We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - but not 'on' the beach - but across the street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Princess Kaiulani to your Saves list
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great location - but not 'on' the beach - but across the street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I always like the PK because of its location to everything. Across the street from the Moana Hotel where we always have drinks in the evening under the Banyon Tree on the Beach. Great place for 'people-watching'.

Room Tip: Best locaton is 'aft' on a floor above the 14th in the Tower because the street noise can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha billanddoyle and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel as well as Starwood Hotels and Resorts. We're always happy to welcome you to the PK and we appreciate the time you've taken to share your many reviews of our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    991
    621
    259
    145
See reviews for
671
854
160
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have no idea where all these " moaning minnies" have stayed , but it wasn't at the fabulous SPK Hotel we have been to FOUR times now. Never any problem at check in or check out, too busy having a shower ( to be nice and clean for the fabulous bar & wait people ) to worry about a bit of mould or a cracked tile in the bathroom. We have spent many happy hours at the pool & bar with all the staff making us feel welcome and at home. Hope we can save to come back before it gets pulled apart.

Room Tip: room 562 , corner room , great views of Waikiki nite life and the daily wedding across the street !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha OPO13OPO and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in February. We're very happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacation here at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani and we appreciate your kind comments about your experience with our friendly associates. We know you have many choices when choosing a hotel in Waikiki and we thank you for selecting the PK. We also hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights and enjoyed it! Was recommended to stay in this hotel by a friend as the location was great! We booked 3 months in advance and stayed over the valentines and Presidents' Day week.
We arrived early and we were told that we had been upgraded to a room which a ocean view, because we arrived early we were allowed to leave our bags at the luggage hold facility.
The room was pretty good and the view from the room was amazing!! (So glad we got upgraded).
We got complimentary bottles of water everyday and a gift basket on arrival which was really great as we went on day tours and didn't have to worry about buying water to take with us.
The bed was really comfy and we were able to sleep really well in it each night. The bathroom looked a bit out dated but it was clean.
The hotel does look a bit out dated and it was a bit pricey for a three star hotel but for the location we didn't mind it. It was close to the beach, buses to Ala Monana shopping centre and Honolulu, the markets and lots of eateries.
The staff were professional and always greeted you when you entered and left the premises.
Most tour buses leave from the hotel opposite (Hyatt) so it was confusing sometimes as to where we were suppose to meet but other than that it was a very enjoyable stay.
Would recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Aloha 184Emma and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that your vacation with us was enjoyable and that you would recommend our hotel to others. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our professional and friendly associates. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel was part of a package. The location is great because you in the middle of Waikiki Beach area. There is plenty to do outsideof hotel. Most of the common areas are open and no A/C. The restaurant on the first floor is good for breakfast but expensive. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Consearge has great suggestion for eating places outside of the hotel. Room wasclean and comfortable. The entire place was not as nice as othe Sheraton facilities that I have stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Aloha Bidman1944 and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that our hotel met your expectations and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience. Mahalo for chosing the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I have written only one other review and that was to praise a great hotel in Seattle. This hotel on the other hand is well deserving of a poor review. This hotel is tired and beat up and needs a makeover. This alone is bad enough but to add insult to injury I found several of the staff to be down right rude. The only positive thing about this place is the location but there are plenty of hotels in the area and you I would advise anyone to look elsewhere. If it weren't for the fact that we spent only two nights there before heading to kona, I would have changed hotels to avoid a totally disappointing vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Aloha Maggiemay0407, we regret to learn about your less than satisfying experience with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We are disappointed to learn about your unpleasant experience with our associates, as our team is trained to deliver excellent service to all of our guests. Please know that we take these reviews very seriously and utilize the feedback when coaching our associates. We've sent you a private message requesting for further information regarding the unpleasant encounters. We apologize for the less than satisfying experience and we appreciate your honest feedback. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Booked 2 rooms for my family at this property and it did not live up to SPG standards. It is an older hotel in need of upgrades. The location itself is great as it is in the heart of Waikiki just across from the Westin Moana Surfrider so everything is within walking distance.

When we arrived at the hotel the reception had a hard time finding my reservation and insisted that it might be another hotel with a similar name. Thank goodness I had the reservation number in my phone. Well he found it due to the fact he did not spell my name correctly ( even though I spelled it out and is only 3 letters long ). He then had difficulties getting my rooms arranged and the CC reader wasn't working well.

We finally made it to our room and the rooms were OK. There is no thermostat to control the room temperature. It was AC on high, low or off. The satellite TV had poor reception due to the winds I guess (not that you are going to watch a lot of television when in Hawaii). The balcony is tiny with a small table and 2 chairs squeezed in. There is a small fridge in the closet and that was nice to keep some drinks cold. The rooms have no sound insulation at ALL!! Our neighbours were loud and you can hear all their conversations. They stayed up late and got up early so basically we did not get much sleep. Received a note under the door the next day saying they need a credit card to secure the second room. I went down and the front person was quite rude saying it is necessary. I don't doubt that by why was it not taken care of when I registered in the first place. Both rooms were in my name and registered as such. She could have been nicer saying they dropped the ball and could have been more apologetic. Instead she made it feel like it was my fault that I was trying to scam them.

The hotel is very busy with big tours and there is a lot of traffic. Not much to do within the hotel itself. The pool is OK but my friends have nicer ones in their backyards.

Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: There is none
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Aloha wooski, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We regret to learn that our hotel did not meet your expectations and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, particularly the challenges with check-in. Thank you, however for your honest feedback, as this allows our managers to work with our associates to ensure such circumstances do not reoccur. Mahalo again for your time. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel Oct-Nov 2013.

The main floor lobby and pool of the hotel are attractive, the price to stay here is excessive.

Forget about eating in their restaurant, it is not worth it at $39.95 for a dinner buffet with few items other than crab legs. Their other menu for daytime dining was excessively priced as well. Drinks at the bar by the pool were also expensive, without the expected quality of liquor at these prices.

There is a mandatory daily resort fee of $23.95 which gives you "Complimentary" -ha ha!! Wi-Fi internet access that is extremely limited in bandwidth. I was unable to send even a text email with their "Complimentary" internet access.

On the bright side, your resort fee does include attached parkade parking so, if you rent a vehicle, that is very good value.

The rooms are 'okay' but a little dated. The bathroom and shower have the black mold beginning to appear in the silicone sealant. -This is a normal, frequent occurance that can be managed with more attention to detailed cleaning.

This is a non-smoking hotel but some people still 'sneak' smoke within their rooms. I am an 'outdoors only' smoker and still found the smoke that drifted into my suite intolerable, to the extent that it would wake me up in the night. -I can't imagine the revulsion a non-smoker would experience.

There was a very nice view from my room, pool plus partial ocean view and Diamond head.

The rooms are not sound proof and you hear the constant automatic slamming of doors from other hotel rooms. Even conversations from the next room!!! The patio doors are also not particularly sound proof so you do hear any excessive noise that is occurring on street level, even from 9 floors up!!

I found the bed quite comfortable but the pillows were way too soft, even with 4 stacked!!

I did submit feedback to the hotel regarding my disappointments but received no reply. To me, this says they don't particularly care. Rumor has it that the hotel is scheduled for demolition in the very near future, like December or early 2014.

Location is very convenient but, if you are out after 10:00 pm, expect to see several prostitutes in the area. It didn't feel unsafe but some people are just uncomfortable with the mere presence of prostitutes in the near vicinity.

I would recommend staying somewhere else, maybe even with a kitchenette, where you can spend a little less money once in a while by making your own breakfast or whatever.

Hope this helps. I am giving a little information back, for all of the valuable info I have benefitted from on Tripadvisor in the past

Room Tip: Pool or partial ocean view, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Aloha HandyHairy and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn about your less than satisfying experience, however we appreciate your honest feedback. We apologize that you did not receive feedback from our hotel last year during / after your stay, as this is uncharacteristic of our team. We know that some of the pedestrians in the surrounding area can be unpleasant at night, and although our resort and our neighboring resorts do not have jurisdiction over the public sidewalks, our security teams do work very hard to prevent non-guests from loitering on our property and bothering our guests. In regards to a scheduled redevelopment, our hotel is currently scheduled for a redevelopment project to begin in late 2014 and not in early 2014 as is noted in your review. Thank you again for your time. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is near Waikiki Beach and downtown Honolulu. Our hotel has Creation, a dinner show; cultural activities; and 11,500 sq ft of event space for weddings or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.