We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th birthday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Princess Kaiulani to your Saves list
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #63 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“60th birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just arrived back after 6nights at the Sheraton princess.after reading all the negative reviews for months,was in too minds whether to change hotel!But we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.staff were very friendly couldn,t do enough for you.we did change rooms,and got a high floor city part ocean view.room. pool and bar area was clean.food at the hotel was pricey,but there are plenty of resturants near by.Enjoyed having the chairs for the beach and the water and fruit that they brought to you twice a day.would stay at this hotel again,don,t know what people want,.think they just go away to moanl!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aloha Kitykat556 and thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we are honored to have been part of your 60th birthday celebration. Thank you for your kind words regarding our friendly staff - we always enjoy sharing this with our associates. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel in the near future. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    924
    588
    238
    133
See reviews for
618
798
152
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just came back from vacation - stayed here for 3 nights - for a Sheraton Brand Hotel, very disappointing. Air conditioner cannot be controlled, situated also on top of bed - could not wait to leave. Also, very noisy from the street level activity. Although very close to beach and shopping, not a great experience.

Room Tip: Would look into booking another hotel if you have a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aloha prooferCanada and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We regret to learn that your visit to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel did not meet your expectations, but we do appreciate your honest feedback and have shared it with our management team. Mahalo again for your time. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Enjoyed a second visit to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani while celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary. Every moment was wonderful from the young man checking us in (I think his name was John) to Bobby Kubota the restaurant manager who provided complimentary champagne to Lenora S. who kept our room clean and comfortable. The Celebration Luau show and dinner gave us lots of priceless memories. I love the location and atmosphere this hotel offers with the nightly native music and the wonderful tropical smell in the lobby and pool area. At check-in we received a free upgrade and enjoyed a very nice room with a pool view and partial ocean view. Sitting on the lanai while enjoying the cool breeze was the perfect way to end each day. The music ended at 9 pm so we were not disturbed while sleeping. Each day we walked one block to see the Duke statue and wave to the camera and to the folks back home. Altogether, the Sheraton Princess gave us a dream vacation.

Room Tip: Fifth floor with pool view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha Honeymoon0429 and thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We are honored to have been part of such a momentous celebration and we are very happy to have helped provide you and your husband with a wonderful experience here at the hotel. Thank you for your kind words regarding our associates - we most certainly have shared these praises with them and truly appreciate your recognition. We couldn't be happier to learn that we were able to provide you with your dream vacation! We look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was so incredibly disappointed by my experience at this hotel. I am a Starwood member and expected this hotel to meet up with all of the other hotels. It doesn't. Think Howard Johnson's. I decided that most of the good reviews must have thought they were reviewing the good Sheraton down the street. The rooms are old, the pool is small and dated and it is across the street from the Beach. When I realized I had checked into this hotel I tried to switch. It would cost 400.00 more to switch to the Moana surf rider across the street. ( the package was listed as 150.00 more when I booked) I will take that but because of the extra expense I will book one night there -not stay here at all and stay with friends the other night. Apparently that wasn't good enough for them. I could only switch if I booked two nights. Really??? I stay at the st Regis all the time and have never been treated as rudely as this hotel. They would have got my room fee for two nights. I would have paid 200.00 extra for one night at their other hotel. No deal. DON'T STAY HERE. NOT REALLY A SHERATON.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha Susan H and thank you for taking the time to review the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We truly regret to learn that your recent experience with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the challenges experienced when you requested to stay with our sister property the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Rate differences are due to the beach front versus non-beach front as well as occupancy levels at the time of request. We apologize if this wasn't accurately described to you upon check-in and we truly regret not having been able to satisfy your desired needs and expectations. We are also very disappointed to learn that you felt you were treated rudely by our associates; our team is trained to treat each guest with the utmost aloha and we apologize that you did not experience this. Again, we apologize that we could not meet your expectations, but we thank you for your honest feedback. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel rooms are older, need updating, lack electrical outlets, furniture is stained, bathrooms are small - very little to recommend here. Stayed at the Maririott Wakkiki last month - far superior experience and room.

Room Tip: Hard to tell - made a reservation fro tow beds and they did not want to accomodate the reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha mike b and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations, but we do appreciate your honest feedback and have shared it with our management team. Mahalo again for your time. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of a rail & coach tour of Canada and had no input to the choice of hotel. However, the location is great - a stone's throw from the beach and surrounded by shops, restaurants and take-aways. Our room was immaculately clean with fresh linen and towels every day. The complimentary toiletries were a generous size and also refreshed daily. We had a room on the 19th floor which was located on the corner of the building and gave us views over the ocean and Waikiki beach from our balcony. We chose not to eat here so I'm unable to comment on the food although it did seem to be a bit pricey i.e. $39 to $42 for buffet evening dinner. The staff were friendly and helpful and there is free Wifi. There is also free use of computers and printer in the lobby area, which was great for us to print off our boarding passes for the flight home. They supply towels for the pool or beach and also have chairs that can be taken to the beach. The decor, which has had some negative comments, was generally fine and I, personally, did not have a problem with it. Would happily stay here again,

Room Tip: go for a high room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha Beedubya and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us as well as our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We appreciate your time and your honest review. We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

For the price, this hotel is a great deal. Though not on the beach, the beach is a very short stroll away. If you like Waikiki, all the major attractions are within walking distance. The hotel is a little aged and is slated for major renovations next Summer. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Caution, this hotel is not for the culturally or ethnic insensitive. The hotel has arrangements with several travel agencies in Asia so, while I was there, I would estimate that 60% of the guests were from Asia. For me, this was fantastic since I find Asian travelers more hospital that those of the 48 contiguous States. For those who have health issues, Straub Medical Clinic is located on premises which should relieve you of any medical concerns you may have while visiting Waikiki. The food and entertainment in the hotel is top notch. Live Hawaiian music permeates throughout the lobby and restaurant during dinner hours. Later, I would recommend the hotel's Splash Bar. On two consecutive nights, while a guitarist was playing tunes, hotel guests and vendors did impromptu hulas. It was fantastic! Bet you didn't know that there are more Hula Halaus (Hawaiian dance groups) in Japan that all of Hawaii and the other 49 States combined.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha damookie and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location, ideal pricing and friendly associates. We are also thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our live Hawaiian music - thank you for sharing this! We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is near Waikiki Beach and downtown Honolulu. Our hotel has Creation, a dinner show; cultural activities; and 11,500 sq ft of event space for weddings or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.