you to share your tips with fellow travelers.
I definitely agree with you on all the food suggestions you have provided. Very tasty indeed!

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Mahalo A Hui Hou!

Jocelyn Nemoto, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Hotel is located right in across Waikiki Beach. It expands a whole block and has many amenities on the first Floor. They also have a Oceanarium, this is huge and its located at their restaurant. They have a show and buffet, etc.

Check in is at 3pm and you are always greeted by friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel because of its easy access to the beach, cleanness, welcoming and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha Carloperu,

Reviews such as yours remind us why we love to do what we do!
Thank you for your kind wordsof what we have to offer from our helpful staff, Oceanarium & central location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another exceptional stay.

Mahalo A Hui Hou!

Jocelyn Nemoto, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

good location ...... good rooms........ good food ........bad pool deck only has sun afternoon and you can not order food or drink only machine to buy a coke Wonderful fish in a large tank to enjoy with food

Room Tip: ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha Netpower,

Thank you for your review! It is always our pleasure to provide you with the very best. We couldn't be more delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We will be going renovation with our pool deck in the near future & we hope to welcome you again soon once this is completed.

Mahalo A Hui Hou!

Jocelyn Nemoto, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rather pricey for the room with a view of the street and sounds of same!

Paying for location which was not horrible, but certainly not what was described.

Rather difficult for taxi cabs and other vehicle service to drop off and pick up people as they are not allowed to drive up to the door of the hotel. We had to haul our luggage across a busy street and then into the hotel. No luggage racks available. It's a crowded area and traveling with children and hauling luggage, etc. was a concern.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We just spent Labor Day weekend in an OCEANFRONT room. The view of Waikiki Beach was spectacular, especially since I like to surf at Queen's/Canoe's. The room itself needs updating, but having stayed here many times before, we knew what to expect. The staff was friendly and helpful.

What was disappointing was the LOUD music coming from the 24 Hour Fitness located on a lower floor at 9 am. Sunday morning. I work out 6-7 times a week, so I understand that people like to exercise. But, the music was so loud it made enjoying the view from our lanai impossible. I'm sure other guests were impacted as well.

I am a kamaaina, live here on Oahu, and want our tourist to have a pleasant stay in Waikiki. I hope that management can handle this problem in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms are very ordinary, but the location is terrific. Also, if you get an OCEANFRONT room, the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Aloha OahusquidX,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.
As a Kama'aina resident & being familiar with hotels here, we are delighted you choose us as your staycation home. Also, I will discuss your comment with the management team regarding the loud noises from our fitness center. I apologize for the inconvenience it caused you. It is feedback like yours that helps us improve our daily operations to better serve our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share it & we look forward to serving our fellow Ohana member again!

Mahalo,

Jocelyn Nemoto
Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We reserved two double bed rooms facing Diamond Head. We stayed on 36th floor (far/above from wakiki noise) but can see how any place near Wakiki can be noisy. We were here for 3 nights and enjoyed everything about this hotel.

Location: Right across various type of beaches. Due to seawall, part of it is very kid friendly but on the open side (across Honolulu Zoo), its great for snorkeling or surfing.
public transportation: You dont need to rent a car if you are staying here as bus service in Honolulu is great.
Pool and Laundry: Kids enjoyed the pool and Jacuzzi. We enjoyed the fact that we were able to travel light as a coin laundry was available in this hotel.
Rooms: We might have stayed in a recently updated room, but it was a bargain for the price that we paid. Beautiful room (ours was 3662)

Room Tip: Select higher floors as Wakiki can be a bit noisy sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha NitinKG,

Thank you for your positive feedback!
We are delighted and thank you again for choosing your stay with us.

We are very pleased to hear how much you and your kids enjoyed our hotel & amenities.
We look forward to welcoming all of you back in the near future.

Mahalo A Hui Hou!
Jocelyn Nemoto, Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. The hotel's centerpiece is the 3-story indoor Oceanarium attraction with over 70 different species of Pacific marine life. Full service hotel with 839 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, spa, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.