We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and beautiful grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Waikiki to your Saves list
Sheraton Waikiki
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ideal location and beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

You absolutely cannot beat the location - right in the heart of Waikiki. The resort itself was gorgeous with great restaraunts & shops nearby. The room itself was fine - large, which was great for us, travelling with an 11 yr old, but was very bare. It seemed like there was furniture missing. There was no dresser, only nightstands, a wall mounted TV and chair with leg rest and mini-desk attached to it. it was very clean and the staff was great. Waikiki is not the sort of place that you want to spend a ton of time in the room, so again this was no concern for us.

Room Tip: Great location - large rooms, but don't expect much furniture, you will need to live out of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    1,383
    570
    219
    163
See reviews for
1,187
1,249
102
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great Sheraton property right on the beach at Waikiki. A King sized bed in an ocean facing room with views along the beach. The adults pool was a nice retreat with no U16s permitted. The bean bags in the pool were also a nice way to relax of an afternoon. The Rumfire club was a great post dinner venue for a few drinks and with an array of shops, restautants and daily activities you don't need to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: Get an ocean facing room. It's worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 10/30/12 through 11/5/12 and had a great time. Having researched the hotel and Waikiki on Trip Advisor before booking I had a good idea of what to expect. First you want a low key, relaxing Hawaiian resort vacation Waikiki is not the place. Waikiki is a ton of energy with getting shopping, dining , bars and people watching but it’s very high energy with a lot of people.
But back the Sheraton, here are a few of the positive…
1.Great location, shops, food , entertainment is all steps away, no need for a car to explore Waikiki
2.Great beach bars on site – Rum Fire was great in the evening and the Edge pool bar was also very good (I only had drinks at both places)
3.Pools – compared to other hotels on Waikiki it nice pools a adult only infinity pool and a larger family friendly pool with a slide
4.Rooms with a view - had partial ocean view and a great few of the city and ocean. Walking the Waikiki Beach it seems that most hotels have limited rooms with view

The main negative of the hoel was the pool chair– while the pools are the nicest on Waikiki, there is in no way enough chairs for 1700 rooms, I assumed being there in the “off season” would be it easier to find a good spot but I would get down to the infinity pool by 8:00 am and most chairs were already taken! The worst part was people would not show up to the chairs until 10:00 am or later. I saw on our last day the pool attendants move towels off of chair people had reserved with towel/books etc after a 2 or so hours. We ended up renting the cabanas in front (awesome view) for 2 days but at $62/day it got a little pricey. I cannot image how early you have to get up to get a chair during busy season.
Also, the walls are paper thin - the people next to us had 2 small kids and a little baby that cried every night, bring ear plugs.

Overall I thought this was a good hotel for what we paid ($250/night) and one of the better options right on the beach in Waikiki. However, I feel this hotel would feel packed during busier months.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was fortunate to travel to Hawaii for work in August 2012. The hotel is centrally located in Waikiki on the beach which is awesome. The hotel itself is huge, probably the biggest I have stayed. After a long flight we arrived at the hotel to be faced with a queue longer than I have ever experienced. Due to the size of the hotel there are guests checking in all the time, a mixture of our conference party and others. Check in staff were great, cheerful and friendly . Pools are overcrowded from the kids pool to the adults pool overlooking the ocean. When we had time to use this pool it was packed. The fitness facilities were great. The use of the Internet and wifi was severely restrictive during our time due to technical issues and queues to use the computers in the lobby. The lobby, lifts and floor lobby were not air conditioned, this was fairly uncomfortable as this was still a warm time of the year. There are some fantastic restaurants and bars onsite. Rum Fire was the best, good food , great service and atmosphere. Overall I would not bring my family here, to overcrowded, busy and impersonal. I would have expected better of Sheraton, unfortunately I was disappointed. This may suit others but its not for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well, the MIL surprised me and the hubby with an overnight stay at the Sheraton Waikiki for his birthday.

Overall, the hotel has improved in accommodations and amenities since we last stayed there over five years ago. The room with a single king bed was spacious and clean. It also included a surprise or hint...a crib. Needless to say we got it removed from the room. It was a city view room with a large balcony. The furniture was comfortable. The bathroom had adequate counter space and included a hair dryer. Along with a coffee maker there was a separate appliace for boiling water. I appreciated this as we could enjoy tea that did not taste like coffee.

Service was standard with the best service being at the buffet breakfast. The infinity pool over the ocean is beautiful, but small. The landscaping is beautiful. The location is very convenient to lots of dining and shopping options in Waikiki. There are several shopping and dining options in the hotel itself. I definitely recommend the breakfast buffet.

Great stay with family for a happy occasion.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this property for a single night. Checkin was a breeze and we were given a certificate for a bottle fo champagne (as we were on our last night of our honeymoon before heading back home). The hotel is bustling and there is a lot going on. Our room was very standard and almost stark, but it did the trick (the bed was a bit stiff and we could feel the coils).
We strolled the Wakiki beach and experienced the sunset from their onproperty lounge Rum Fire.
We had a redeye flight the next day and the hotel was able to accomodate us for super-late check out (7pm) for an additional $100 fee. All in all, a good experience.
The infinity pool was packed and the pool scene was hoppin, the Edge restaurant by the pool was good - service slow and food bland, but the drinks were strong :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Usually I'm not one to complain about hotels and am happy to sleep anywhere but as far as value for money goes, the Sheraton Waikiki is definitely overpriced for what you get, and outdated. What you are paying for is purely location and the resort facilities - the rooms are in desperate need of renovating. Our room was $420 + $25 room charge per night for an ocean front room. For what you pay, you expect a larger or luxurious room. The room was very limited in size, with paint peeling off the walls and stains on the carpet. It was only sparsely furnished to the point that it couldn't fit a desk in the corner - the bedside table has to double as a desk and a night table, with a chair infront of it. The other bedside table has a fridge under it, as there is no other room for a mini bar. The beds were hard and fairly uncomfortable but the pillows were comfy. On top of that, we were staying in a non-smoking room, but our room reeked of smoke, which took a few days to get used to - we had to constantly have the door open to air it out. After staying in the renovated rooms of the Hilton Hawaiian Village Rainbow Tower and then experiencing such daggy rooms at the Sheraton Waikiki, it was a big shock. The breakfast was fairly average, nothing exciting. The pool was nice but we didn't spend much time there. The best thing about the resort was the location since it was right near the shops and on the oceanfront. The staff were also fairly good, when they remembered to clean our rooms (which was usually only every second day). The breakfast staff and reception staff were the highlight to our stay. Overall I would avoid the Sheraton Waikiki if I was to return to Waikiki and try the Royal Hawaiian or Halekulani, or the Rainbow Tower (which I loved!) despite it being a bit further out of the way.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms had amazing views but weren't any nicer or bigger than any of the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.