We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One employee stood out above the rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Waikiki to your Saves list
Sheraton Waikiki
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One employee stood out above the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I stay at the Sheraton Waikiki at least twice a year and most years 3+ times. I like to relax at the infinity pool and each time without fail Cyndy (pool concierge & activities) is the nicest and most helpful person I have ever encountered at the Sheraton. Whether I'm booking an activity or just have a question she goes out of her way to make me as the guest feel like the most important person staying at the hotel. I will be honest and say it is one of the reasons I enjoy coming back. All the employees are generally helpful but she stands out above the rest without question. Hope to see you on my next visit Cyndy. Mahalo!
-Scott

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    1,440
    591
    226
    170
See reviews for
1,234
1,301
106
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the moment I walked into the room I was disappointed with the cleanliness and it got worse as my 8 night stay went on.

I requested the hotel release me so I can stay at the Royal Hawaiian (affiliated hotel) and pay the additional nightly rate however they refused.

To name a few of the issues - blood stained downa, yellow staining to downa and bed skirt (looked like urine), bathroom unclean, waste on floor, hair (not belonging to me) on bathroom vanity, torn sheets and garbage bin not emptied for 2 days.

The housekeeping manager inspected the room and agreed that it was unacceptable so they carried out what they called a "deep clean". I also noted to the hotel that I thought the Sheraton was a luxury hotel brand only to be told that it is their family brand. That doesn't explain why this level of cleanliness is acceptable even if it is their family brand hotel.

There are 3 things the hotel does actually have going for it - location, view & adults pool.

Hawaii is a fantastic destination and we have already booked again for next year, just won’t be staying at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience with us. Our management team is aware of the situation and are working with the housekeeping team to ensure these issues do not occur in the future. We apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and welcome you to contact us directly at 377GeustExperienceTeam@Sheraton.com. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to connecting with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A family holiday here in July and it was amazing. We booked a sea view suite which was fantastic as our son has his own room with separate bathroom which he was thrilled with. The food was brilliant - especially the bread and cakes available at breakfast, I couldn't get enough of that. My only gripe would be the location as we like to walk a lot and where it is situated there isn't a nice promenade or much in the vicinity that make walking a pleasure, but other than that we hope to return sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Sheraton was one of three hotels in Waikiki that we stayed at. Despite its size and the crowds, we felt the front desk service to be outstanding and personal. We were upgraded and given the room of our choice by the extremely personable front desk staff. The pool area was busy but somehow still relaxing. Some people at the adult infinity pool would place towels on lounges and leave the pool area to reserve the chair. We just pushed the towels aside and made use of empty chairs as needed. I'm sorry, but no guest is entitled to a lounge chair when they are not in the pool area. There are thousands of guests and a handful of chairs - do the math people! Location was superb, and even when staying at the Royal Hawaiian, we would come swim at the family pool here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We traveled with two children and an infant. We had a Malia suite which is a bedroom, living room, and large dressing area attached to a small bathroom. The crib was a nice roll a way, not just a pack n play and we put it in the large dressing area which had two sinks, as it is essentially a bonus room. We were on the 19th floor with a view that impressed! We found beach access to be easy and a nice part of the beach. Kids loved the pool and the "fun crew" who entertain kids at the pool. Wi-fi was a bit annoying as you had to keep logging in each time you accessed it. The bath/toilet room were small and dated and had no fan which is strange since there's no window; really needs a fan. Housekeeping was efficient. Front desk seemed irritated that we called a couple of times for new crib sheets. Our baby was ill; we didn't like to feel as though we were putting anyone out but we did need clean sheets for her.

Highly recommend the Club lounge rate. Food was very good, service friendly, and it is very convenient. Children were treated well. It's a good value.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Sheraton Waikiki is in the middle of the action in Waikiki and a beautifully renovated venue for visitors and locals. The swimming pool is a centerpiece and a wonderful playground for adults and kids. The rooms are roomy and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have been to this property before and so I was really looking forward to coming back to the Sheraton. I wasnt disappointed. The room this time was an Ocean Front room looking right at Waikiki Beach. The view was spectacular. Check in was very fast and efficient and we were in our room by 1.30pm which was great as I was expecting to wait for a room.

The pool was again a hit with the kids. Still far too much chlorine in it for their little eyes. But nothing goggles wouldnt fix. The sea wall has all been recently fixed and the turtles are still in residence there so it was fun sitting on the beach watching the sunset and the turtles.

The kids eat free package is excellent value, and so made eating in house for breakfast very good value. We also did the seafood buffet dinner for the cost of 2 adults which was excellent value.

Great hotel and now that carparking and wifi are included in the resort fee it just makes this hotel a really good value option.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Ocean Front and request it facing Waikiki Beach you wont be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.