We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience plus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE Upgrade to Oceanview
Ranked #41 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenience plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Straight across from Waikiki Beach and easy walking distance from everything in Waikiki + on bus routes. Room clean and comfortable & great value. Beach towels provided. Breakfast buffet in the Oceanarium was excellent. Service friendly. A number of tour desks located within hotel so made it easy to book everything on site. We stayed 4 nights prior to island hopping & then returned for 1 night at end of our stay & got to experience both towers. Go for the front beachside tower. Pool was chilly as in afternoon shade but the spa was great. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for room in the front beachside tower - partial or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    676
    281
    118
    85
See reviews for
453
525
71
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was delighted that my first trip to Hawaii found me in this very well located hotel. We had a room overlooking Waikiki Beach which was great. The room was comfortable, very clean and best of all, quiet, despite the hotel's location in the centre of things. The access to restaurants, bus routes, the beach, walking, nightlife, pick-up points for tours and shopping couldn't be better. I would have liked a convenient ATM in the hotel as well as Wifi, but there was access to these in nearby hotels, so it wasn't a big deal. The staff were also great.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a beach view. The sunsets are spectacular, and for people watching, it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zena K, Social Media Ambassador at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Aloha Carmel,

Thank you for taking the time to to give us your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable room and you found our location to be perfect. Close to shops, transportation, dining and Waikiki Beach. Our property offers fantastic views of Diamond Head, the beach and Waikiki Strip. Our staff is great and our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and hospitable experience. We hope you had a lovely first time to Hawaii vacation and appreciate your review.

Mahalo nui loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, WI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we booked an ocean front room to celebrate our anniversary. The room was clean and everyone at the hotel was very friendly. Beach towels are provided, which was nice. Although the pool was on the cool side, the hot tub was wonderful. The hotel is across the road from the beach, which is convenient, however you don't have the "feel" of an ocean front room until around 1:00 a.m. when the traffic slows down and you can then hear the ocean. The street is pretty busy and you can hear the traffic, even on the 10th floor. the location is excellent. It is within walking distance of other restaurants and shopping. And tour groups picked us up at our hotel.

If you like a large breakfast, it is best to book the breakfast with the room and take advantage of the discount. It has a variety of American and Japenese foods and fresh fruit. The orange juice seemed watered down. They charge a little over $20 for it normally but its discounted when booking a room with it. Although there is a McDonalds accross the street and an Egg restaurant a short walk away.

There is a restaurant outside of the hotel that cooks on a wood fire grill. The large lobster tail was excellent.

There was some negative reviews on this site, but we had a wonderful stay. We were in room 1025.

Room Tip: The higher the better to cut down on street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zena K, Social Media Ambassador at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha BirmanGirl,

Welcome to the islands! We are pleased to hear that you chose us to celebrate your anniversary and that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is great! Close to restaurants, shops, the Waikiki Strip and right across from our beautiful Waikiki Beach. We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our gorgeous view of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach from your oceanfront room. Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and friendly staff. Our team strives to meet our guest expectations and makes sure they have a memorable experience during their stay. Thank you again for your feedback and hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Mahalo nui loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Pacific Beach in October for the 3rd time, the first being 20 years ago.It is not the most modern hotel in Hawaii, but it is clean, the food is lovely and the staff could not be better. We requested an Oceanfront room, and the view was magnificent.The hotel location is SO convenient and a lot less expensive than the more upmarket hotels.We will not hesitate to stay there again and I often recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: I would suggest that if possible , book an oceanfront room. It is a bit noisy but really worth the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zena K, Social Media Ambassador at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha Tonilab,

We appreciate your continued business and your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you found our location to be perfect and your room clean. Our Oceanfront room panoramic view is really magnificent. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our Oceanarium restaurant and our friendly staff. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Mahalo nui loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was really friendly from the restaurant to front desk. The room was quiet and mostly clean. The room was quite big with a nice partial ocean view. The bathroom was very small but it worked. We did the breakfast buffet on the first day. The waiter gave us a 30% off coupon (yay!). There was a lot of variety and a huge selection of yummy Japanese breakfast food. The aquarium in the restaurant was very cool. Being right across the road from the beach was really nice too. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Yes, the rooms are dated, but ours was clean, and pretty comfortable. We were booked into a room with two double beds, which are too small, so we were very graciously moved to a room with one king (on the 25th floor) with great views of pool, beach and area. We never used the pool. just went across the street to the ocean.
The restaurants on site were outrageously expensive, but there are so many in walking distance it wasn't a problem.
The hotel staff were very polite and accommodating; although they were stingy with the coffee packets in the room. When I asked for extras, housekeeping told me we were only supposed to get one packet each of decaf and regular, but as we like our coffee strong, and a couple cups in the morning, I wanted 4 regular packets each day. It was a challenge, but we did get them.

Room Tip: get up high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbygrayce, Public Relations Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha Kslinger,

We truly appreciate your taking the time to give us feed-back - it only helps us get better. I will pass your comments on to our executive team along with the department heads. You are so right we have a great beach location and close to everything. I am sorry you found the restaurant too expensive - not a comment we get often and I will pass on to our restaurant manager. The buffet is award winning and loved by locals and guests alike and has so much variety - something for everyone showcased by our Oceanarium - we truly offer a one-of-kind dining experience. Our team is looking into the in-room coffee issue and I have passed your comments along. Again, thank you so much for the feedback - and we hope you will come and visit us again in the near future. If I can be of any assistance at all please let me know - I can be reached at 808-441-4857 or graycem@hthcorp.com A hui Hou....Grayce McCullough Corporate Director of Public Relations and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
498 helpful votes 498 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Most visitors to Waikiki know about the Waikiki Aquarium, up the Diamond Head end of Kalakaua Avenue just a ten minute stroll from all the shops and hotels (open 9am to 4pm, entry $9). But very few visitors know about the huge Oceanarium in the Pacific Beach Hotel on Kalakaua Avenue, not far from the centre of all the shops and hotels, and right opposite Waikiki Beach itself.

I think it's one of the hidden 'sights' of Waikiki.

The Oceanarium is actually the restaurant of the Pacific Beach Hotel. From the hotel's Front Desk, you walk down the curved stairway to the restaurant, and take a table beside an enormous two-storey aquarium, Its huge plate-class windows allow you to stare at sharks and rays and turtles and schools of fish swimming past. Twice a day, divers feed the fish as well.

It's one of the most interesting views of any restaurant in Hawaii. The Oceanarium Restaurant serves a buffet Brunch from 8am to 3pm, and a buffet dinner from 4pm to 10pm. It costs $46.95 (or $20 for kids under 11).

But you don't have to eat there if you just want to call by and see the Oceanarium. I never knew this place existed, until my partner Kathie (who once stayed at this hotel and enjoyed its location across the road from Waikiki Beach) took me in there for a look. I stood on the curved stairway and, I admit, I was amazed. The Oceanarium is BIG. And it's unique. There are a few other hotels around the world with a restaurant in or beside a huge fish-tank. They usually make a big fuss about having such an attraction in their hotel. The Pacific Beach Hotel in Waikiki doesn't make a big fuss about it, but they should. It's an unusual experience.

Next time you're in Waikiki, make sure you call into the Pacific Beach Hotel, and at least see the Oceanarium Restaurant. It's definitely worth a look!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbygrayce, Public Relations Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha Onero,

Thank you so much for all of your great comments on our Oceanarium we are so please you enjoyed your time. We are so proud of both the attraction and the wonderful Oceanarium Restaurant.......a true delight for both young and old. Next time you are in Waikiki - be sure to check-out the special "Mermaid" dives which happen twice each evening. You will be happy to know that the nightly buffet for adults is now $44.95 person - a great value for all the variety. Again, we truly appreicate all your comments and if I can be of any assistance on your next visit to Hawaii - please let me know. I can be reached at 808-441-4857 or graycem@hthcorp.com. A Hui Hou - Grayce McCullough, Corporate Director of Public Relations and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. The hotel’s centerpiece is the 3-story indoor Oceanarium attraction with over 70 different species of Pacific marine life. Full service hotel with 837 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, spa, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.