We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Princess Kaiulani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #63 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have just arrived home from Hawaii and I stayed at the princess kaulani hotel
Firstly as a Starwood member and booking thru Skoosh I got the most fantastic room overlooking diamond head and the beach for a great price considering it was peak period although some of the reviews thru Skoosh were average
Overlook them as they and the hotel looked after me with professionalism and treated me like a human!
Thanks guys all went well and I will be using you again for all my hotel bookings keep up the good work
Paul Sydney Australia

Room Tip: Always leave a few dollars under your pillow each day for room service and they will really look aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Aloha Paul D and thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We're very happy to learn that you enjoyed your time here with us and we appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly associates. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    866
    546
    230
    122
See reviews for
565
749
140
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Hotels are expensive in Honolulu. Not less so the 40 years old Sheraton Princess Ka’iulano Hotel. We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks , with a 2 day break in Kauai in between.
Furnishing: The wash room is still the original equipment. Though this is still functioning good old American plumbing, is this what we should expect for a 5 star service? The same goes for the furniture in the room as a whole.
Service: The maid has been knocking on the door at 7:15 AM every morning and woke us up to see whether she could clean the room. We are on vacation, for heaven’s sake, and would not wish to get up so early! When complain about it, the customer service manager just tell us to use the “do not disturb” sign next time. Well, will there be the next time? How arrogant!
Safety: The electronic safe is not functioning in this room when we arrived. They promised to have it fixed within an hour. The Security person came and went and promised an engineer. This is the 3rd day and no sign of service yet.
The Wifi was good in the first room we stayed at. This time it has been intermittent. The technical support person Alvin from Telcel was very helpful and patient and the problem was finally resolved.
During our break in Kauai, we stayed at the brand new Marriott Courtyard resort hotel. That was a modern hotel that has met all the expectations of frequent flyers like us. What a contrast!

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter. The music from the pool could be noisy until 8:00 Pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Aloha BPfromTO and thank you for taking the time to share your thorough review of our hotel. We regret to learn that your vacation with us did not meet your expectations and we apologize for the issues you experienced with our housekeeping and maintenance teams. We completely understand your concerns and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience. Thank you again for your time. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 3-island trip to Hawaii. We primarily wanted to see Pearl Harbor.

LOCATION: The location was great for everything we wanted to do, and very convenient - we had a partial ocean view of Waikiki (blocked by the hotel in front of it by a block that is actually oceanfront - the Outrigger), and could easily walk to the beach and to all of the local/nearby restaurants and stores in Waikiki tourist area. It was great, especially for a brief stay and for not having rented a car for this stint. (We signed up for a Pearl Harbor tour that picked us up at another nearby hotel that we were able to walk to easily.) Note that it is not on the beach and does not have direct beach access. It is only about a block away though if you want to walk.

ROOM/HOTEL: The room was neat and servicable but very average, not high-end at all. The furniture was relatively bare-boned and the bathroom was not one I'd want in my own home, however, for our brief trip, the location mattered more, so it was fine. I would say the same about the pool - perfectly fine, but nothing luxurious.

Service was responsive and they sent us a free bottle of champagne to our room because it was our honeymoon. I did not rate value because we booked it as part of a package.

I would say that if you are used to a more average hotel and not a luxury one, you would be pleased with this hotel. If you are used to more luxurious accommodations, updated bathrooms, etc., then you may be disappointed. There was nothing actually wrong with the room, and the service was fine. I would recommend staying here if you care more about getting out and about than if you want to spend a lot of time at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days recently and had a good time. The property was clean, the staff very helpful and pleasant. It's not the newest hotel on the block but well kept.
Our room was clean and tidy although rather noisy at times but that was not a major issue for us.
It is a very busy hotel with lots of tour groups staying and it felt a bit crowded.
Breakfast was to expensive in my opinion. We did not eat in the restaurant so we can't comment on that.
Location is handy, right across the street and you are on the bach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is an older hotel that can use some sprucing up, but overall, we had a great stay and there are many aspects that make this hotel an excellent choice for travelers to Waikiki. It is located across the road to the beach and close to restaurants and shopping. Our room was large and bright and although somewhat dated, everything was spotlessly clean and in good working order.
We ate at the breakfast buffet daily and it was excellent. Great selection, everything fresh and delicious. But what made our stay truly enjoyable was the hotel's wonderful employees. They are very attentive, helpful, polite and hard working. They all seem like they love to make guests happy, and this applies to everybody - doorman, concierge, front desk clerks, maids, waitresses. We hope to come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter (Waikiki never sleeps) and some have a partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Aloha MJZ154984 and thank you for sharing your review about our hotel. We truly appreciate your honest and kind comments regarding the hotel, and we especially thank you for your overwhelming sense of aloha for our associates. We're truly among the luckiest hotels in the world to have such terrific employees and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to acknowledge their warmth and aloha with you. Mahalo and a hui hou (thank; until we meet again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festus, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Loved everything about the Princess, The room was a King bed with a beautiful city view and a peek-a-boo of the ocean. Bed was very comfortable and room was net and clean. Water pressure was good and never ran out of hot water, that was nice. Service and staff very nice and friendly, helped in every way needed. pool area was great and got water and fruit service over at Waikiki beach for the hotel staff. Curb appeal was very nice with a beautiful pond with fish and flowers.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Aloha ramjet12 and thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're so happy to learn that you loved everything about our hotel, particularly our helpful and friendly associates. Mahalo and a hui hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwell, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

While it is true the Princess Kaiulani is aging, we were completely satisfied with our room. Sometimes older is better. There was nothing lacking in the room. Loved the balcony. Most places nowadays only have windows which will not even open. The street noise is there but it
adds to the experience. Give this place a try before they renovate!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Aloha Karen B and thank you for sharing your review with us. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel and we appreciate your honest and kind comments. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is near Waikiki Beach and downtown Honolulu. Our hotel has Creation, a dinner show; cultural activities; and 11,500 sq ft of event space for weddings or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.