We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Waikiki to your Saves list
Sheraton Waikiki
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here in November 2012. The staff are extremely helpful and polite and always greet you with a smile. The rooms are always clean and we had no problems. There are a few pools to choose from and they were great too. I could certainly highly recommend this for anyone to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    1,403
    575
    224
    167
See reviews for
1,204
1,265
105
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First impression of the hotel was, wow the exterior entrance and lobby is amazing. After u check in and are walking towards the elevator, you have a direct view if the ocean overlooking the vanishing edge pool.

Kiddie pools, adult pool, and a water slide to choose from made the water experience enjoyable for my 2 yr old son. Un enjoyable part was anyone from any hotel can enter and use the facilities, which made it feel very crowded. Umbrella recliners are available for rent at $45 per day, too pricey for my blood...I opted for the free recliners in the sun without the umbrella.

Rooms were $350/night, I was thinking Wynn or Venetian status...not even close. Think flamingo or circus circus.

Bathroom was looking like it was remodeled 20 years ago, tub was outdated, toilet was small (not the elongated ones), and size of the bathrooms was On the small side. Room was very spacious at 280 sq ft, city view. ocean view would have been 240 sq ft.

Rumfire lounge had a breathtaking view, diamondhead to the west, endless ocean straight ahead, and torches made it feel tropical at night.

I have stayed at many Starwood properties and this has to be just an average property. Location is awesome, I m just so very disappointed in the appeal of the room for the price (or lack of appeal).

Room Tip: Get ocean view, saw maid cleaning one of the rooms and the view was amazing.. Management, r u guy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had the good fortune to stay at the Sheraton Waikiki for 6 days while at a conference. The pool area was wondeful to sit and eat breakfast while looking over the ocean at sunrise (expensive though). The room was comfortable and room servicee excellent, the complementary daily bottle of water (free with the resort charge of $12 per day) was very welcomed. The hotle was close to shopping and restaurants, an easy walk so no cabs needed. The beach was easily accessible as well for morning exercise, gorgeous to walk beside the ocean before sunrise with few people about, quiet, peaceful and the beginiing of a beautiful day.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra it is worth having an ocean view room, if not then ask for a city view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have been coming to the Sheraton Waikiki for 28 years now. We meet people that go the same time every year. Meet our friends who work at the resort --- from the housekeepers to the groundskeepers, to the wonderful people who work in the sandwich shop ( Ingredients). Not to mention the department heads who check with us to make sure things are great for our vacation. Cannot say enough about the location, views of Diamondhead -- the turtles swimming in the bay to be seen from the Infinity pool. We will be back next year if not sooner!!!

Room Tip: If you can be in the middle to higher rooms that is fine because you have the fastest elevators know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Ocean view room and we were only expecting a partial ocean view room. Wonderful upgrade. Watched the turtles right from our balcony. Did a Globus hotel cruise tour. They did a fine job,met us at the airport, took the two of us to the hotel in a full size bus. We really thought that was over the top. So funny. The tour included all breakfasts, one dinner, a tour of Pearl Harbour and a theatre production. Saved a lot of money.
The hotel had excellent shops. The infinity pool and hot tub were excellent. They had a hula dancer and fire dancers in the evening. The cocktails were not up to par. Actually sent one back. Gorgeous sunsets right from our balcony. Hardly any reason to leave the hotel. Everything was right there. We will return.

Room Tip: Request ocean front it is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've spent a lot of time in the Hawaiian Islands, but I haven't been in Honolulu lately - wow! what a change. Honolulu seems more Japanese than American these days.

The Sheraton Waikiki is one of the largest hotels on the beach, wedged between the Royal Hawaiian, smaller local hotels and the Great Big Hilton Hawaiian Village, the staff does a great job handling the influx of visitors and guests. The hotel is big, I'd guess it has something like 1200 rooms and everything about it reflects the size and location.

The club room is beautiful, located on the 30th floor, but the food offered and the quality of the wine poured at happy hour is pretty average, reflecting the large population of the inn. Breakfast in the club room is also very average, but compared to the $30+ per head that you'll pay at the hotel restaurant for very average fare, I guess it's a bargin.

The unique feature of the hotel is the pool - it's lovely and offers some really fun little floating bean-bag like waders that pernits you to sit and enjoy the view of the water and the other guests. Drinks at the pool will set you back about $12 a piece plus tips, so consider long before you indulge. A short walk across the street will half that price - but you'll have to get dressed first.

There's not much else to say - it's a big place with an efficient staff who manages this large crowd well. Just the same, I'll look for a smaller place with a little breathing room for my next visit to Honolulu.

Room Tip: The nightlife is noisy, so if you get a beachfront unit, make sure that you get a room above the 15t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Due to a last minute request to come to Honolulu, we booked the Sheraton at the last minute. We have stayed here, before, so we knew a little of what to expect. It was a lot more crowded than in the past. My sister & brother-in-law (first time in Waikiki) were a little overwhelmed at first. But the check in was quick & easy. The room was nice. The bathroom needs updating. The location is fabulous. Go out the front, you've got a bustling city full of shops & restaurants. Go out the back, you have the beautiful Waikiki beach with a lovely view of Diamond Head.
Both pools, especially the Infinity pool, are lovely. Unfortunately they are both so packed with people you can't find a chair to sit on & you can't go in either pool since they were packed from early morning until night with people. One thing I find most irritating is the fact that many people leave their towels on the lounge chairs for hours while they are off shopping or sight seeing. This leaves other guests who would like to enjoy the pool area out. When I asked the hotel what to do, they suggested we get towels the night before, then wake up early & leave them on the chairs. I don't think so. So we opted to stay on the beautiful beach instead ($47 to rent two lounges & an umbrella all day). The hotel is close to our two favorite restaurants, the Hula Grill & Dukes, so that was a plus. The food by the pool is good, also, just more pricey. We had a very good time, all in all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.