We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Hawaii” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Princess Kaiulani to your Saves list
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First time to Hawaii”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

First time to Hawaii and we stayed at this hotel from feb 27th 2013 to March 3rd. Was not really impressed with the overall condition of the Hotel but the location was really good. One half block off main street in Honolulu and one block from the beach.The rooms could use some renovations as the one we were in was quite run down. Really close to all the shopping in downtown and lots of different places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha MartensvilleBob and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand your concern regarding the hotel condition and apologize that this may not have met your expectations. We're pleased, however, that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We thank you very much for your honest comments. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    991
    621
    258
    145
See reviews for
671
853
160
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here while in Oahu for two nights. We had booked city view since we were getting in late, but when checking in without asking we were upgraded to pool view and also had view of ocean from our lani. Rooms and hotel was clean and is in a great location without paying extra. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely recommend to anyone that wants to stay on tighter budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha Dakota75_13 and thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We especially appreciat your kind words regarding our friendly staff. Mahalo and we hope to have you visit again in the near future. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Sheraton should be ashamed having their name on this hotel. From the outside it is beautiful. But it does lack in shops-compared to the other hotels in the area. When we got off the elevators and again when we stepped into our room---we could have been in any Motel 6. The carpeting was old. Their was nothing special to make it a Sheraton. It did not even feel like a 4 or 5 star hotel. There was a sliding door on the bathroom, which was very hard to close. The toilet seat broke on us-they did replace it quickly. We had to call for our room to be cleaned-after we had given them about 8 hours to clean it. I have been in Sheraton's in other cities and was amazed by the luxury of those hotels. This hotel-no way Sheraton quality. We got a free breakfast. Unfortunately someone had to stay at the table and make sure the birds did not take your food off your plate.Only one time were we given covers for our plates. The pool closed very early-6pm. There was still 2 more hours of daylight! The water was cold-not heated at all. The patio chairs were so close together that you couldn't walk between them. The employees didn't know their own hotel or area-we asked where the gift shop was-they didn't know. We asked whre we could get something to eat-fast food---well there was a burger king, KFC and subway about a block away. The staff told us about a bar about 3 blocks away. The towels in the room were very stiff and scratchy. You could hear everything in the next room. Fortunatly this hotel is located in the center of town and everything you need is in walking distance. The ice machine was located in a room with the service elevators and old newspapers. There is not any spa/jacuzzi.

Room Tip: If you get a high room then you at least can get a view of the beach--also make sure you ask for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Aloha kathy c and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the bathroom sliding door and toilet seat, and we thank you for sharing that your toilet was repaired quickly. We also apologize for the challenges you faced with birds due to the outdoor dining; we know this is very unpleasant and our food and beverage team is constantly looking for new solutions to this challenge. Thank you for your feedback regarding the pool chairs. We'll certainly share this recommendation and the others with our team. We regret to learn that our associates did not inform you of the various dining options near us including at our sister properties. You're correct - we don't have a spa on our property, but we do encourage our guests to visit the Moana Lani Spa at our sister property, Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We thank you again for you honest comments. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here to be near the International Market where my wife wanted to shop. It met her needs. From our lanai we had a good views of harbor ship and boat traffic and watched the evening entertainment near the pool. It was a good experience and worth the price we paid. Parking was available with no shortage of open spots. However, beware. The four story parking garage lacks an elevator.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 8th floor of higher have best ocean views. 12th floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Aloha Rudybaga and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you and your wife enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki, near the International Marketplace. We apologize for the difficulty with finding the elevator in our parking garage. The garage has two sections and just one of them is equipped with an elevator; this is the section connected to our Ainahau Tower (tallest tower). Thank you again for your comments. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel we had a few problems with our room. When we talked to the reception staff they immediately transferred us on to the manager who was fabulous, and incredibly helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to everything we needed and transportation. All staff were friendly and courteous. The rooms weren't huge, but were clean and functional. We liked that there were always pool chairs available and the pool wasn't overly crowded. We feel the hotel was definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha Liddy_12 and mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that you experienced problems with your initial room and are happy to hear that you were immediately moved to a new room. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki as well as our pool. Mahalo again for your comments. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice location, right in the middle of Waikiki. The pool is lovely and inviting and the nightly live music is entertaining. Bar serves pretty average drinks poolside. The rooms themselves need a little updating, but the ambiance in the lobby, public washrooms and buffet restaurant is beautiful.The Koi pond by the front entrance makes a good photo opp.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha coffeelady20936 and mahalo for taking a moment to reivew our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed the poolside, lobby and restaurant ambiance as well as the nightly entertainment. We also appreciate your honest feedback regarding the pool bar drinks as well as the room decor. Mahalo again for your time and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

As a resident of Hawaii, I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. Recently, I spent two back-to-back weekends here with family visiting from the mainland. I think the best thing about the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, is its location relative to other things in Waikiki, without the much higher price point of hotels right around it. Granted, you are not directly on the beach, so if that is what you are looking for, pay the extra $100+ per night to stay at the Moana Surfrider across the street. The PK is perfectly comfortable for a stay in Waikiki, short or a week, and you will undoubtedly save money from other properties. The hotel is in desperate need of a style renovation and upgrade. I was always waiting for Rose, Dorothy, Blance and Sophia to be waiting on the lanai for drinks. If you can overlook the sad carpet, and awful 70s color scheme, you will enjoy yourself. We had a deluxe oceanview room, which provides great views of the city and the Pacific. Bathrooms are SMALL, which is the case with most older city hotels. NEWSFLASH: Sheraton...it would cost you very little to install curved shower rods in the bathrooms, to give the illusion of more space in the shower, without any major construction.

A big mahalo to Gregg and Ping at the front desk. Both were very firendly, and accomodating when we needed to be moved to alternate rooms because the room we were in, though the hotel advertises wi-fi, and charges you in their resort fee, didn't have wi-fi. Overall, perfectly acceptable, and I will always stay here when price is a consideration in Waikiki.

Room Tip: The shorter Princess Wing has great ocean views, and you won't fight with 5000 other tourists to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha Adam H and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the wired only connection in our Ainahau Tower. Please know that we'll be updating the wifi throughout our hotel in the coming weeks and appreciate your feedback regarding this. We also appreciate your comment regarding the showers and have shared this with our management team. Thank you for your kind words about Greg and Ping. We truly appreciate your patronage as well as your honest feedback. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is near Waikiki Beach and downtown Honolulu. Our hotel has Creation, a dinner show; cultural activities; and 11,500 sq ft of event space for weddings or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.