We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great un-obstructed view of the ocean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Waikiki to your Saves list
Sheraton Waikiki
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great un-obstructed view of the ocean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This property has been renovated and looks great. They have rocking-chairs next to a Koi pond which was a very relaxing place to sit, rock and enjoy the view of the Ocean and the very well kept garden between the Royal Hawaiian Hotel and the Sheraton Waikiki. It is a very quiet area away from the busy Waikiki area.The best check-in agent I have ever experienced - she was fantastic. I wasn't overly impressed with the over-priced buffet breakfast at Kai's. A block & half away is fantastic food on Kuhio St. at 1/4th the price for all food. Great to have my favorite coffee house on the property - Peet's. Rum Fire has a great view of the Ocean - but they have a very limited over-priced menu - mainly 'small-dishes'. The 2-pools were great with one being 'Adults-only'. The room was very clean and adequate with a fantastic un-obsgtructed view of the Ocean and Pool Area (if you are on the Ocean side of the Hotel). Since I had two very comfortable beds - there was no place to sit except on the bed. I did notice in other rooms that had a King-bed - - there was available seating with a table. Storage was very limited - but in Hawaii you don't need a lot of clothes !!! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: For a better & quieter stay - - get a room on the Ocean side over the Pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,339
    1,469
    604
    231
    178
See reviews for
1,269
1,323
109
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki for 6 nights in April. First impressions of the hotel were great, beautiful lobby with lots of shops and an intricate sand sculpture by the elevators. The pool area was nice as well though the adult only infinity pool was small and the deck was crammed with lounge chairs. The staff was great and everyone said Aloha when you walked by. We were asked at check in how many guests would be in the room and replied 2. However when we got to your room there were 4 beds in it! Two queens, one full, and one twin all in one room (assume we were assigned a family room for some reason). The sheets on all the beds were ripped and stained, as were the curtains and carpets. The bathroom appeared to have been updated but to a poor standard as there were still cracks in the tiles and missing grout everywhere. Everything was simply dirty. I was not expecting luxury but I was expecting clean bedding. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are very sorry to learn of your experience. We welcome you to contact us directly at 377GuestExperienceTeam@Sheraton.com so we can get some more details from you regarding the room. From your description it sounds like the room you were in was one in the category we were updating in May-June however we would like to make sure everything has been resolved. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to connecting with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here with our family for our wedding and vacation. There were plenty of things to do around the hotel, especially for the kids. Our 5yo daughter never ran out of activities, like crafts, pool games, the beach and the nearby zoo and aquarium. There are 2 pools, one is primarily for adult guests and the other for families, which makes it nice for a wide range of visitors.
Every staff member we interacted with was friendly and very helpful. In fact I found it refreshing that they were genuinely helpful verse the typical helpful in hopes of a tip, since several of them were either surprised or refused a tip.
The $25 resort charge had good value since it covered several things that would have easily resulted in a much larger daily bill.
Rooms were decent, clean and had plenty of room as well as a nice balcony (Lanai). Finding the in-room fridge was a bit odd, since it was hidden in the night stand. The beds were comfortable and you really couldn't hear too much noise.
Normally, I am put off by "included" breakfast at hotels, especially so-called buffets, and I even said to our group that I would more than likely only go to it once, but their buffet, Kai Market, is actually quite good and we ended up eating there almost every day. They cater to both American and Oriental in the variety of food options plus there are a lot of fresh fruits, healthier options and made to order eggs and omelets.
Room service and pool side service is something I normally avoid due to it usually being overly expensive, but the Sheraton is fairly reasonable, especially by the pool.
I am not a big fan of Mai Tai's, but the Rumfire bar and grill (near the pool) signature mai tai is pretty good.
Safety is decent, I was a bit worried about what to expect on the strip, near the hotel, because of stories I had heard. but I felt reasonably comfortable walking around the area.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: "Partial ocean view" actually means you are looking at the Halekulani Resort and the Parc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Aside from the rooms, I absolutely loved this property. It is very conveniently located, literally right behind the Royal Hawaiian Center, where you can grab coffee (Island Vintage Coffee is the BEST), food, & snacks. Our kids (12 & 9 yr olds) loved the swimming pool - there's a waterfall, waterslide, and a Baskin Robbins at the pool! They also have a nice adults-only infinity pool, dole-whip on site, and 2 Peet's Coffee stands. It's a beautiful property. However, the room is less than desirable, it is seriously one of the WORST hotel rooms I've stayed in. It's small, smells musky, there's no dressers to put away your clothes (weird), stains on the walls/floor, old bathroom fixtures... it is like a Motel 6 room. With that said, it was still worth putting up with the nasty room, for the location & the swimming pool/beach. One weird experience we had here - my husband went surfing early in the morning and tucked away his brand-new "Hawaiian Island Creation" flip flops behind a bush near the swimming pool and when he returned, it was gone! He reported it to the hotel, but they brushed him off, saying theft is common in that area. REALLY??

Room Tip: Don't come here for a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My daughter and son-in-law were beginning their Honeymoon at this hotel and I wanted to do something special for them upon their arrival. With help and coordination between Room Service and the Restaurant Manager Mark. Mclver, I was able to surprise them nicely as they checked into the hotel. The service provided by Mark and Room Service personnel was exceptional and I appreciate it very much.
Thank you, Michael DeConti

Room Tip: If you have a special request; ask and they will do what they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spent 5 days here so have a pretty good sense of the hotel/area.

Location - I would call it in the heart of Waikiki, a stone's throw from the Royal Hawaiian Plaza and a hub for all Japanese tourists. If you want to be in Waikiki or this is your first time, perfect. Also right on the beach so quick access from hotel room to beach.

Restaurants - Rumfire is great for lunch. Same with the outdoor patio dining. The breakfast/dinner buffets are steep and I would personally avoid them. You can walk a block and get great food for much less. There is also a market downstairs where you can get fresh salads and light foods. There are free utensils and a microwave for you to use so make use of the minifridge in your room and eat some leftovers the next day.

Hotel room - I would call this a 3 star. The hotel is a bit dated and they tried to do the quick cosmetic makeovers. Removed a standard desk in the front of the room and replaced it with a float foot wide shelf. Creates the illusion of more space. The "desk" is basically now part of the nightstand. As a SPG Gold member, I had the strange fortune of being placed in a rear facing "mountain view" room. This is terrible. Avoid it. 6am in the morning you start hearing delivery trucks and all sorts of odd noises. You must face the ocean. PERIOD. Once nice touch is that all the sliding doors have a reflective coating so you don't need to close the curtains for privacy.

There is a "resort" fee which is 25/day and pretty much standard. You get parking, internet, and a free photo, and free participation in some activities like hula dancing and lei making. If you have a car this is worth it. Internet speeds / connections were strong in the room.

The beds and pillows were awful. Awful. Need to be replaced.

Maid service was a bit inconsistent. One day the ice bag wasn't replaced, One day there wasn't a floor towel. Room seemed a bit dusty in a couple of corners.

Bathroom - standard tub/shower with a extended shower curtain. Paint had seen better days.

Hotel events - a lot of small events for you such as mentioned above with lei making etc. Some require a small fee, some require a bigger fee. A couple events like bracelet making and turtle painting really should be free but are $12. a bit pricey for the kids.

Other - there are lots of shops in the ground floor, cookies, clothes, a convenience store, and the mall is across the front entry. Anything you need you can get easily.

30th floor Club Lounge - wonderful view, nice if you have access

Staff overall was fast and efficient. No issues at all with any small needs.

Room Tip: face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I went to the front desk twice and two different individuals both said that the line was only for platinum members. I'm a gold member. I guess that means I have to wait in the normal line with 20 ppl ahead of me. I've never received such crappy service from a Starwood chain. Really makes me want to go back to Hilton.

The only good thing about this place is the pool.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Starwood, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.