We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints Whatsoever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Princess Kaiulani to your Saves list
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #63 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durham City, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“No Complaints Whatsoever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for seven nights from 11th-18th June 2009 and overall we have no complaints whatsoever about it.
Our stay was the third and final leg of a three centre holiday ( following San Francisco and Las Vegas) and we actually are not aware of what we exactly paid as the cost would be included within the full holiday package price.
Therefore I cannot speak with regards to value for money but only as to how we found this hotel.
Having read and contributed to Tripadviser for some years now, I am now convinced that the UK traveller and the US traveller apply a different set of standards to their hotel.
The Sheraton PK is in line with British standards a very good 3 star hotel if not a 4 star hotel.
Our room was very good. It was light; adequately furnished and had a huge bed that was so so comfortable. An absolute delight to sleep in!
The flat screen TV ( hardly used as no BBC world news channel); the tea/coffee making facilitieds and the bathroom provison were all aceptable.
Our balcony had a partial ocean view and looked down onto the International market. It was good to watch the sunset from the balcony; with a view of the ocean and listening to the sounds of the entertainers below whilst enjoying a cold beer or glass of wine that you have kept chilled in the room fridge.
We did not hear our neighbours at all during the stay and simply cannot underatand the other reports of this being a problem.
The location of the hotel is excellent. The beach is a short stroll away- only a few minutesk; acess to all the shops and resturants all within easy reach; and the ABC store on the doorstep for the aforementioned beer & wine.
The hotel lobby is comfortable with a number of activities taking place each day which contributed to the Hawaiin feel of the hotel. The availabliity of hotel towels was very good as these could also be taken to the beach with no limit on the number.The pool area was fine although I did not swim in the pool during our stay.
We also did not eat in the hotel at any time as we felt the cost was over priced and we found nearby places to eat offered far better value for money.
There may be better hotels - such as those on the ocean beach front - but I am certain that you will pay a far higher price for your stay.
I would have no problems recommending the Sharaton PK.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    924
    588
    239
    133
See reviews for
619
798
152
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NORTHLAKE
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

I am a member of SPG reward club. I had a choice between the Sheraton Waikiki or the Princess Kaiulani for our Hawaii vacation. I had stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki back in the early 70's with my girlfriends so I knew what a large, contemporary very busy hotel it was back then. After reading the Sheraton Waikiki postings on travel advisor with construction noise complaints, etc., my husband and I selected the Princess Kaiulani. We made an excellent choice! Our room was on the 5th floor facing the pool. It was very clean, comfortable and relaxing. Our pillow-top bed was great! We were also able to enjoy our balcony in the evenings and listen to the free evening entertainment. The Princess has a great location - close to the beach, center of Waikiki, numerous restaurants and convenient access to public transportation. The concierge, front desk, housekeeping and other Staff were always helpful with our questions/concerns. They even had onsite activities and I made a beautiful orchid lei. Also, we were quite impressed with the history of Princess Kaiulani and all the photos, historical info, etc., that the Sheraton displayed. I definitely would recommend this hotel and would return for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We have been dreaming of going to Hawaii for a long time however, the high cost has always been an issue. After finding a great deal on airfare, I searched for countless hours on the internet for just the right hotel. We are part of the Starwood Program & decided on The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani. This hotel is located "In The Heart of It All!" It is across the street from the beach, within walking distance to endless places to eat, has great evening entertainment & food, and was very clean. This hotel was very clean and had all the basics that you would need for your vacation. We really didn't spend that much time in the hotel because, its Hawaii! (Who stays in the hotel all day?) The staff was very accomodating & nice and when we go back, we will surely go to this hotel again.

Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani from June 1st to 7th. After 5 nights a group of partiers moved in next door to our room. We were on a non smoking floor. The balconies are very close and the guys having a party next door were out smoking on the balcony despite it was not allowed even on balconies.

It was early Saturday evening and the smoke just flowed in into our room. Normally we would sit on the balcony and enjoy a drink before going out to dinner but we couldn't stand the smoke and had to leave a couple hours earlier than we would have liked. My wife couldn't even dry her hair after the shower. It was our last night in the hotel before leaving the next evening. We went to the front desk to let them know we were disrupted by the smoking and had to leave the room. The Manager on duty Ben really couldn't have cared less. He told us "the hotel is not liable for it's other guests." I told him we really were not happy and maybe since we were inconvenienced he could allow us a 2 hour late check out the next morning which is only 1 pm anyway. He said sure but he would charge us for it. I never met such an arrogant and rude manager in any hotel I have stayed. This Ben manager guy was so rude he actually ruined our evening more than the smokers. He simply didn't care. Just the worst customer service I have ever seen. How this guy becomes a manager at a Sheraton I don't know. It is too bad because we really enjoyed Waikiki so much and the Sheraton Princess was such a negative.

The hotel is actually in a good location. The rooms are very dated and worn. The facilities are poor and the pool is disgusting to swim in. We didn't eat at the restaurants but they didn't look too appealing and heard from other guest the food was the worst they had in a long time and some of the most expensive in Waikiki.

We will be going back to Waikiki every year but will avoid the Sheraton Princess for sure. it just is not up to the standards of other hotels we have stayed at and there are too many good ones in Waikiki to waste time with here no matter what price you pay. There is a reason it appears cheap.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

I went here for a Christmas vacation with my extended family... This hotel was so nice! The rooms were standard. The staff was nice and so were the shuttles to and from the airport. The coolest thing about this hotel (apart from the short walk to the beach and shopping) was the Koi fish ponds downstairs. lol.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed at the PK on two occasions recently as pit stops to the US and back home to Australia. We chose it because of the location and rate compared to others in the area.

Here are the positives we experienced:

Great location in downtown Waikiki if you want to stay where the action is
We had a fantastic ocean view from room 1960 and from 2060 on our return trip.
Really comfy king bed
Friendly enough and efficient staff
There were a couple of free computers to surf the net and check emails in the foyer area available for guests for 15 minutes a pop. Always a queue of course but better than nothing.

And the negatives:

Walls must be made of cardboard. We could easily hear our neighbours next door on both our stays. The first time we put down to bad luck. The second time we had booked for 5 nights but moved to another hotel after the first night. It wasn’t just bad luck. Management did not penalize us for departing early and the receptionist mentioned the connecting doors might be a factor in the noise. We could still hear the people next door talking until 1.30am.

Our toilet blocked and overflowed. It was fixed very promptly though.

This hotel seems to have more plumbing noises than the average hotel. Night time is when they are more obvious of course when we are wanting to sleep.

When we were having breakfast pigeons were trying gallantly to land anywhere they could get a free meal. Staff were trying to guard peoples tables if they left their seats for a few minutes. I really didn’t feel like breakfast after that.

Outdated tired looking rooms and bathrooms.

$20 per night parking. Though this seems to be the norm in Hawaii.

$10 per 24 hours for internet in your room if you have your own laptop. Though again this seems to be the norm at least in Hawaii.

If it wasn't for the noise factor we would probably stay there again because of the rate (I would just avoid breakfast with the pigeons) I haven't noticed other reviewers complaining about the thin walls so maybe we had unusually bad luck. The receptionist did concede that people staying in the old tower do complain but people in the new tower (us) didn't usually.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Typical Sheraton. Great location, nice, friendly people. Lobby full of activity everyday. Rooms were decent size, king bed, sofa bed pull out, coffee table, desk, etc. nice lanai overlooking pool with live entertainment every night! Ask for a room over the pool! Rooms were a little dated but still nice. The only draw back was the service by the pool was slow at best. Other than that, we would recommend definitely for the money. Not on the beach, but a great location across from the Moana Surfrider.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is near Waikiki Beach and downtown Honolulu. Our hotel has Creation, a dinner show; cultural activities; and 11,500 sq ft of event space for weddings or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.