We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, cheesy with great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Princess Kaiulani to your Saves list
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #63 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very average, cheesy with great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

My boyfriend had never been to Hawaii and I have. I wanted to be right in the center of Waikiki so that we had a plenty of entertainment and didn't have to travel far. i thought it would be a good introduction for him. The hotel is SO CLOSE to the beach. Only a block away. The mall was a short walk and the Intl Market is right next to the hotel. Here was what was disappointing: the hotel and rooms are terribly outdated. There were stains in our carpet, the lights in the bathroom were florescent as well as outdated and small. I felt that it was was very cheap, if not cheap looking. Our room faced the garage but if we wanted a view, we'd have to pay an extra $50.00 per night. We were there for 7 nights. Not interested in that. We were hearing a swoosh sound at night and morning and would wake us up at night and finally concluded it was the elevators. This surprised us as we didn't feel like we were THAT close to them. The pool closed at 7:00pm which was a downer and there is no hot tub. The "nightlife entertainment" was silly at best. The hotel hired ukelele players singing Niel Diamond and John Denver songs in the lobby at night. The crowd was over 60 or full of families. What interest is this for young couples? The hotel had closed the pool at 5:00pm one evening, much to our disappointment, and hired elderly ladies dressed in neon colored bodysuits to do a small performance in the pool. It was very silly as it seems they were imitating dying swans dancing to instrumental music!!!! We'd rather have the pool to ourselves. The good things: they provide a service that allows you to take towels from the pool area to the beach and they come twice in the day to find you on the beach and give you fresh fruit and water. The buffet breakfast was fresh and plentiful. You can get a box and pay only $10.00 for takeaway. There were daily activities in the lobby like pineapple carving, making your own lais, jewelry and photography sellers and so on. This would be a great hotel for families and older folks who are interested in a place to sleep with attractions nearby not for a one of a kind experience, and definitely not for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you seekerofnewplaces for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed our centralized location, Big Kahuna Beach Service, and our $10 take away breakfast. Our daily cultural activities in our lobby are very popular with our guests and we are glad that you got to enjoy them as well. We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you have faced. Our housekeeping and engineering teams work on a diligent maintenance schedule to ensure all our guestrooms and public areas are clean and well maintained. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. Regarding the night we closed our pool early, we apologize for the inconvenience; however we had a special water show performance by a local community group on this day. We allow them to use our pool facilities a few times a year and have gotten many positive responses from this. Again, we do apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    924
    588
    239
    134
See reviews for
620
798
152
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Me and my Husband stayed at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani for 6 days. We were here celebrating our 5 yr anniversary and his birthday. Had a wonderful experience at this hotel! It was in a perfect location right next to the international market and right in the heart of waikiki. We were on the 9th floor in the main wing. Our room was a little small and the bathroom was a little out dated. Our room view was out looking the parking lot. Wasnt a very pleasant view. We called down to the front desk to see if we could have a room with a balcony. When we book our flight and hotel through expedia it showed that the standard room came with a balcony. Since it was both our first time in hawaii we didnt know what to expect. Having a balcony would have been nice but it wasnt that big of a deal. Kim at the front desk said it would cost us $40 a night just to upgrade so we didnt bother. We came to hawaii to go out and not stay in our hotel room. My husband and I would go down to the splash bar to get a few drinks during happy hour. It was really nice and relaxing. All the staff were friendly! We are already planning another trip to hawaii in dec for my birthday and will def consider staying at this hotel again.!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Happy Anniversary jordynn0115 and we are very happy to hear that you also celebrated your husband’s birthday with us. We feel very privileged to have been able to celebrate these special occasions with you. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed our location. We do apologize for the miscommunication with your accommodations and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will have this addressed immediately. We are glad that you had a nice and relaxing time at our happy hour at Splash Bar & Bento. We can’t wait to see you and your husband again! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel and really enjoyed it. It is such good value for money, its in an excellent location and the staff were very friendly and willing to help with anything. I had a pool view room which was great, I loved sitting on the lanai at night listening to the music and I also had a pretty good view of the ocean which I didn't expect! I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Mahalo nui loa jennie_2 for your amazing feedback! We are pleased to hear that our value and location, along with our friendly staff and services made your stay with us enjoyable. Majority of our guests love to lounge on their lanais and listen to our nightly poolside Hawaiian entertainment, so we are glad that you got to do the same. We look forward to welcoming you back here and appreciate your recommendation. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I stayed at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani for seven nights. After reading all the reviews of this hotel I wasn't expecting much. I couldn't of been happier with hotel and their staff. Everyone was very nice and helpful with anything I asked. The room was nice and clean, it had a refrigerator, iron, balcony and the maid came everyday. The location can't be beat, you are right in the middle of everything, the beach, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. I went on several excursions and they picked me up at the hotel or across the street. The shuttle to the airport was only $9.00 and left every half hour. Parking was included in the resort fee as was Internet access in my room. I never ate at the hotel because it is way to expensive, but Dukes is practically right across the street. I plan to go back with my wife and another couple, I am going to stay at this hotel again without a doubt..

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you Waldo406 for your wonderful comments! We are so thrilled to hear that you couldn’t have been happier with our hotel and staff. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and glad that you enjoyed our location. We can’t wait to welcome you, your wife, and your friends back here to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I will never stay at this hotel again. I've been staying here since I was a little kid, but haven't been for the past 4 years. Wow, how it has changed in 4 years. Besides the 144 sq ft of a box they put us in, the service is horrible. The people at this hotel treated us like [...] the whole time we stayed here. We had a waitress who was extremely rude who told us they have a 1 drink minimum to sit in the bar area. 1 drink minimum?!?! Maybe it was the way we looked? This is a 2 star hotel at best, who charges a minimum drink order just to sit in the bar/lounge area. Ridiculous! Then, on our last night here, we woke up several times to the drunk guy in the next room pounding and kicking the walls and door. Security was called a couple times and they did come up, but it didn't really help. Then when we tried to get a late checkout because drunko next door kept us up all night, they have no record of it and are only willing to extend it 1 hour. I am very upset with the service we've received here and how this place has gone downhill. It needs a major upgrade and renovation, which probably hasn't been done since the Reagan administration. The only thing it really has going is the central location. Overall? If you like second class treatment, the late 80's non intentional nostalgic look of a hotel, a cheap hotel with a good location across from the beach then this is it. Just don't eat at the restaurant or get anything but a beer from the bar. Of the over 20 restaurants we ate at in Waikiki on our trip, this was the only one that had bland food and watered down drinks. Take my advice, check out the other hotels in the area with similar pricing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Mahalo EastBayBallaz for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We regret to learn that you were not pleased with the service you received nor your accommodations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced. Please allow us to address the concerns that you have shared. We do have a one drink minimum at our Splash Bar & Bento outlet; however this is only during our nightly entertainment hours which start at 6pm. We apologize if there was any miscommunication on our part. Regarding your late checkout request, we were experiencing very high occupancy during your visit, therefore unable to extend it further. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us as this will help to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Well the final leg of the trip and in Honolulu for 6 nights. Mid morning flight from Maui to Oahu & wow shock horror - allowed to check in at 12.20 p.m. - top marks Sheraton !!! - It is a big hotel so I guess there is always rooms available.

Allocated room on the 7th floor in the main building, (not the newer tower) with pool view & partial ocean view, not bad really for $125 a night in Waikiki beach. Okay sized room, a tad dated & worm but well looked after & very clean. Bed was very comfortable as Sheraton beds normally are. Blackout blinds so no light at 6 a.m. - good marks

Bathroom was a bit old but very clean & useable. Plenty of towels & soaps. Fridge in room & coffee makers with 2 lots of coffee which was replaced every day. Resort fee was a steal at $12, which included free parking for the duration in the multistorey car park next to the hotel ( a relief really not to be driving around hunting for a space) 2 x 500 ml bottles of water, replaced every day without fail & 20 minutes of internet time on the computers in the lobby. Overall very good value. There was also a fitness room if you wanted to use it, it seemed ok. Maid service in the morning tended to start at 9 so Do not disturb Sign night before if you are a slow riser.

Did not have breakfast at the hotel as it was not included in rate but there are lots of ABC stores & coffee shops nearby. The location of the hotel is fab, opposite The White Lady Sheraton & very near to all the shops & restaurants. Ideal. Pool area was fine, a little busy sometimes & it is very near the street but acceptable. Pool towels were large & great for the beach.

Would recommend to stay again. Beware at night of the parallel street - Kuhio Avenue, it is a bit colorful, lots of ladies of the night wandering around, a bit imitidiating.

Ate at CheeseCake Factory & California Pizza Kitchen twice - (please come to the UK) and also at Room Without a Key - okay if you like Asian style also ate at Lulus - good bar area in open are surroundings !!! Loved Teddies Bigger Burgers too..........

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Aloha UncleDom and thank you for your wonderful comments on your recent visit with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and also our amenities that are included in our resort charge. Thank you very much for your recommendation of our hotel and we are so glad that you enjoyed our centralized location as well as our pool facilities. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel soon. Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our 2 week Hawaii vacation. To start things seemed to go well, porters and desk staff were friendly and the room was pretty reasonable. Sadly from there on in the service slipped, staff service was mixed, nothing major but a number of the staff didn't seem bothered and therefore failed to provide a friendly, helpful service. We also found that the free wifi service didn't seem to make up to the 3rd floor.. we also stood for 5 minutes waiting to see if we could get served at the bar before giving up. At the time there were 3 people at the bar.. with us and 1 other person waiting to get served. The nail in the coffin was the price paid for the breakfast and the quality of the food. It was frankly pretty shabby and to put in context we paid less for 2 main meals, 2 drinks and a desert at the Cheesecake factory over the road than for the breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Mahalo Gabs_Monkey for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to provide great customer service to all guests and to provide a warm and welcoming experience. We regret to hear that we fell short of that with you and offer our sincere apologies. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as this will help us to improve our services. We are very sorry for the challenges that you faced with our Wi-Fi and want to let you know that we recently upgraded our high speed internet access. All guest rooms in our Princess and Kaiulani Wings now have 100 percent wireless coverage of fast high speed internet access. We also wanted to let you know that we offer our guests a $10 Breakfast to Go option for our buffet at Pikake Terrace, and hope that next time you can take advantage of this. Thank you again and we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is near Waikiki Beach and downtown Honolulu. Our hotel has Creation, a dinner show; cultural activities; and 11,500 sq ft of event space for weddings or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.