We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Secret Oceanarium!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE Upgrade to Oceanview
Ranked #38 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
495 helpful votes 495 helpful votes
“The Secret Oceanarium!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Most visitors to Waikiki know about the Waikiki Aquarium, up the Diamond Head end of Kalakaua Avenue just a ten minute stroll from all the shops and hotels (open 9am to 4pm, entry $9). But very few visitors know about the huge Oceanarium in the Pacific Beach Hotel on Kalakaua Avenue, not far from the centre of all the shops and hotels, and right opposite Waikiki Beach itself.

I think it's one of the hidden 'sights' of Waikiki.

The Oceanarium is actually the restaurant of the Pacific Beach Hotel. From the hotel's Front Desk, you walk down the curved stairway to the restaurant, and take a table beside an enormous two-storey aquarium, Its huge plate-class windows allow you to stare at sharks and rays and turtles and schools of fish swimming past. Twice a day, divers feed the fish as well.

It's one of the most interesting views of any restaurant in Hawaii. The Oceanarium Restaurant serves a buffet Brunch from 8am to 3pm, and a buffet dinner from 4pm to 10pm. It costs $46.95 (or $20 for kids under 11).

But you don't have to eat there if you just want to call by and see the Oceanarium. I never knew this place existed, until my partner Kathie (who once stayed at this hotel and enjoyed its location across the road from Waikiki Beach) took me in there for a look. I stood on the curved stairway and, I admit, I was amazed. The Oceanarium is BIG. And it's unique. There are a few other hotels around the world with a restaurant in or beside a huge fish-tank. They usually make a big fuss about having such an attraction in their hotel. The Pacific Beach Hotel in Waikiki doesn't make a big fuss about it, but they should. It's an unusual experience.

Next time you're in Waikiki, make sure you call into the Pacific Beach Hotel, and at least see the Oceanarium Restaurant. It's definitely worth a look!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbygrayce, Public Relations Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha Onero,

Thank you so much for all of your great comments on our Oceanarium we are so please you enjoyed your time. We are so proud of both the attraction and the wonderful Oceanarium Restaurant.......a true delight for both young and old. Next time you are in Waikiki - be sure to check-out the special "Mermaid" dives which happen twice each evening. You will be happy to know that the nightly buffet for adults is now $44.95 person - a great value for all the variety. Again, we truly appreicate all your comments and if I can be of any assistance on your next visit to Hawaii - please let me know. I can be reached at 808-441-4857 or graycem@hthcorp.com. A Hui Hou - Grayce McCullough, Corporate Director of Public Relations and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    413
    669
    278
    117
    82
See reviews for
444
516
71
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, right across the street from Waikiki Beach. Its in walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. Many of the tour companies stop at the Pacific Beach for pick up & drop off, which makes it very convenient. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place. The rooms are outdated and no microwave! How else was I suppose to heat my leftover Cheesecake Factory!! Oceanview is facing the parking lot and the view is a far distance away. The restaurant is very expensive for dinner but we had passes for breakfast daily which was good. Although, there wasnt much of a variety on the buffet menu...the same every day. The fresh fruit was awesome. The amenities were limited but there is so much sightseeing/activities in Oahu, we didnt spend much time hanging out in the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Again, the location is the best part of Pacific Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

we have stayed at this hotel twice within the last 10 years and found it to be one of the best hotels to stay. the staff are wonderful and the main attraction is the two storey aquairium where you can sit while having you meals watching the tranquility of the fish swimming bye also the divers going in to fed the sharks. it is across the road from Wakiki beach where you can either relax or join in the actiivities.
Great Place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbygrayce, Public Relations Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Aloha TerrylynWales,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing as we truly welcome all feed-back as it only helps us get better. We appreciate you choosing the Pacific Beach Hotel and for staying with us over the last 10 years. Your loyalty is wonderful and we hope to see you more in the future. Our Oceanarium Restaurant is showcased by our 280K gallon Oceanarium - a delight to watch for all ages - young and old. Our nightly Mermaid Dive is one of a kind - we are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Your so right our location is the best - just 60 short steps to the one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Again thank you so much.....and I would be delighted to look after your reservation on your next visit - I can be reach at 808-441-4857 or graycem@hthcorp.com. A Hui Hou......Grayce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel has such a great location, right across the street from the beach at Waikiki and just outside the high-traffic area, but close enough to be in the thick of everything in just 2-3 minutes walk. With an ocean-front room this is just made even better, wonderful sized balcony with perfect sunsets every evening.

The hotel is clean, fresh, (if ever so slightly dated) and all staff are friendly and helpful. I don't understand any of the previous negative reviews. During our visit the majority of guests seemed to be from Japan. This gives the hotel a wonderful atmosphere of actually being somewhere "exotic" and gives the added bonus of green tea in the rooms.

Would I stay here again? Definiteky!
Was I content with the stay? Absolutely.
Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes, yes, yes!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1025, an "end" room facing the beach with a balcony view in two directio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was good, it is right in the middle of everything on wakiki beach- you can shop 5 mins after leaving the hotel and of course the beach is right across the street. We had great maid service beds were made with clean sheets and they provide beach towels so no need to pack beach towels. We stayed on the 9th floor and the only drawback was our room backed up to the elevator,it was a little annoying at times but hey we were in Hawaii so we didnt care. They did charge $20/ night for parking which is weird since you already paid for the room. You have to remember which floor you park on in the parking garage and you cannot get to the inside of the hotel from the parking garage elevators which was a pain if you had packages...we had a complimentary b-fast every morning even thou it was the same everyday we ate it. They do cater to Asia/Japenese but then again the whole island is full of them and they tend to be rude, dont say excuse me when they walk into you or cross over in front of you. Overall we plan on returning in the future and would stay at Pac Beach again. P.S NO FREE WIFI!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Ocean front rooms have a nice view of the beach, and of the street bums camped out on the park benches. The hotel is across the street from the beach. The food is overpriced the bbq is served cold, and the breakfast buffet is terrible. Expect to pay $20 a day for parking, and $10 a day for wired internet. Also the elevator in the beach tower is very slow and no A/C, all in all skip Waikiki and head for the north shore....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

10 day stay at the top of the tower. Spectacular view from our balcony and the room was large and airy. Perfect accommodations. My only concern was that the pool deck closes early and we could not enjoy an evening swim or access laundry facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. The hotel’s centerpiece is the 3-story indoor Oceanarium attraction with over 70 different species of Pacific marine life. Full service hotel with 837 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, spa, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.