We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Princess Kaiulani to your Saves list
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at the PK in the last week of November. It was our honeymoon and the hotel upgraded our Pool View Room to an Ocean View.

We loved our room and the view it had over the pool and the beach.

The staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1062 - a great corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Aloha Bree B and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful honeymoon vacation with us. Congratulations to you and your new husband. Wishing you a Happy Holiday season. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    991
    621
    259
    145
See reviews for
671
854
160
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times now, and on each occasion have stayed in a different room category. On this occasion we took our children for their first trip to Hawaii. We received a room overlooking the pool and partial ocean with 2 double beds. There were 4 of us in the room, and we also had a rollaway as our children do not like to share a double bed, sorry I have no room photos to add, as the children are in them all.. The room was very small by the time the rollaway was added, but we made the best of it and actually had a fun time. (Why can't hotels have a king and 2 singles as a Family room or as a standard room???? ) Anyway, YES this hotel is showing its age, YES it needs updating, but if you are looking for a central location and wonderful service, this hotel is a good choice. The parking is included in the resort fee, so that also makes it a convenient choice. We hired a car from across the road in the foyer of the Hyatt Regency, and we did our grocery shopping at the Food Pantry on Kuhio, 1 street behind the hotel. The beach is just a short stroll across the road. The pool is nice and deep and offers plenty of beach chairs around it. The laundry is in the basement and it was handy to do a load of washing, they have change machines located in the laundry room. We had no complaints about any of the services (housekeeping, front desk, room service). On this visit we stayed 4 nights at this Sheraton and then checked into the Sheraton Waikiki for the next week. See my other review for the Sheraton Waikiki. We wanted our children (aged 10 & 14) to enjoy both Sheraton properties.
I did visit the hotel next door to do a comparison (Holiday Inn Beachcomber) and did note the rooms are a bit larger and more renovated. The pool at the Beachcomber however is smaller and not as nice as the Sheraton. If it came down to price, these two hotels would be on my list.
We look forward to returning to The Princess Kaiulani in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha LoveTravelAnytime6 and thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We're happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your very thorough review and honest feedback regarding your experience. Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel, as we know you have many choices in Waikiki. We also look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple of times but my last stay was just horrible. The rooms, restaurant, pool etc is all just getting old and not well maintained. I cannot see any changes to this hotel for the last 5 years I been staying there. During this last stay the service was slow and frankly just unfriendly. The wifi in rooms didn't work and it took days for the hotel to do something about it. The bathroom in the room is literally falling apart and the furniture is so scuffed and dated it feel like a 1 star hotel.

After 3days I couldn't take it anymore and checked out yo stay at the sheraton waikiki - wow what a difference. I will not stay at princess anymore

Room Tip: Stay in the tower the main building is worst rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha Cactusjack73 and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We regret to learn that you stay with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the challenges you experienced with our wifi service and have shared your concerns with our Director of Technology to ensure the connectivity is operating properly. We regret to learn that the service you experienced from our associates was unpleasant; our team is trained to deliver excellent service with aloha to all of our guests and we apologize that you had unpleasant encounters with our associates. Thank you again for your time and honesty. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The best description of this hotel would be something like grandma's house. Grandma's house is definitely not a trendy place, and could use a serious remodel. We actually were upgraded to a room with a great view since I am a Starwood Gold member. The bed was nice, and this was up to typical Sheraton standards. The hotel room itself was definitely dated, and there were some stains on the carpet and overall it was Well worn. It was clean. Despite some of the negatives, much like grandma's house is a place that I felt very comfortable and it was fairly welcoming. I appreciated things like the delicious pineapple samples provided 3 days a week. Some of the bell staff were quite good and helpful, too. Location is fantastic, really can't complaint at all there. Overall, we all love grandmom so we can't really hate her house.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha Youngbear L and thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We appreciate your honest comments and we're happy to learn that you enjoyed our lovely lobby activities such as the pineapple carving demonstration and tasting. We'd also like to thank you for your loyalty to Starwood as an SPG Gold. Wishing you and your family a happy holiday season. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the princess two nights. Old and in need of upgrade. Location is perfect. There was a strange smell in the bathroom sink. View is to die for. Central to everything. Breakfast was good as was the pool bar.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Aloha Phil A and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We appreciate your honest feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I always like the PK because of its location to everything. Across the street from the Moana Hotel where we always have drinks in the evening under the Banyon Tree on the Beach. Great place for 'people-watching'.

Room Tip: Best locaton is 'aft' on a floor above the 14th in the Tower because the street noise can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha billanddoyle and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel as well as Starwood Hotels and Resorts. We're always happy to welcome you to the PK and we appreciate the time you've taken to share your many reviews of our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have no idea where all these " moaning minnies" have stayed , but it wasn't at the fabulous SPK Hotel we have been to FOUR times now. Never any problem at check in or check out, too busy having a shower ( to be nice and clean for the fabulous bar & wait people ) to worry about a bit of mould or a cracked tile in the bathroom. We have spent many happy hours at the pool & bar with all the staff making us feel welcome and at home. Hope we can save to come back before it gets pulled apart.

Room Tip: room 562 , corner room , great views of Waikiki nite life and the daily wedding across the street !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha OPO13OPO and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in February. We're very happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacation here at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani and we appreciate your kind comments about your experience with our friendly associates. We know you have many choices when choosing a hotel in Waikiki and we thank you for selecting the PK. We also hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is near Waikiki Beach and downtown Honolulu. Our hotel has Creation, a dinner show; cultural activities; and 11,500 sq ft of event space for weddings or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.